School of Green Chemistry and Engineering

SGCE Leadership and Organization

Operating Commitee

Mark Mason
Director, School of Green Chemistry and Engineering
Professor of Chemistry

Glenn Lipscomb
Associate Director, School of Green Chemistry and Engineering
Chair, Department of Chemical and Environmental Engineering



Karen Bjorkman
Dean, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics and
Professor of Physics and Astronomy 

Dean Gutteridge

Tom Gutteridge
Dean, College of Business and Innovation


Dean Naganathan

Nagi Naganathan
Dean, College of Engineering


Anand Kunnathur
Associate Dean of Business and Innovation


External Advisory Board 

Amy Cannon               Beyond Benign
Joe Cotruvo                 US EPA (retired)
Aaron Coulter             Toledo Refinery Corp/BPF Energy
Bob Deardurff             Phoenix Technologies International
David Foulkes             Ohio EPA
David Green                BASF Corporation
Tom Hughes               PolyOne Corportion
Rebecca Kaufold         Spartan Chemical Company
Nancy Linde               NSF International
Neill McKinstray         The Andersons
Joel Tickner                UMass Lowell Center for Sustainable Production and Green Chemistry and Commerce Council



The School of Green Chemistry and Engineering is led by an operating committee consisting of the Director, Associate Director, Dean of the College of Business and Innovation, Dean of the College of Engineering, Dean of the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, and Associate Dean of the College of Business and Innovation.  An External Advisory Board of academic, industry, government, and community leaders will help provide oversight and direction for the new School.  In addition, a Program Manager will assist with student recruitment, marketing and advertising, accounting, grant proposal submissions, outreach activities, and day to day operation of the SGCE.

The organizational structure is illustrated in the figure below.  The SGCE is organized to avoid competion with existing departmental and college structure for resources. To maintain a good working relationship, to garner internal support, and to avoid conflict and duplication of effort, the SGCE is organized to add to and strengthen the existing structure, promoting and facilitating mutually beneficial academic programs, interdisciplinary projects, and research in areas of green chemistry and green engineering.

SGCE Organizational Structure

The director reports directly to the Dean of the College in which the director holds a tenured faculty appointment. Currently, that is the Dean of the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics. The director also reports indirectly and works closely with the Dean of the College of Engineering and the Dean of the College of Business and Innovation. The director also works with department chairs regarding pertinent teaching and service assignments of relevance to the SGCE. Associated faculty and staff and their budget lines remain with individual departments, not the SGCE. The budget request for FY13 was developed by the operating committee and submitted to the administration through D’Naie Jacobs, Director of Strategic Initiatives.

Dr. Mark Mason was appointed Founding Director of the SGCE in March of 2012 with an initial appointment extending to August 14, 2013. Dr. Glenn Lipscomb was appointed Founding Associate Director in May of 2012 with an appointment extending to June 30, 2013.


Last Updated: 7/12/15