School of Visual and Performing Arts

Department of Music Faculty & Staff

The UT Department of Music faculty provide students a comprehensive, NASM accredited undergraduate curriculum leading to the Bachelor of Music, Bachelor of Music Education, and Bachelor of Arts Degrees; the Music Minor curriculum including concentrations in Instrumental Music, Vocal Music, Jazz, Keyboard, Music Theory, Music History and Literature, or Music Business and Recording Arts. They work diligently and collaboratively to create a variety of musical opportunities and experiences within the context of the University, the greater Toledo area, and the global community. We encourage the personal development and individual growth of the music faculty through continued professional study, research and scholarly activity, performance, and community and global outreach.

Our faculty and department offices are located in the Center for Performing Arts (PA1030) on the west side of campus. Our Recital Hall performance space and rehearsal facilities are also located in the Center for Performing Arts. Large ensemble performances are sometimes held in Doermann Theater, which is located in University Hall. Download a map of campus.

Music Faculty by Specialty

interim department chair
 

Stumbo, Jason (bio) BS, Music Education, University of Tennessee at Knoxville, MM Conducting, University of Tennessee, PhD in Music Education, University of Missouri.
Interim Department Chair
Director of Bands
419.530.5062
CPA 1030B
Jason.Stumbo@utoledo.edu

Audio Recording
 

Mariasy, David B.A., The University of Toledo; M.M., Bowling Green State University.
Senior Lecturer (music recording)
419.530.2126 or 419.243.3000
CPA 2040
David.Mariasy@utoledo.edu

Brass/Winds Faculty
 

Archer, Thaddeus (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (trumpet)
Toledo Symphony Orchestra
419.530.4325 
CPA 2003
Thaddeus.Archer@utoledo.edu

Ford, Shannon (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (saxophone)
419.530.2448
CPA 2009
Shannon.Ford3@utoledo.edu

Gsell, Casey
Adjunct Instructor (bassoon)
Principal Bassoon, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
419.530.2448
CPA 2009
caseygsell@gmail.com

Harris, Daniel (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (trombone)
Toledo Symphony Orchestra
419.530.4547
CPA 2003
Daniel.Harris@utoledo.edu

Loch, Kim
Adjunct Instructor (oboe)
Principal Oboe, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
419.530.2129
CPA 2009
Kimberly.Bryden@utoledo.edu

McCage, Lesli
Adjunct Instructor (clarinet)
419.530.2129
CPA 2009
Lesli.Mccage@utoledo.edu

Rhodes, Andrew (bio) B.M., Music Education, Butler University, M.M., Music Education, Ohio University, candidate for the Ed.D. in Music Education, University of Illinois.
Assistant Band Director
Instructor (Tuba/Euphonium) 
419.530.2217
CPA 1020
Andrew.Rhodes@utoledo.edu

Stumbo, Jason (bio) BS, Music Education, University of Tennessee at Knoxville, MM Conducting, University of Tennessee, PhD in Music Education, University of Missouri.
Interim Department Chair
Director of Bands
419.530.5062
CPA 1030B
Jason.Stumbo@utoledo.edu

Taplin, Al (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (horn)
Toledo Symphony Orchestra
419.530.4325
CPA 2003
Alan.Taplin@utoledo.edu

Tse, Joel (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (flute)
Principal Flute, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
419.530.2129
CPA 2009
Joel.Tse@utoledo.edu 

Choral/Voice
 

Graber, Micah
Adjunct Instructor (voice)
419.530.2448
CPA 2051
Micah.Graber@utoledo.edu

Johanson, Erik (bio) B.A., Augustana College; M.M., University of Cincinnati.
Associate Professor (voice)
419.530.4551
CPA 2014
Erik.Johanson@utoledo.edu

Pierson, Bradley (bio) B.M., University of Nevada-Las Vegas, M.M., California State University-Los Angeles, D.M.A., University of Washington.
Assistant Professor (voice)
Director of Choral Activities
419.530.4558
CPA 2016
Bradley.Pierson2@utoledo.edu

Reaper, Laura
Adjunct Instructor (voice)
419.530.2448
CPA 2051
Laura.Reaper@utoledo.edu

Ritter-Bernardini, Denise (bio) B.S., East Central University; M.M., Texas Christian University; D.M.A., University of Oklahoma.
Assistant Professor of Voice, Director of Janus Vocal Arts Festival
419.530.4189 
CPA 2012
Denise.Bernardini@utoledo.edu

Composition, Theory, History & Musicology
 

Heritage, Lee (bio) B.M., Shenandoah University; M.M., University of Wisconsin; D.M. A., University of Illinois.
Associate Professor (theory, composition)
419.530.2428
CPA 2010
Lee.Heritage@utoledo.edu

Hill, Megan - B.M, Wartburg College, M.A. and Ph.D. University of Michigan
Adjunct Professor (Music History and Ethnomusicology)
419.530.4553
CPA 1002

Jex, David (bio) B.M., The University of Toledo; M.M., Bowling Green State University; D.M.A., Cleveland Institute of Music/Case Western Reserve University.
Professor (music theory, composition, graduate studies)
419.530.4560
CPA 1012
David.Jex@utoledo.edu

Marchionni, Ray (bio) B.M., M.M., University of Michigan; D.M.A., North Texas State University.
Professor (core music curriculum, Music Theory and History)
419.530.4362
CPA 2006
Raymond.Marchionni@utoledo.edu

Jazz Studies
 

Damschroder, Norm (bio) B.M., University of Toledo; M.M., Bowling Green State University.
Senior Lecturer (double bass and jazz history)
419.530.2966
CPA 2020
Norman.Damschroder@utoledo.edu

Ellie Martin
Adjunct Instructor (jazz voice)
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Lee.Martin@utoledo.edu 

Mossblad, Gunnar (bio) B.M., M.M., University of North Texas.
Professor of Jazz, Director of Jazz Studies (saxophone)
419.530.4555
CPA 2022
Gunnar.Mossblad@utoledo.edu

Weed, Tad (bio) B.M., Grove School of Music; M.M., Grove School of Music.
Assistant Professor (jazz piano)
419.530.2725
CPA 1014
Tad.Weed@utoledo.edu

Weik, Jay (bio) B.M., Berklee College of Music; M.M., New England Conservatory of Music.
Associate Lecturer (guitar)
419.530.4554
CPA 2018
Jay.Weik@utoledo.edu

Ben Wolkins
Adjunct Instructor (jazz trumpet)
CPA 1030
419.530.2448
Benjamin.Wolkins@utoledo.edu 

Piano/Keyboard
 

Ballinger, Robert (bio) B.M., University of Toledo; M.M., Northwestern University.
Senior Lecturer (piano, accompanying, music history, music theory)
419.530.2356
CPA 2008
Robert.Ballinger@utoledo.edu

Boyd, Michael (bio) B.M., Wisconsin Conservatory of Music; M.M., D.M.A., Eastman School of Music.
Professor of Piano
419.530.2183
CPA 2002
Michael.Boyd@utoledo.edu

Christina Montri B.M., M.M., The University of Toledo
Staff Accompanist
419.530.2428
CPA 2010
Christina.Roque@utoledo.edu

Music Education
 

Brakel, Timothy (bio) B.S., Jacksonville State University; M.S., Indiana State University; D.M.E., Indiana University.
Associate Professor (music education)
419.530.2640
CPA 1024
Timothy.Brakel@utoledo.edu

Rolsten, Kathy
Adjunct Instructor (graduate studies)
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Kathy.Rolsten@utoledo.edu

Stover, Pam (bio) B.M., Iowa State University; M.A., University of Iowa; Ph.D., Indiana University.
Assistant Professor (vocal and general music education)
419.530.2525
CPA 2004
Pamela.Stover@utoledo.edu

Percussion
 

Piedra, Olman (bio) B.M., Baylor University; M.M.P., M.M., University of Michigan, D.M.A., Bowling Green State University.
Assistant Professor (percussion/jazz)
419.530.2215
CPA 1016
Olman.Piedra@utoledo.edu

Strings/Orchestral
 

Chang, Amy (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (cello)
Associate Principal Cello, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
419.530.2448
CPA 1022
Amy.Simon@utoledo.edu

Damschroder, Norm (bio) B.M., University of Toledo; M.M., Bowling Green State University.
Senior Lecturer (double bass and jazz history)
419.530.2966
CPA 2020
Norman.Damschroder@utoledo.edu

Lendrim, Nancy (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (harp)
Principle Harp, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
419.530.4738
CPA 1005
Nancy.Lendrim@utoledo.edu

Ragusitu, Valentin
Adjunct Instructor (viola)
Principle Viola, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
419.530.2448
CPA 1022
Valentin.Ragusitu@utoledo.edu

Siu, Merwin (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (violin)
Principal Second Violin, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
419.530.2448
CPA 1022

Weik, Jay (bio) B.M., Berklee College of Music; M.M., New England Conservatory of Music.
Associate Lecturer (guitar)
419.530.4554
CPA 2018
Jay.Weik@utoledo.edu

Music Teaching Assistants
 

Chelsie Cree
Voice
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Chelsie.Cree@rockets.utoledo.edu 

Xinya (Daniel) Dai
Guitar
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Xinya.Dai@rockets.utoledo.edu 

Scott Hunt
Music Theory
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Scott.Hunt@rockets.utoledo.edu

Andreea Lee
Piano
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Andreea.Lee@rockets.utoledo.edu

Johannes (Jay) Ronquillo
Recording Studio
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Johannes.Ronquillo@rockets.utoledo.edu

Jonathon Ross
Guitar
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Jonathan.Ross3@rockets.utoledo.edu

Emeritus Music Faculty
 

Chambers, Virginia B.M., University of Louisville; N.M., Eastman School of Music; Ph.D., University of Michigan.
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

DeYarman, Robert B.A., M.A., Ph.D., State University of Iowa.
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

East, Thomas D.
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

Dr. Stephen Hodge B.M.E., M.M.E., Wichita State University; D.M.A., University of Colorado.
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

Kihslinger, Mary R. B.M.E., Alverno College; M.M., University of Wisconsin.
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

Mason, James L. B.S., M.A., Wayne State University.
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

Renzi, Frances A. B.M., North Texas State University; M.S., Juilliard School of Music.
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

Rondelli Perry, Barbara (bio) B.M., Kansas State College of Pittsburg; M.M., Pittsburg State University; L.R.A.M., Royal Academy of Music, London.
419.530.2448
Barbara.Rondelli-Perry@utoledo.edu

Sanchez, Bernard R. (1935-2013)

Last Updated: 11/15/16