The University of Toledo College of Medicine and Life Sciences 2016

White Coat Ceremony



Thursday, August 4, 2016 10:00 am- 12:00 pm

Nitschke Auditorium The University of Toledo



"Enter to Learn. Go Forth to Serve."

2016 White Coat Ceremony

Processional: *Canon in D* by Johann Pachelbel (1653-1706)

WELCOME

Paul Schaefer, M.D., Ph.D Assistant Dean for Student Affairs

DEAN'S REMARKS

Christopher Cooper, M.D. Dean of the College of Medicine and Life Sciences

ALUMNI WELCOME

Amy Levine, M.D.
Alumni Affiliate President
The University of Toledo College of Medicine and Life Sciences
Alumni Affiliate

PRESENTATION OF GIFTS

Paul Schaefer, M.D., Ph.D White Coats from the Alumni Affiliate Humanism in Medicine Lapel Pins from The Arnold P. Gold Foundation

STUDENT'S CLOAKED BY

Ronald McGinnis, M.D., Senior Associate Dean for Student Affairs & Admissions
Iman Mohamed, M.D., Professor of Medicine
Shirley Bodi, M.D., Assistant Dean, Curriculum Integration

RECITATION OF MEDICAL STUDENT PLEDGE OF ETHICS

The 2016 Entering Class Led by Sura Khuder UTCOM Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society

CLOSING REMARKS

Christopher Cooper, M.D.

Recessional: *Trumpet Voluntary* by Jeremiah Clarke (1674-1707)

RECEPTION IN THE LOBBY

Note: Professional photographs will be taken of each student after being "cloaked" with her or his white coat. Prints can be ordered from Kurt Nielsen Photography and will be available on

Medical Student Pledge of Ethics

I will not forget that there is an art to medicine as well as a science, and that warmth, sympathy and understanding are integral to patient care.

I will strive to earn the trust my patients place in me and the respect that society places upon my profession.

I will recognize the privileges afforded to me as a physician-in-training and promise not to abuse them.

Even as a student, I have a responsibility to improve the standard of health in my community, to increase access to care for the underserved, and to advance medical knowledge.

As I accept these new responsibilities, I will not forget the importance of my own health and well-being.

I will continue to value my relations with those who have supported me in the past and those who will share in my future.

Knowing my own limitations and those of medicine, I commit myself to a lifelong journey of learning how to cure, relieve and comfort with humility and compassion.

I make these promises solemnly, freely, and upon my honor.

Adapted from The University of Texas-Houston Medical School "Student Ethical Pledge." Used with permission.

Medical Student Pledge of Ethics

I publicly acknowledge and accept the privileges and responsibilities given to me today as a physician-in-training and dedicate myself to provide care to those in need.

I will approach all aspects of my education with honesty and integrity, embracing opportunities to learn from patients, teachers and colleagues.

I will always maintain the highest standards of professional conduct.

I will certify only that which I have personally verified, and I will neither receive nor give unauthorized assistance on examinations.

I will value the knowledge and wisdom of the physicians who have preceded me.

I will recognize my weaknesses and strengths and strive to develop those qualities that will earn the respect of my patients, my colleagues, my family, and myself.

I will respect the humanity, rights and decisions of all patients and will attend to them with compassion and without bias.

I will maintain patient confidentiality and be tactful in my words and actions.

I will value the diversity of patients' experiences, cultures and beliefs because it enhances my ability to care for them and enriches my education.

2016 Entering Class

Ali Abou-Alaiwi	Katherine Chen	Katelyn Friedl	
Kevin Adams	Lauren Coombs	Elizabeth Gegorski	
Bilal Ahmed	Emily Cooper	Bradley Gehring	
Catherine Alford	Philip Craigmile	Erika Ghazoul	
Paige Anderson	Justin Creeden	Nathaniel Gilbert	
Nelish Ardeshna	Sara Crowell	Kimberley Glover	
Jonathan Armknecht	Emily Cummings	Jacob Goatley	
Nikita Ashcherkin	Ahmed Daboul	Tanvi Goyal	
Ahmad Assaly	James Dalgleish	Sarah Grady	
Ealla Atari	Akhil Dhamija	Patrick Haggerty	
Kunaal Bafna	Ramneek Dhillon	Woojin Han	
Isabella Bartholomew	Taylor Dimmerling	Adam Haniff	
Kathryn Becker	Michelle Djohan	Jonathon Henricks	
Kyle Beuoy	Allison Dunn	Mitchell Hooven	
David Botschner	John Edminister	Michael Houghan	
Miranda Branstool	Alex Ellenberger	Allison Hoynes	
Austin Brown	Stephanie Fabry	Amy Hua	
Neal Bucher	Matthew Flemer	Matthew Hutcherson	
Nick Cairl	Alessandra Fodera	Evan Ingram	
Jaya Chandra	Dylan Fortman	Azwar Iqbal	

2016 Entering Class

2016 Entering Class

Saba Javadi	Christopher Levy	Nikhil Modak	Vyshnavi Reddy	Andrew Stiene	Nathan Williams
Joseph Jeffries	Sean Lewis	Ian Monroe	Margaret Reilly	Colleen Stobinski	Alexander Wisniewski
Arjun Jindal	Ajay Lingireddy	Sara Moore	Andrea Riley	Douglas Stockton	Jieshen Wu
Bryan Johnson	Lindsey Loss	Daniel Morgenstern	Rayce Risser	Andrew Stratton	Youqing Zhang
Tyler Johnston	RaeLynne Macbeth	Mollie Myers	Daniel Rospert	Emily Sudhakar	John Ziebro
Richard Jordan	Samarchitha Magal	Christopher Nam	Kaitlin Rubinic	Hibba Sumra	Sydney Zierden
Minahil Kamran	Tamara Maghathe	Madison Nashu	Mark Rudolph	Keith Sweitzer	Evan Zink
Ravitej Katragadda	Anisha Maheshwari	Olla Nayal	Jacob Rusk	Kristin Syed	
Elyssa Kayser	Shazil Mahmood	Anastazia Novatchinski	Kirsten Russell	Murtaza Syed	
Rory Kelly	Emily Maly	Ronald Nowak	Zayd Safadi	Keinan Taja	
Connor Kenney	Sarah Matto	Assumpta Nwaneri	Talha Saif	Robert Toelke	
Kent Kern	Matthew Mazur	Zaidal Obagi	Celina Sarkes	Ryan Tran	
Alexandra Kivnick	Travis Mazur	Connor Parsell	Jacob Schultz	Jennifer Tripi	
Donald Kleppel	Lucien McBeth	Jordan Perlman	Alexandra Schwann	Areej Usmani	
Katie Korneffel	Connor McNamee	Brian Potocnik	Ryan Sefcik	Palavi Vaidya	
Juliann Kosovec	Adam Mierzwa	Tamar Pounardjian	Jalpa Shah	Aaran Varatharjan	
Alexsandra Kovacevich	Rachel Miller	Paxton Prather	Leena Shah	Jacob Vaughn	
Michael Kreft	Scott Miller	Emily Rady	Stephanie Sherman	Heather Voss-Hoynes	
Samantha Kuehn	William Miller	Juhi Rattan	Elizabeth Smith	Nathan Wagner	
			Jennifer Smith	Samuel Wakser	
Mang-tak Kwok	Mohammed Miniato	Manuj Rattan	Tyler Snyder	Alexandra Wenig	
Juli Lambert	Colleen Mismas	Madison Ratycz	Mahala Spalsbury	Lauren Weaver	