To: Faculty Senate

- From: The Faculty Senate Constitution and Rules Committee Daniel McInnis, John Napp, Mohammed Niamat, Michael Peeters, Geoffry Rapp, Robert Steven (Chair), Mark Templin, Jerry Van Hoy and Don Wedding
- Date: March 24, 2023
- Subject: Proposed Amendments to the Faculty Senate Constitution, Rules and Bylaws

The Faculty Senate Constitution and Rules Committee recently discussed three issues concerning the current FS Constitution, Rules and Bylaws. These issues and the proposed Constitution, Rules and Bylaws amendments to address these issues follow below. The FS Constitution and Rules committee members unanimously recommend the proposed amendments.

Issue 1: Small colleges, such as the Jesup Scott Honors College, bear a greater burden on their faculty to fill committee membership requirements compared to larger colleges. Each faculty member of a small college, with five faculty for example, must sit on two or more of the 12 senate standing committees. The section of the FS Constitution Rules detailing how committee membership is established is given below. The relevant sentence in this section is highlighted in yellow, and the committee's proposed addition to ease the committee membership burden on small colleges is in red.

Rules Article I. Section 4: The membership of each Senate Committee shall be determined by Faculty Senate Committee on Committees appointment with the exception of the Senate Committee on Committees whose members shall be selected by the Executive Committee, and its chair shall be selected by the President of the Faculty Senate as described by Article IV.1.A.8 of the Bylaws of Faculty Senate. Each Faculty Senate Committee will consist of one representative from each college granting an undergraduate degree, and the University Libraries and the Jesup Scott Honors College. Faculty from any college with fewer faculty than the number of standing Faculty Senate committees may waive their right to representation on select committees after consultation with the Faculty Senate Committee on Committee on Committees. Exceptions to this general committee membership rule are specified in the details below. {The exceptions refer to issues such as participation by COMLS and are not relevant here.}

Issue 2: It is not clear how FS committees and committee chairs are established according to our new Constitution Rules and Bylaws. It is perhaps more clearly stated in our old Constitution and Rules. The wording from the old and new Constitutions, with relevant passages highlighted, are given below.

OLD Constitution:

Constitution Article VI.A.2: [The President of the Senate shall:] Appoint chairs to standing committees and chairs and members to ad hoc committees of the Senate, unless otherwise specified by this Constitution, its Appendix or its Rules;

Rules Article IV Committees Section 9h: Except as otherwise provided in the Constitution, its Appendix or these Rules, the Senate Committee on Committees shall appoint the members of all Faculty Senate committees, with the chair of each such committee being appointed by the President of the Faculty Senate as required by Article VI.A.2 of the Constitution. The members of the Senate Committee on Committees shall be selected by the Executive Committee, and its chair shall be selected by the President of the Faculty Senate.

NEW Constitution:

Rules Article I Section 4: The membership of each Senate Committee shall be determined by Faculty Senate Committee on Committees appointment with the exception of the Senate Committee on Committees whose members shall be selected by the Executive Committee, and its chair shall be selected by the President of the Faculty Senate as described by Article IV.1.A.8 {actually a typo: IV.1.A.10 is correct} of the Bylaws of Faculty Senate. Each Faculty Senate Committee will consist of one representative from each college granting an undergraduate degree, and the University Libraries and the Jesup Scott Honors College. Exceptions to this general committee membership rule are specified in the details below.

Bylaws Article IV.1.A.10 [The President of the Senate shall:] Appoint chairs to standing committees and chairs and members to ad hoc committees of the Senate, unless otherwise specified by this Constitution, its Bylaws or its Rules.

Possible interpretations of the *current* Constitution Rules and Bylaws include:

- 1) The Faculty Senate President selects committee chairs, and the Committee on Committees fills the remaining committee seats.
- 2) The Committee on Committees determines committee membership, including chairs, but the FS President selects the Committee on Committees chair.
- 3) The Committee on Committees determines committee membership then the FS president selects the chairs from committee members already determined.

The Constitution and Rules Committee suggests the following changes (old wording crossed out; additions in red) to the Constitution Rules and Bylaws so that the intentions of the documents are clear, they incorporate past practices used by Faculty Senate Presidents and they reflect the desires of Faculty Senate. The suggested change also includes correct reference to Bylaws Article IV.1.A.10 (the FS President appoints committee chairs) instead of Article IV.1.8 (describes the interaction of the FS President with the Board of Trustees).

Rules Article I Section 4: The chairs of each Senate Committee shall be selected by the President of the Faculty Senate as described by Article IV.1.A.10 of the Faculty Senate Bylaws. The Faculty Senate President, at their discretion, may ask the Faculty Senate Committee on Committees for assistance with the selection of the Senate Committee chairs. Once the Senate Committee chairs are determined the remaining membership of each Senate Committee shall be determined by Faculty Senate Committee on Committees appointment except for with the exception of the Senate Committee on Committees whose members shall be selected by the Executive Committee., and its chair shall be selected by the President of the Faculty Senate as

described by Article IV.1.A.8 of the Bylaws of Faculty Senate. Each Faculty Senate Committee will consist of one representative from each college granting an undergraduate degree, and the University Libraries and the Jesup Scott Honors College. Exceptions to this general committee membership rule are specified in the details below.

Bylaws Article IV.1.A.10 [The President of the Senate shall:] Appoint chairs to standing committees and chairs and members to ad hoc committees of the Senate, unless otherwise specified by this Constitution, its Bylaws or its Rules.

Issue 3: The following minor errors were identified in the FS Constitution, Rules and Bylaws and they should be corrected as indicated.

- 1. Rules Article I.4 has four references to Article I Section 5. Section 5 references university committees not FS committees. Instead of referencing Section 5, it should instead reference "in this Section of these Rules."
- 2. Bylaws: In Articles I and II there are three references to a special case in Article III, Section 2. The special case, in reference to an extra senator, is in Article III, Section 3, not Section 2.
- 3. Bylaws: The writing in all capital letters under article XI should be reformatted to the appropriate case.
- Bylaws Article I: "Each college including University Libraries shall have aat least one senate seat";
- 5. Constitution: Article III: "...except for Department department chairs..."