School of Visual and Performing Arts

Department of Music Faculty & Staff

The UT Department of Music faculty provide students a comprehensive, NASM accredited undergraduate curriculum leading to the Bachelor of Music, Bachelor of Music Education, and Bachelor of Arts Degrees; the Music Minor curriculum including concentrations in Instrumental Music, Vocal Music, Jazz, Keyboard, Music Theory, Music History and Literature, or Music Business and Recording Arts. They work diligently and collaboratively to create a variety of musical opportunities and experiences within the context of the University, the greater Toledo area, and the global community. We encourage the personal development and individual growth of the music faculty through continued professional study, research and scholarly activity, performance, and community and global outreach.

Our faculty and department offices are located in the Center for Performing Arts (PA1030) on the west side of campus. Our Recital Hall performance space and rehearsal facilities are also located in the Center for Performing Arts. Large ensemble performances are sometimes held in Doermann Theater, which is located in University Hall. Download a map of campus.

Music Faculty by Specialty

department chair
 

Stumbo, Jason (bio)
Department Chair
Director of Bands
   BS - Music Education, University of Tennessee
   MM - Conducting, University of Tennessee
   PhD - Music Education, University of Missouri
419.530.5062
CPA 1030B
Jason.Stumbo@utoledo.edu

Audio Recording
 

Mariasy, David
Senior Lecturer (music recording)
   BA - The University of Toledo
   MM - Bowling Green State University
419.530.2126 or 419.243.3000
CPA 2040
David.Mariasy@utoledo.edu

Brass/Winds Faculty
 

Archer, Thaddeus (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (trumpet)
Assoc. Principal, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   Indiana University
419.530.4325 
CPA 2003
Thaddeus.Archer@utoledo.edu

Ford, Shannon (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (saxophone)
Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   Bowling Green State University
   Indiana State University
419.530.2448
CPA 2009
Shannon.Ford3@utoledo.edu

Gsell, Casey
Adjunct Instructor (bassoon)
Principal Bassoon, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   Eastman School of Music
419.530.2448
CPA 2009
caseygsell@gmail.com

Harris, Daniel (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (trombone)
Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   Wesleyan University
   Yale University
   University of Michigan
419.530.4547
CPA 2003
Daniel.Harris@utoledo.edu

Loch, Kim
Adjunct Instructor (oboe)
Principal Oboe, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   Interlochen Arts Academy
   Cleveland Institute of Music
419.530.2129
CPA 2009
Kimberly.Bryden@utoledo.edu

McCage, Lesli
Adjunct Instructor (clarinet)
   University of Montevallo
419.530.2129
CPA 2009
Lesli.Mccage@utoledo.edu

Rhodes, Andrew (bio)
Assistant Band Director
Instructor (Tuba/Euphonium)
   BM - Music Education, Butler University
   MM - Music Education, Ohio University
  Candidate for the Ed.D. in Music Education, University of Illinois. 
419.530.2217
CPA 1020
Andrew.Rhodes@utoledo.edu

Stumbo, Jason (bio)
Department Chair
Director of Bands
   BS - Music Education, University of Tennessee
   MM - Conducting, University of Tennessee
   PhD - Music Education, University of Missouri 
419.530.5062
CPA 1030B
Jason.Stumbo@utoledo.edu

Taplin, Al (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (horn)
Principal, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   University of Michigan
419.530.4325
CPA 2003
Alan.Taplin@utoledo.edu

Tse, Joel (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (flute)
Principal Flute, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   Eastman School of Music
   Northwestern University
   Royal Academy of Music
419.530.2129
CPA 2009
Joel.Tse@utoledo.edu 

Choral/Voice
 

Graber, Micah
Adjunct Instructor (voice)
   Bowling Green State University
   Cincinnati Conservatory of Music
419.530.2448
CPA 2051
Micah.Graber@utoledo.edu

Johanson, Erik (bio)
Associate Professor (voice)
   BA - Augustana College
   MM - University of Cincinnati
419.530.4551
CPA 2014
Erik.Johanson@utoledo.edu

Pierson, Bradley (bio
Director of Choral Activities
Assistant Professor (voice)
   BM - University of Nevada-Las Vegas
   MM - California State University-Los Angeles
   DMA - University of Washington 
419.530.4558
CPA 2016
Bradley.Pierson2@utoledo.edu

Brewer, Franklin
Adjunct Instructor (voice)
419.530.2448
CPA 2051
Franklin.Brewer@utoledo.edu

Ritter-Bernardini, Denise (bio)
Associate Professor of Voice, Opera
Director of Janus Vocal Arts Festival
   BS - East Central University
   MM - Texas Christian University
   DMA - University of Oklahoma
419.530.4189 
CPA 2012
Denise.Bernardini@utoledo.edu

Composition, Theory, History & Musicology
 

Heritage, Lee (bio)
Associate Professor (theory, composition)
   BM - Shenandoah University
   MMM - University of Wisconsin
   DMA - University of Illinois
419.530.2448
Lee.Heritage@utoledo.edu

Jex, David (bio)
Professor (music theory, composition, graduate studies)
   BM - The University of Toledo
   MM - Bowling Green State University
   DMA - Cleveland Institute of Music/Case Western Reserve University
419.530.4560
CPA 1012
David.Jex@utoledo.edu

Jazz Studies
 

Damschroder, Norm (bio)
Senior Lecturer (double bass and jazz)
   BM - University of Toledo
   MM - Bowling Green State University
419.530.2966
CPA 2020
Norman.Damschroder@utoledo.edu

Ellie Martin
Adjunct Instructor (voice and jazz)
   McGill University
   University of Toledo
   University of Pittsburgh
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Lee.Martin@utoledo.edu 

Mossblad, Gunnar (bio)
Professor (saxophone and jazz)
   BM - University of North Texas
   MM - University of North Texas
419.530.4555
CPA 2022
Gunnar.Mossblad@utoledo.edu

Weed, Tad (bio)
Associate Professor (piano and jazz)
   The Grove School in Los Angeles
419.530.2725
CPA 1014
Tad.Weed@utoledo.edu

Weik, Jay (bio)
Associate Lecturer (guitar and jazz)
   BM - Berklee College of Music
   MM - New England Conservatory of Music.
419.530.4554
CPA 2018
Jay.Weik@utoledo.edu

Ben Wolkins
Adjunct Instructor (jazz trumpet)
   University of Toledo
   Queens College
CPA 1030
419.530.2448
Benjamin.Wolkins@utoledo.edu 

Piano/Keyboard
 

Ballinger, Robert (bio) 
Senior Lecturer (piano, accompanying, music history, music theory)
   BM - The University of Toledo
   MM - Northwestern University
419.530.2356
CPA 2008
Robert.Ballinger@utoledo.edu

Boyd, Michael (bio) 
Professor (piano)
   BM - Wisconsin Conservatory of Music
   MM - D.M.A.
   DMA - Eastman School of Music
419.530.2183
CPA 2002
Michael.Boyd@utoledo.edu

Heidi Clausius
Class Piano & Accompanying
   Bowling Green State University
   University of Toledo
419.530.2446
CPA 2005
Heidi.Clausius@utoledo.edu

Christina Montri
 
Staff Accompanist
   BM - The University of Toledo
   MM - The University of Toledo
419.530.2428
CPA 2010
Christina.Roque@utoledo.edu

Music Education
 

Brakel, Timothy (bio)
Professor (instrumental music education)
   BS - Jacksonville State University
   MS - Indiana State University
   DME - Indiana University
419.530.2640
CPA 1024
Timothy.Brakel@utoledo.edu

Rolsten, Kathy
Adjunct Instructor (graduate studies)
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Kathy.Rolsten@utoledo.edu

Stover, Pam (bio)
Associate Professor (vocal and general music education)
   BM - Iowa State University
   MA - University of Iowa
   PhD - Indiana University
419.530.2525
CPA 2004
Pamela.Stover@utoledo.edu

Percussion
 

Piedra, Olman (bio)
Associate Professor (percussion/jazz)
   BM - Baylor University
   MMP, MM - University of Michigan
   DMA - Bowling Green State University
419.530.2215
CPA 1016
Olman.Piedra@utoledo.edu

Strings/Orchestral
 

Chang, Amy (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (cello)
Associate Principal Cello, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
419.530.2448
CPA 1022
Amy.Chang@utoledo.edu

Damschroder, Norm (bio)
Senior Lecturer (double bass)
   BM - The University of Toledo
   MM - Bowling Green State University
419.530.2966
CPA 2020
Norman.Damschroder@utoledo.edu

Forte, Matthew (bio) (cv) 
Director of Orchestral Studies
Assistant Professor (Orchestra, Conducting, History)
   BM - The Harrt School, University of Hartford
   MM - Michigan State University
   DMA - Michigan State University
419.530.4362
CPA 2006
Matthew.Forte@utoledo.edu

Lendrim, Nancy (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (harp)
Principal Harp, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   Oberlin Conservatory
   Cleveland Institute of Music
419.530.4738
CPA 1005
Nancy.Lendrim@utoledo.edu

Ragusitu, Valentin
Adjunct Instructor (viola)
Principal Viola, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   Bucharest Academy of Music
   University of Wisconsin
   Northern Illinois University
419.530.2448
CPA 1022
Valentin.Ragusitu@utoledo.edu

Siu, Merwin (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (violin)
Principal Second Violin, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   Indiana University
   McGill University
419.530.2448
CPA 1022
Merwin.Siu@utoledo.edu

Weik, Jay (bio)
Associate Lecturer (guitar)
   BM - Berklee College of Music
   MM - New England Conservatory of Music
419.530.4554
CPA 2018
Jay.Weik@utoledo.edu

Music Teaching Assistants
 

 

 

Emeritus Music Faculty
 

Chambers, Virginia
   B.M., University of Louisville
   N.M., Eastman School of Music
   Ph.D., University of Michigan.
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

DeYarman, Robert
   B.A., M.A., Ph.D., State University of Iowa.
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

East, Thomas D. (1932-2013)

Kihslinger, Mary R.
   B.M.E., Alverno College
   M.M., University of Wisconsin.
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

Mason, James L.
   B.S., M.A., Wayne State University.
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

Renzi, Frances A.
   B.M., North Texas State University
   M.S., Juilliard School of Music.
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

Rondelli Perry, Barbara (bio)
   B.M., Kansas State College of Pittsburg
   M.M., Pittsburg State University
   L.R.A.M., Royal Academy of Music, London.
419.530.2448
Barbara.Rondelli-Perry@utoledo.edu

Sanchez, Bernard R. (1935-2013)



Last Updated: 9/18/17