# Natural Sciences and Mathematics Council Minutes for January 25, 2011

#### Call to order at 3:35

#### Present:

Rupali Chandar, Fan Dong, Randy Ellingson, Hans Gottgens, Sally Harmych, David Krantz, Charlie Odenthal, John Plenefisch, Don Ronning, Friedhelm Schwarz, John-David Smith, Steve Sucheck, Sibylle Weck-Schwarz, Denis White, Don White

#### Absent:

Max Funk, Brian Ashburner, Joe Schmidt

## Information/Reports

Dean Bjorkman offered remarks about assembling her office and staff in the NS&M Office in Wolfe Hall and her optimism concerning the future of the new college. She also mentioned that she is open to suggestions for people to take on the duties of the Associate Dean position. Other topics addressed by Dean Bjorkman included the following (in no particular order):

Promoting interdisciplinary research and educational activities between departments in the college and throughout the university

Requesting thought and input by the faculty to promote positive public relations opportunities for the college

Thoughts on goals for the Capital Campaign

Requested assistance/ideas for an NS&M Mission Statement

#### Other information from the Dean

The student advising office will maintain the status quo for the remainder of spring semester Technology fees and distribution maintains the status quo as well

### **New Business**

Two representatives (Sally Harmych and Sibylle Weck-Schwarz) were chosen to represent lecturers in the college. Sally Harmych now represents college lecturers on the executive committee.

Discussion concerning further modifications to the constitution. The three main topics were as follows: 1) Clarification that 3 people per department will represent their respective departments with an additional representative being added for every 10 faculty lines in that department. 2) Discontinuation of the at-large members starting in fall 2011. 3) Defining who were considered voting members of the college.

Motion concerning the definition of "faculty" in Article II section1 of the constitution. The new wording is as follows:

Section 1. Faculty: The faculty of the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics shall consist of all members holding full-time academic appointments as Lecturers, or tenured or tenure-track Assistant Professors, Associate Professors, or Professors.

The vote to confirm the changes was unanimous. Modification of the constitution and council rules is on-going **Adjournment** at 5:03 p.m.