Department of Psychology

Our Department

/al/psychology/

Contact Us

Main Campus

Mail Stop #948 
2801 West Bancroft Street
University of Toledo
Toledo, Ohio 43606-3390
Phone: 419.530.2717
Fax: 419.530.8479

Meet Our Graduate Students

Graduate Student

Research/Training Interests

Clayton Allred
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1880D
Clayton.Allred@rockets.utoledo.edu

Child anxiety; Metacognitive beliefs; Perceived control of anxiety

Olivia Aspiras
Area: Experimental - Social
Office: UH 1900H
Phone: 419-530-8441
Olivia.Aspiras@rockets.utoledo.edu

Message framing and promoting health behaviors; Personality traits and message framing; BIA/BAS

Pallu Babu
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5070C
Phone: 419-530-2577
Pallavi.Babu@rockets.utoledo.edu

Positive psychology interventions/treatments and their clinical applications; Risk and protective factors in relation to resilience; Development and evaluation of accessible mental health and wellness-focused interventions for underserved communities

Michelle Beddow
Area: Experimental - Social
Office: UH 5010B
Phone: 419-530-2528
Michelle.Beddow@rockets.utoledo.edu

 

Intergroup relations; Stereotyping & prejudice; Health

Benjamin Berry
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1068
Phone: 419-530-2724
Benjamin.Berry@rockets.utoledo.edu

Psychological assessment; Cognitive factors related to psychopathology; Social cognition

Alex Buhk
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1380
Phone: 419-530-2351
Alex.Buhk@rockets.utoledo.edu

Generalized anxiety disorder; Emotion regulation; Cardiovascular psychophysiology; Stress and coping

Brianna Byllesby
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5070G
Phone: 419-530-2312
Brianna.Byllesby@rockets.utoledo.edu

Posttraumatic stress disorder factor structure; Emotion regulation

Samantha Cain
Area: Clinical
Phone: 419-530-2721
Samantha.Cain@rockets.utoledo.edu

Role of exercise in the treatment and prevention of disorders such as anxiety and depression

Alissa Call
Area: Experimental - Developmental
Office: UH 1900H
Phone: 419-530-2338
Alissa.Anderson@rockets.utoledo.ed

Jury/Juror decision making; Children in the legal system; Eyewitness testimony

Fawn Caplandies
Area: Experimental - Social
Office: UH 6505
Phone: 419-530-8441
Fawn.Caplandies@rockets.utoledo.edu

Psychophysiology of stress and coping; Expectations; Goal pursuit

Amy Capparelli
Area: Experimental - Developmental
Office: UH 1900F
Phone: 419-530-2338
Amy.Capparelli@rockets.utoledo.edu

 

Animal assisted interviews; Children in the legal system; Rapport building & interviewing children; False memories

Alyssa Chapman
Area: Experimental - Cognitive
Office: UH 5011
Alyssa.Chapman@rockets.utoledo.edu

 

False memory; Psycholinguistics; Dyslexia and visual memory

Nikki Christ
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5150J
Nicole.Christ@rockets.utoledo.edu

Symptoms of trauma exposure and PTSD; Cardiovascular psychophysiology

Evan Clarkson
Area: Experimental - Cognitive
Office: UH 5015
Evan.Clarkson@rockets.utoledo.edu

Decision-making

Meredith Claycomb
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5070G
Phone: 419-530-2721
Meredith.Claycomb@rockets.utoledo.edu

 

Posttraumatic stress disorder

Shane Close
Area: Experimental - Social
Office: UH 6508
Phone: 419-530-8441
Shane.Close@rockets.utoledo.edu

Placebo effects; Goals; Expectations

 

Freeman Cumming
Area: Experimental - Psychobiology
Office: UH 5006
John.Cumming@rockets.utoledo.edu

Comparative mammalian hearing; Behavior analysis; Acoustics

 

Abigail Dempsey
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5150J
Abigail.Dempsey@rockets.utoledo.edu

Cyberpsychology

Susan Doyle
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1540
Susan.Doyle@rockets.utoledo.edu

 

Child anxiety; Parental influence on child anxiety; Prevention programming for child anxiety

Keith Edmonds
Area: Experimental - Social
Office: UH 6510
Keith.Edmonds@rockets.utoledo.edu

Future directing thinking; Disparities in health behaviors; Social comparison; Social cognition; Substance abuse

Courtney Forbes
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 6220
Courtney.Forbes@rockets.utoledo.edu

Posttraumatic stress disorder; Transdiagnostic mechanisms in mood and anxiety disorders; Emotion regulation and health risk behaviors

Heidi Haenisch
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1490
Phone: 419-530-2727
Heidi.Haenisch@rockets.utoledo.edu

 

Severe mental illness, particularly in forensic settings; Sustaining long-term mental health treatment outcomes; Personality disorders; Psychological assessment

Hannah Herc
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1930
Phone: 419-530-2351
Hannah.Herc@rockets.utoledo.edu

Emotion regulation; Coping skills; Mindfulness; Self-regulation

Andrea Kiss
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1061
Phone: 419-530-2411
Andrea.Kiss@rockets.utoledo.edu

Rorschach Performance Assessment System

Xin Lv
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5070A
Phone: 419-530-2574
Xin.Lv@rockets.utoledo.edu

Posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD); Prevention and initial identification of PTSD

Shannon Manley
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1540
Phone: 419-530-2727
Shannon.Manley@utoledo.edu

Child anxiety; Social influences on child anxiety

Emily Meadows
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1880D
Emily.Meadows@rockets.utoledo.edu

Internalizing and externalizing behavior problems among children and adolescents; Development and implementation of school-based interventions; Violence risk assessment for youth in schools and communities

Quincy Miller
Area: Experimental - Developmental
Office: UH 1900D
Phone: 419-530-2388
Quincy.Miller@rockets.utoledo.edu

Forensic interviewing with children; Child abuse disclosure

Ashley Murray
Area: Experimental - Social
Office: UH 6507
Phone: 419-530-8441
Ashley.Murray3@rockets.utoledo.edu

Health decision making process; Social and media influence on health decisions

Emily O'Gorman
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1069
Emily.Ogorman@rockets.utoledo.edu

Psychological assessment; Applications of assessment, such as therapeutic assessment, treatment planning, and predicting treatment outcomes; Psychometrics, test construction, and test validation

Christina Perez
Area: Experimental - Developmental
Office: UH 1900B
Phone: 419-530-2338
Christina.Perez@rockets.utoledo.edu

Forensic developmental psychology; Eyewitness testimony; Children's memory and suggestibility

Yopina Pertiwi
Area: Experimental - Social/Cross Cultural
Office: UH 5004
Phone: 419-530-2528
Yopina.Pertiwi@rockets.utoledo.edu

Ethnic identity; Stereotype, prejudice, discrimination; Intergroup relations

Joanna Piedmont
Area: Clinical
Phone: 419-530-2721
Joanna.Piedmont@rockets.utoledo.edu

 

Posttraumatic stress disorder; Generalized anxiety disorder

Kelsey Pritchard
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1930
Phone: 419-530-2351
Kelsey.Pritchard@rockets.utoledo.edu

Emotion regulation; Interpersonal processes; Autonomic nervous system activity; Depression and anxiety risk

Joseph Reed
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5070B
Phone: 419-530-2270
Joseph.Reed2@rockets.utoledo.edu

Severe mental illness; Recovery; Psychodynamic therapy

Julia Richmond
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5040A
Julia.Richmond@rockets.utoledo.edu

Transgenerational transmission of borderline personality disorder; Emotion regulation; Parasympathetic nervous system activity; Adolescent risk for developing borderline personality disorder

Lindsay Roberts
Area: Experimental - Social
Office: UH 6511
Phone: 419-530-8441
Lindsay.Roberts3@rockets.utoledo.edu

Social influence; Person perception; Personality and motivation

Manali Roy
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1062
Phone: 419-530-2411
Manali.Roy@rockets.utoledo.edu

Personality assessments, specifically, Rorschach Performance Assessment System; Personality disorders with a focus on obsessive compulsive personality disorder

Heather Schultz
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1490
Phone: 419-530-2727
Heather.Schultz3@rockets.utoledo.edu

Severe and persistent mental illness; Mental health community integration and rehabilitation programs; What consumers of mental health services find most beneficial to their recovery

Larson Sholander
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1068
Phone: 419-530-2724
Larson.Sholander@rockets.utoledo.edu

Efficacy and limitations of personality assessments, particularly projective instruments such as the Rorschach; The ways in which personality traits and personality disorders are revealed or manifested through social media

Jaclynn Sullivan
Area: Experimental - Cognitive
Office: UH 5010C
Phone: 419-530-5963
Jaclynn.Sullivan@rockets.utoledo.edu

Memory & selective attention; Learning; Decision making

Jamie Yingst
Area: Experimental - Social
Phone: 419-530-2528
James.Yingst@rockets.utoledo.edu

Implicit social-cognition: biases, decision-making, solidarity, and belief formation; Effects of the aforementioned within law enforcement and judicial system; Cognitive Neuroscience; Online friendship

Last Updated: 11/16/17