Natural Sciences and Mathematics Council

Meeting Agenda for April 16, 2013 Wolfe Hall 1240 3:30 – 5:00 PM

Call to Order

- Roll Call Secretary Jon Bossenbroek
- **Present:** James Anderson, Bruce Bamber, John Bellizzi, Jon Bossenbroek, Hans Gottgens, Xiche Hu, Edith Kippenhan, David Krantz, Nick Podraza, Tony Quinn, Joe Schmidt, Friedhelm Schwarz, JD Smith, Gerard Thompson, Sibylle Weck-Schwarz, Don White
- **Absent:** Fan Dong, Mike Cushing
- Others Present: Peter Andreana

Minutes for March meeting will be distributed by email.

Announcements

- NSM Dean & Chairs Meeting is Thursday of this week
 - o JD Smith John Barrett, looking to get experience in how we spend our time with research.
 - Did seem genuine in interest to understand what we do.
- University Council Meeting is Friday of this week

Report from Faculty Senate - Krantz

- Substantial discussion related to revisions to constitutions and bylaws regarding the inclusion of the "Delegation" and "Supremacy" clauses
 - o Points of interest during the conversation include:
 - Reporting of where departments stand.
 - Math Tabled pending further discussion
 - Env. Sci. Tabled pending further discussion
 - Chem Passed clauses
 - Biology Passed clauses
 - Physics Tabled pending further discussion
 - White These clauses makes all decisions administrative and not academic.
 Administrative decisions can be challenged in court.
 - Major concern about how these clauses related to the Faculty Senate and the AAUP

Motion to send the following resolution to NSM faculty:

The Council of the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics remains eager to work with all parties for the betterment of the University of Toledo, but strongly objects to the University's demand to include delegation and supremacy clauses in the constitutions of the NSM Council and each of the academic units of the College by threat of dissolution of those bodies. The members of the Council recognize and acknowledge that these clauses reflect the existing laws of the State of Ohio regarding the authority of the Board of Trustees of the University of Toledo.

Motion - White, Second - Schwartz, Vote: Aye - 9, Nay - 5

Report from Constitution & Bylaws Cmt. - Joe Schmidt

• Ballots to vote on delegation and supremacy clause and other constitutional changes in the mail.

Report from Elections Cmt. – Sibylle Weck-Schwarz

• Voting in progress

Report from Curriculum Cmt. - Tony Quinn

• Current curriculum issues will be forwarded to the 2013-14 NSM council.

Adjournment of 2012-13 NSM College Council -

Motion to adjourn - anonymous, Vote: Aye - unanimous

Call to Order, First Meeting of the 2013-14 NSM College Council – Chair JD Smith

Roll Call – Outgoing Secretary Jon Bossenbroek

- **Present:** James Anderson, Peter Andreana, Bruce Bamber, John Bellizzi, Jon Bossenbroek, Hans Gottgens, Xiche Hu, Edith Kippenhan, David Krantz, Nick Podraza, Tony Quinn, Joe Schmidt, Friedhelm Schwarz, JD Smith, Gerard Thompson, Sibylle Weck-Schwarz, Don White
- **Absent:** Fan Dong, Mike Cushing, Nick Podraza, John Plenefisch
- Others Present: Dean Bjorkman

New members welcomed:

- John Plenefisch (Bio)
- Peter Andreana (Chem)
- ? (Math) -- still needed

Exec Comm. was chosen:

- JD Smith (Physics & Astronomy)
- David Krantz (Environmental Sciences)
- Bamber, Bruce (Biology)
- Kippenhan, Edith (Lecturers)
- ? (Math) We await an elected replacement for Friedhelm.
- Peter Andreana (Chemistry)
- Edith was elected Secretary

Formal Election of officers and committees tabled until Fall.

Adjourned at 5:05pm