Experimental Biology '08_____

Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows Receive tum Suden/Hellebrandt Professional Opportunity Awards

Graduate students and postdoctoral fellows who were first authors on an abstract submitted to Experimental Biology 2008 in San Diego, CA were eligible to apply for the Caroline tum Suden/Frances A. Hellebrandt Professional Opportunity Award. The APS Women in Physiology Committee chaired by Jane F. Reckelhoff, at the Univ. of Mississippi Medical Center, selected 36 awardees from a pool of 110 applicants. For the first time, applicants were required to be APS members (either student or regular). Applicants were chosen based on the quality and novelty of their abstracts, and letters written by the candidates describing their career goals, research, and why they were particularly deserving of the award. Each awardee received \$500, a certificate of recognition, and complimentary registration for the EB 2008 meeting. Awards were presented during the APS Business Meeting. Awardees were:

James R. Austgen, Univ. of Missouri-Columbia Sunanda Baliga, Rutgers Univ. Andrea G. Bechtold, Univ. of California, Davis Paulo S. Caceres, Henry Ford Hospital Jessica Ann Clark, Washington Univ. School of Medicine Sergio de Frutos García, Univ. of New Mexico Jan Foster, Medical College of Georgia Kim Parker Gannon, Univ. of Mississippi Medical Center Jeffrey Stephen Gilbert, Univ. of Mississippi Medical Center Romer Andres Gonzalez-Villalobos, Tulane Univ.

Health Sciences Center

W. Vallen Graham, Univ. of Chicago

Justin L. Grobe, Univ. of Iowa

Benjamin Lucas Hodnett, Univ. of Mississippi

Medical Center

David W. Infanger, Cornell Univ.

Hana A. Itani, Univ. of Iowa

Allison Kleiber, Univ. of Nebraska Medical Center

Erich Kushner, Univ. of Colorado, Boulder

Robert Lee-Young, Vanderbilt Univ.

Sarah Hoffmann Lindsey, Wake Forest Univ.

School of Medicine

David Andrew Low, Brunel Univ.

Paul J. Marvar, Emory Univ.

Eric E. Morgan, Univ. of Toledo College of Medicine

Nicole Louise Nichols, Wright State Univ.

Norma B. Ojeda, Univ. of Mississippi Medical Center

Jeffrey Peterson, Weill Cornell Medical College

Aaron James Polichnowski, Medical College of Wisconsin

Jennifer Leigh Rogers, Georgetown Univ.

Damian Gaston Romero, Univ. of Mississippi

Medical Center

Adeel Safdar, McMaster Univ.

Julio Sartori-Valinotti, Univ. of Mississippi Medical Center

Jennifer Mayberry Sasser, Univ. of Florida

Ana Quenia Gomes da Silva, Univ.

Federal de Minas Gerais, Brazil

Alexis Netis Simpkins, Medical College of Georgia Marcia Rossana Venegas-Pont, Univ. of Mississippi Medical Center

Helen Elizabeth Wood, Univ. of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Huijing Xia, Louisiana State Univ. Health Sciences Center

For information about applying for the 2009 tum Suden/Hellebrandt Awards, see http://www.the-aps.org/awards/student/TumSuden.htm. ❖



2008 tum Suden Awardees with Jane F. Reckelhoff, Chair of the APS Women in Physiology Committee (1st row, 2nd from right).

The American Physiological Society Medical Physiology Curriculum Objectives

http://www.the-aps.org/education/MedPhysObj/medcor.htm Download in HTML or PDF format

Now available in print form; up to 15 copies free per department.

The **Medical Physiology Curriculum Objectives** is a joint project of The American Physiological Society and the Association of Chairs of Departments of Physiology.

APS Education Office 9650 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20814-3991 Phone: 301-634-7132; Fax: 301-634-7098: Email: education@the-aps.org; http://www.the-aps.org/education.htm