College of Law

Law Review Names 2019-20 Editorial Board

March 18, 2019

The University of Toledo Law Review announced the elected 2019-20 student editorial board in February 2019. The Toledo Law Review is a student-edited journal started in 1968 that publishes articles of legal interest submitted by scholars, practicing attorneys, members of the judiciary, and students. The journal is published three times a year.

Serving as editor-in-chief of Board 51 is Lindsey Self '20. Self is a graduate of Bowling Green State University, where she double majored in psychology and sociology. She spent nearly eight years in human resources before pursuing her law degree full-time at Toledo Law. While in law school, she has worked for Judge Darlene O'Brien at the Washtenaw County Trial Court and Judge Jeffrey Helmick at the United States District Court for the Northern District of Ohio. Self is a law clerk at Eastman & Smith, Ltd. in their Labor and Employment practice group.

She is also the co-founder of Make It Count Toledo, a local not-for-profit organization that provides emergency mobilization services to nonprofits working in crisis to benefit underrepresented and disadvantaged members of the community. Self is also a member of the Emerging Leaders Council of Advocates for Basic Legal Equality (ABLE) and an active member of the Northwest Ohio Human Resource Association and the Toledo Women's Bar Association.

Self lives in Perrysburg with her husband, Brian, and two young children. Following graduation, she intends to practice labor and employment law in the Toledo area.

"I am grateful to be the next editor-in-chief of Toledo Law Review," said Self. "Those on the board are in a unique position to shape the dialogue in the legal field based on the scholarship we select for publication. Our board is strong and the first-year students preparing to participate in the write-on competition are sharp. I am looking forward to lead a talented student staff and I am excited to see the work they each produce."

Executive committee members include Jacob Williams as executive articles editor, Elizabeth Seedorf as managing editor, Elizabeth Robishaw as symposium editor, and Megan Maynhart as technical editor.

The rest of the editorial board consists of executive editors, articles editors, note & comment editors, and contributing editors.

Executive editors perform full, substantive edits of each article in the publication and include Joshua Arter, Eli Boldt, Alia Kadri, Rena Laws, and Erin O’Neil.

Article editors focus on proper footnote format and include Ben Noll, Devin Bembnister, Zachary Desilvis, Dana Koerner, and Kathryn Sarver.

Tessa Bayly, Matthew Bodeman, Rachael Gerendasy, Erin Kelly, and Forrest Miller are the note & comment editors. They mentor new law review members during the note-writing process.

Contributing editors are Ben Colsten, Anthony Easley, and Corey Winebold. Their responsibilities include ensuring proper citation use and maintaining source material for the citations.

Contributing symposium editors are Genna Hilgenbrink and Brian Williams. They assist in the planning and execution of the Law Review Symposium, which brings in notable panels and speakers to discuss timely and pertinent legal topics impacting our legal community.

"Participation on Law Review signals excellence to the legal profession," said Professor Greg Gilchrist, faculty advisor for Law Review. "This goes beyond the grades and credentials required to serve, it also stems from the work entailed. By participating on Law Review, students hone key skills that will serve their future clients: analysis, writing, attention to detail, research, citation, and time management. This is particularly true of those students elected to the Editorial Board. The College of Law is proud of these outstanding students and the work they do to support the Law Review."

Last Updated: 7/3/19