School of Visual and Performing Arts

Faculty and Staff

DEPARTMENT CHAIR
art department chair, Barbara Miner

 

Barbara Miner, MFA (bio)
B.F.A., State University of New York-New Paltz; M.F.A., Eastern Michigan University.
Chair, Professor of Art, 2D/3D Studies, Interdisciplinary Art
Ph: 419.530.8315 | Office: VA 2110 
Email: Barbara.Miner@utoledo.edu
Office hours: call for availability

 
SECRETARY
art department secretary, Lisa Kroupa

 

Lisa Kroupa 
Ph: 419.530.8300 | Office: VA 1070 
Email: Lisa.Kroupa@utoledo.edu

 

 
ART EDUCATION

professor of art education, david guip

 

David Guip, ED.D(bio)
B.S., B.F.A., M.Ed., Wayne State University; Ed.D., Ball State University.
Head, Art Education, Professor, Art Education. Undergraduate and Graduate Advisor.
Ph: 419.530.8306 | Office: VA 1070C 
Email: David.Guip@utoledo.edu
Office hours: See appointment book in main office for availability

 
 
 
assistant professor, Jason Cox, Art Education

Jason Cox, PH.D (bio)
B.F.A., M.A.T., The Maryland Institute College of Art; Ph.D., The Ohio State University.
Assistant Professor, Art Education
Ph: 419.530.8310 | Office: VA 2030

Email: Jason.Cox2@utoledo.edu
Office hours: Tuesday 9-12 and Wednesday 10-12.

 
ART HISTORY
Thor Mednick, Assistant Professor of Art History, The University of Toledo

 

Thor Mednick, PHD (bio)
B.F.A., M.A., University of Southern California; Ph.D., Indiana University.
Assistant Professor, Art History
Ph: 419.530.8325 | Office: VA 3120 
Email:Thor.Mednick@utoledo.edu
Office hours: Tues. & Thurs. 2-4 p.m. Wed. 4:30-5:30 p.m.

 
 
associate professor of art history, Mysoon Rizk

 

Mysoon Rizk, PH.D (bio)
B.A., Oberlin College; B. S., A.M., Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
Associate Professor, Art History, Modern & Contemporary Art
Ph: 419.530.8301 | Office: VA 1070A
Email: Mysoon.Rizk@utoledo.edu

 
STUDIO ART FACULTY
professor of art, chris burnett

 

Chris Burnett, MFA (bio)
B.F.A., Rhode Island School of Design; M.A., M.F.A., University of New Mexico.
Associate Professor, New Media Studies, Digital Art

Ph: 419.530.8301 | Office: VA 1070A 

Email: Chris.Burnett@utoledo.edu
Office hours: Tues. and Thurs. 11:30 a.m. - 2 p.m. 

 
 
professor of art and dean of CoCa, Debra Davis

 

Debra Davis, MFA (bio)
B.A., M.S. Ed., Northern Illinois University; M.F.A., University of Colorado.
Dean, College of Communication and the Arts, Professor of New Media 
Ph: 419.530.8355 | Office: SU 1080
Email: Debra.Davis@utoledo.edu

 
 
assistant professor, dan hernandez

 

Daniel Hernandez, MFA (bio)
B.F.A, Northwest Missouri State University; M. F. A., American University.
Co-chair of the BFA Program
Assistant Professor, Interdisciplinary Art and Foundations
Ph: 419.530.8322 | Office: VA  
Email: Daniel.Hernandez@utoledo.edu
Office hours: Tue. 11:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

 
 
professor of art, Tom Lingeman

 

Tom Lingeman, MFA  (bio)
B.S., Ball State University; M.F.A., Southern Illinois University of Art.
Professor of Art, 3D Studies, Sculpture
Ph: 419.530.8343 | Office: Center for Sculptural Studies 
Email: Thomas.Lingeman@utoledo.edu
Office hours: Tues. and Thurs. 1:30-4 p.m. 

 
 
professor of art, deborah orloff

 

Deborah Orloff, MFA (bio)
B.F.A., Clark University; M.F.A., Syracuse University.
Associate Chair, Photography Coordinator, Professor of Art, New Media Studies - Photography
Ph: 419.530.8314 | Office: VA 2100
Email: Deborah.Orloff@utoledo.edu
Office hours: Mon. and Wed. 1:30-4 p.m.

 
 
associate professor, arturo rodriguez

 

Arturo Rodriguez, MFA (bio)
B.F.A., Kansas City Art Institute; M.F.A., Indiana University- Bloomington.
Head of Studio Art, Co-chair of the BFA Program
Associate Professor of Art, 2D Studies - Printmaking
Ph: 419.530.8318 | Office: VA 2170 
Email: Arturo.Rodriguez@utoledo.edu
Office hours: Tue. 11:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

 
 
assistant professor of art, barry whittaker

 

Barry Whittaker, MFA (bio)
B.F.A., University of Texas; M.F.A., University of Colorado.
Assistant Professor of Art, New Media Design Practices
Ph: 419.530.8320 | Office: VA 3040 
Email: William.Whittaker@utoledo.edu
Office hours: Mon. and Wed. 11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. and Tue. 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.

 
LECTURERS
gallery director and lecturer of art, brian carpenter

 

Brian Carpenter, MFA (bio)
A.A., B.A., University of Toledo, M.F.A., Cranbrook Academy of Art.
Gallery Director, Lecturer

Ph: 419.530.8318 or 419.280.8130 | Office: CVA
Email: Brian.Carpenter@utoledo.edu 
Office hours: Tue. and Thurs.  9 a.m. to 12 p.m.

 
 
senior lecturer of 2D Studies, Ceramics, & Art Education

 

Karen Roderick-Lingeman, MFA (bio)
B. Ed., The University of Toledo; M.F.A, University of North Dakota.
Senior Lecturer, 2D Studies - Ceramics, Art Education

Ph: 419.530.8311 | Office: VA 2040 or Glass Crafts Building (GCB)
Email: Karen.Roderick-Lingeman@utoledo.edu
Office hours: Mon. and Wed. 12:30-1:30 p.m. and 4-4:45 p.m. (GCB) 

Thurs. 11:30 a.m. to 12 p.m., 4-5 p.m. (VA0170)

 

 

 
lecturer of art, Eric Zeigler

 

Eric Zeigler MFA (bio)
B.F.A., Bowling Green State University; M. F. A., San Francisco Art Institute.
Lecturer
Ph: 419.530.8324 | Office: VA 3110 
Email: Eric.Zeigler@utoledo.edu 
Office hours: Mon. and Wed.  2-3:30 p.m.

 
Last Updated: 7/13/16