College of Communication and the Arts

Department of Music Faculty & Staff

The UT Department of Music faculty provide students a comprehensive, NASM accredited undergraduate curriculum leading to the Bachelor of Music, Bachelor of Music Education, and Bachelor of Arts Degrees; the Music Minor curriculum including concentrations in Instrumental Music, Vocal Music, Jazz, Keyboard, Music Theory, Music History and Literature, or Music Business and Recording Arts. They work diligently and collaboratively to create a variety of musical opportunities and experiences within the context of the University, the greater Toledo area, and the global community. We encourage the personal development and individual growth of the music faculty through continued professional study, research and scholarly activity, performance, and community and global outreach.

Our faculty and department offices are located in the Center for Performing Arts (PA1030) on the west side of campus. Our Recital Hall performance space and rehearsal facilities are also located in the Center for Performing Arts. Large ensemble performances are sometimes held in Doermann Theater, which is located in University Hall. Download a map of campus.

Music Faculty by Specialty

interim department chair
 

Stumbo, Jason (bio)
Interim Department Chair, Band Director
419.530.5062
CPA 1030B
Jason.Stumbo@utoledo.edu

Audio Recording
 

Mariasy, David
Senior Lecturer (music recording)
419.530.2126 or 419.243.3000
CPA 2040
David.Mariasy@utoledo.edu

Brass/Winds Faculty
 

Archer, Thaddeus (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (trumpet)
419.530.4325 
CPA 2003
Thaddeus.Archer@utoledo.edu

Ford, Shannon (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (saxophone)
419.530.2448
CPA 2009
Shannon.Ford3@utoledo.edu

Harris, Daniel (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (trombone)
419.530.4547
CPA 2003
Daniel.Harris@utoledo.edu

Loch, Kim
Adjunct Instructor (oboe)
419.530.2129
CPA 2009
Kimberly.Bryden@utoledo.edu

McCage, Lesli
Adjunct Instructor (clarinet)
419.530.2129
CPA 2009
Lesli.Mccage@utoledo.edu

Rhodes, Andrew (bio)
Assistant Band Director, Lecturer 
419.530.2217
CPA 1020
Andrew.Rhodes@utoledo.edu

Stumbo, Jason (bio)
Interim Department Chair, Band Director
419.530.5062
CPA 1030B
Jason.Stumbo@utoledo.edu

Taplin, Al (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (horn)
419.530.4325
CPA 2003
Alan.Taplin@utoledo.edu

Tse, Joel (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (flute)
419.530.2129
CPA 2009
Joel.Tse@utoledo.edu 

Choral/Voice
 

Graber, Micah
Adjunct Instructor (voice)
419.530.2448
CPA 2051
Micah.Graber@utoledo.edu

Johanson, Erik (bio)
Associate Professor (voice)
419.530.4551
CPA 2014
Erik.Johanson@utoledo.edu

Pierson, Bradley (bio)
Assistant Professor (voice)
Director of Choral Activities
419.530.4558
CPA 2016
Bradley.Pierson2@utoledo.edu

Reaper, Laura
Adjunct Instructor (voice)
419.530.2448
CPA 2051
Laura.Reaper@utoledo.edu

Ritter-Bernardini, Denise (bio)
Assistant Professor of Voice, Director of Janus Vocal Arts Festival
419.530.4189 
CPA 2012
Denise.Bernardini@utoledo.edu

Composition, Theory & Musicology
 

Gettman, Jessica
Lecturer (world music)
419.530.4553
CPA 1002
Jessica.Getman@UToledo.edu

Heritage, Lee (bio) 
Associate Professor (theory, composition)
419.530.2428
CPA 2010
Lee.Heritage@utoledo.edu

Jex, David (bio)
Professor (music theory, composition, graduate studies)
419.530.4560
CPA 1012
David.Jex@utoledo.edu

Kohler, Andrew
Lecturer (music history)
419.530.4553
CPA 1002
Andrew.Kohler2@utoledo.edu

Marchionni, Ray (bio)
Professor (core music curriculum, music for the non-major)
419.530.4362
CPA 2006
Raymond.Marchionni@utoledo.edu

Jazz Studies
 

Damschroder, Norm (bio)
Senior Lecturer (double bass and jazz history)
419.530.2966
CPA 2020
Norman.Damschroder@utoledo.edu

Hendricks, Jon (bio)
Distinguished Professor of Jazz
419.530.2725
CPA 1014
Jon.Hendricks@utoledo.edu

Ellie Martin
Adjunct Instructor (jazz voice)
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Lee.Martin@utoledo.edu 

Mossblad, Gunnar (bio)
Professor of Jazz, Director of Jazz Studies (saxophone)
419.530.4555
CPA 2022
Gunnar.Mossblad@utoledo.edu

Weed, Tad
Assistant Professor (jazz piano)
419.530.2725
CPA 1014
Tad.Weed@utoledo.edu

Weik, Jay (bio)
Associate Lecturer (jazz guitar)
419.530.4554
CPA 2018
Jay.Weik@utoledo.edu

Ben Wolkins
Adjunct Instructor (jazz trumpet)
CPA 1030
419.530.2448
Benjamin.Wolkins@utoledo.edu 

Piano/Keyboard
 

Ballinger, Robert (bio)
Senior Lecturer (piano, accompanying, music history, music theory)
419.530.2356
CPA 2008
Robert.Ballinger@utoledo.edu

Boyd, Michael (bio)
Professor of Piano
419.530.2183
CPA 2002
Michael.Boyd@utoledo.edu

Christina Montri
Staff Accompanist
419.530.4552
CPA 2005
Christina.Roque@rockets.utoledo.edu

Music Education
 

Brakel, Timothy (bio)
Associate Professor (music education)
419.530.2640
CPA 1024
Timothy.Brakel@utoledo.edu

Petersen, Alice (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (music history)
Director of Collegium Musicum
419.530.2448
CPA 1002
Alice.Petersen@utoledo.edu

Rolsten, Kathy
Adjunct Instructor (graduate studies)
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Kathy.Rolsten@utoledo.edu

Stover, Pam (bio)
Assistant Professor (vocal and general music education)
419.530.2525
CPA 2004
Pamela.Stover@utoledo.edu

Percussion
 

Piedra, Olman (bio)
Assistant Professor (percussion/jazz)
419.530.2215
CPA 1016
Olman.Piedra@utoledo.edu

Strings/Orchestral
 

Chang, Amy (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (cello)
419.530.2448
CPA 1022
Amy.Simon@utoledo.edu

Johnson, Cecilia (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (violin, strings)
419.530.2448
CPA 1022
Cecilia.Johnson@utoledo.edu

Lendrim, Nancy (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (harp)
419.530.4738
CPA 1005
Nancy.Lendrim@utoledo.edu

Pearse, John (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (conducting/orchestra), Director of UT Symphony Orchestra
419.530.4553
CPA 1002
John.Pearse@utoledo.edu 

Ragusitu, Valentin
Adjunct Instructor (viola)
419.530.2448
CPA 1022
Valentin.Ragusitu@utoledo.edu

Music Teaching Assistants
 

Chelsie Cree
Voice
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Chelsie.Cree@rockets.utoledo.edu 

Xinya (Daniel) Dai
Guitar
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Xinya.Dai@rockets.utoledo.edu 

Scott Hunt
Music Theory
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Scott.Hunt@rockets.utoledo.edu

Andreea Lee
Piano
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Andreea.Lee@rockets.utoledo.edu

Johannes (Jay) Ronquillo
Recording Studio
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Johannes.Ronquillo@rockets.utoledo.edu

Jonathon Ross
Guitar
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Jonathan.Ross3@rockets.utoledo.edu

Emeritus Music Faculty
 

Chambers, Virginia
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

DeYarman, Robert
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

East, Thomas D.
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

Dr. Stephen Hodge
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

Kihslinger, Mary R.
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

Mason, James L.
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

Renzi, Frances A.
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

Rondelli Perry, Barbara (bio)
419.530.2448
Barbara.Rondelli-Perry@utoledo.edu

Sanchez, Bernard R. (1935-2013)

Last Updated: 8/31/15