

10 West Broad Street, Suite 450 Columbus, Ohio 43215-7415 (614) 464-1266 fax (614) 464-9281 www.iuc-ohio.org

December 29, 2016

The Honorable Rob Portman
United States Senate
448 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senator Portman:

Ohio's public university Presidents want to thank Senators Lindsey Graham, Dick Durbin, Lisa Murkowski, Dianne Feinstein, Jeff Flake, and Chuck Schumer for their support – through introduction of the BRIDGE Act – of the many public university students in Ohio facing uncertainty over their immigration status.

Many Ohio students are facing great difficulty because of the indeterminate status of the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program. We stand in support of these students who arrived on our campuses believing in the promises made by the government of the United States of America.

The BRIDGE Act would provide these students with work authorization and a "provisional protected status" from deportation. It would help alleviate the immediate concerns regarding their status while the nation continues to pursue a long-term solution to immigration reform.

DACA students on our campuses have enriched the learning environment and brought extraordinary talent to our state. They have provided leadership in numerous disciplines from education to science and technology, and are actively serving their local communities and economies. These students have been raised and educated in the United States and have proven to be an important asset to our society.

The Inter-University Council is a strong advocate of the BRIDGE Act because it provides hope to our students and sends a clear and compelling message of support to our community. We look forward to working closely with you, members of the United States Senate, and other policy makers who will stand up for and favor a fair policy treating these students with the respect that they have earned.

Sincerely,

Ohio's Public University Presidents Signature Page Attached c: The Honorable Sherrod Brown, United State Senate
 The Honorable Lindsey Graham, United States Senate
 The Honorable Richard Durbin, United State Senate
 The Honorable Lisa Murkowski, United State Senate
 The Honorable Dianne Feinstein, United State Senate
 The Honorable Jeff Flake, United States Senate
 The Honorable Charles Schumer, United States Senate

meno, in

President Matthew J. Wilson University of Akron

Mangellen Mayery

President Mary Ellen Mazey Bowling Green State University

Ceynthia Jackson Himmond

President Cynthia Jackson-Hammond Central State University

Severy J. Davenport

Interim President Beverly Davenport University of Cincinnati

President Ronald M. Berkman Cleveland State University

President Beverly J. Warren

Kent State University

President Greg Crawford Miami University

Gregor Cron

President Jay A. Gershen Northeast Ohio Medical University

Jug a Denlin

Michael Drahe

President Michael V. Drake The Ohio State University

Toderick J. Mc Haves

President Roderick J. McDavis Ohio University

Rich S. Kunt

President Rick S. Kurtz Shawnee State University

Sh d. Baten

President Sharon L. Gaber University of Toledo

Dain R. Hopkin

President David R. Hopkins Wright State University

James P. TRESSEL

President James Tressel Youngstown State University

Mrs John

President Bruce Johnson Inter-University Council of Ohio