College of Nursing

Faculty

   
Kathy Ahonen

Kathy Ahonen, MSN, WHNP                        
Assistant Professor
kathleen.ahonen@utoledo.edu     
Specialty: Women's Health, Community Health
MSN, University of Michigan
BSN, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

batten Susan Batten,  Ph.D., MA, MN, RN, CNS
Associate Professor
susan.batten@utoledo.edu
PhD George Mason University (Nursing Administration)
MN Emory University (Neonatal Perinatal Nursing)
MA West Virginia University (Communication)
BSN George Mason University
HMSEC Medical College of Ohio

Carol Bryan

Carol Bryan, MSN, RN
Instructor
Acute and Chronic Care Dept.
carol.bryan@utoledo.edu
MSN: Medical College of Ohio
BA: University of Toledo
RN Diploma: Mercy School of Nursing

Huey-Shys Chen

Huey-Shys Chen, PhD, RN, MCHES, FAAN
Professor and Chair, Department of Health Promotion,
Outcomes, Systems, and Policy 
Director, Doctor of Nursing Practice Program
HueyShys.Chen@UToledo.Edu
Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing (AAN)
PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Deborah Dugan

Deborah Dugan, MSN, RN, NP-C
Instructor
deborah.dugan@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Geriatrics
MSN, The University of Toledo
BSN, The University of Toledo

joanne

Joanne Ehrmin, PhD, RN, CNS
Professor
joanne.ehrmin@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing
PhD, Wayne State University
MSN, Medical College of Ohio
BSN, University of Toledo
Post Doctoral Fellow, University of Michigan

Timothy Gaspar

Timothy M. Gaspar, PhD, RN
Dean and Professor
tim.gaspar@utoledo.edu
PhD; University of Utah
MSN; University of Nebraska Medical Center
BSN; South Dakota State University

Cheryl Gies

Cheryl E. Gies, DNP, MSN, RN, CNP
Associate Professor, Advanced Practice Program Director
Certified Adult Nurse Practitioner
cheryl.gies@utoledo.edu
DNP, The University of Toledo and Wright State University
MSN, Medical College of Ohio
BSN, Lourdes College
Diploma, St. Vincent Hospital School of Nursing

Temeaka Gray

Temeaka Gray, PsyD, MBA, MSN, CNP, RN
Assistant Professor
temeaka.gray@utoledo.edu
PsyD, University of The Rockies School of Organizational Leadership
MBA, Tiffin University
MSN, University of Cincinnati
BSN, Lourdes College

Elizabeth Grothaus

Elizabeth Grothaus, MSN, RN, CNS
Instructor
elizabeth.grothaus@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Adult Health and Community Health
MSN, Medical College of Ohio
BSN, Bowling Green State University

Cindy Herrera

Cindy Herrera, MSN, PPCNP-BC
Instructor
cindy.herrera@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Pediatric Nursing
MSN, Medical University of Ohio

Karen Hoblet

Karen Hoblet, PhD, MSN, CNL
Assistant Professor
karen.hoblet@utoledo.edu
Speciality: Nursing Administration, Health Care Supply Chain Management,
Health Care Product Cost and Occupational Health
MSN, Medical College of Ohio
BSN, University of Toledo

Patricia Hoover

Patricia Hoover, MSN, CNS, RN
Instructor, Nursing Advisor
patricia.hoover@utoledo.edu
Located: Rocket Hall, Suite 1400
Phone: 419-530-4678
Specialty: Clinical Ethics/Gerontological Nursing
MSN, University of Virginia
BSN, Bowling Green State University
BA, Wittenburg University
ANA Certification, Gerontological Nursing
Doctoral Student: University of Toledo

 king, lisa

Lisa King, MSN, RN, WHCNP
Instructor
lisa.king@utoledo.edu
Speciality: Women's Health
MSN, University of Texas Health Care Science Center at Houston
BSN, University of Cincinnati

Deloris Lakia

Deloris Lakia, MSN, RN, BC-ANP, CDE
Instructor
deloris.lakia@utoledo.edu
MSN, The University of Toledo
BSN, Marshall University
Certifications: Certified Diabetes Educator
Interests: Health Promotion and Wellness Programs

 lee

Carolyn Lee, PhD, CNE, RN
Professor
carolyn.lee@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Maternal Health Nursing
PhD, The University of Toledo
MSN, Medical College of Ohio
BSN, University of Toledo

 lewandowski

Kelly Lewandowski, MSN, RN
Instructor
kelly.lewandowski@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Maternal Newborn and Women's Health
MSN, The University of Phoenix
BSN, The University of Toledo

David Lymanstall

David Lymanstall, BA, MEd, MSN, RN
Director, Graduate Nursing Advisor and Instructor
david.lymanstall@utoledo.edu
BA, The University of Toledo
MEd, The University of Toledo
MSN, Medical University of Ohio

Deborah Mattin

Deborah Mattin, PhD, MSN, MBA, RN
Director, Continuing Nursing Education
deborah.mattin@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Adult Primary Care; Administration
PhD, The University of Toledo
MBA, University of Phoenix: Health Care Management
MSN, University of Phoenix
BSN, University of Phoenix

Pamela Marok

Pamela Marok, PhD(c), MSN, RN
Assistant Professor
pamela.marok@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing
MSN; Medical College of Ohio
BSN; Bowling Green State University
Doctoral Student; The University of Toledo

kathy mitchell

Kathleen Mitchell, MSN, RN
Assistant Dean, Student Services
kathleen.mitchell@utoledo.edu
MSN; Thomas Jefferson University
BSN; Ursuline College

mortland, karen

Karen M. Mortland, MSN, RN, CNE
Instructor
karen.mortland@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Adult Health Nursing
MSN - The University of Toledo, HSC
BSN - Lourdes University

moyer

Laura Moyer, M.Ed., MSN, RN, PMHCNS-BC
Instructor
laura.moyer@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing
Certified: Psychiatric Clinical Nurse Specialist with Certificate to Prescribe
MSN and PMHCNS, Medical University of Ohio
BA and M.Ed, The University of Toledo

Denise Oancea

Denise Oancea, PhD (c), MSN, MBA, RN
Instructor
Denise.Oancea@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Oncology, Pediatrics, Adult Health
MSN, Madonna University
MBA, Madonna University
BSN, Lourdes College

oberlander, jim

James F. Oberlander, MSN, RN
Instructor
james.oberlander2@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Adult Health
MSN: University of Southern Indiana
BSN: Bowling Green State University

Susan O'Dell

Susan O’Dell, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor and Interim Chair, Department of Acute and Chronic Care

Interim Director, Baccalaureate Nursing Program
susan.odell@utoledo.edu
PhD; University of Colorado
MSN; Medical College of Ohio
BSN; Bowling Green State University

ohns

Mary Jean Ohns RN, MSN, CPNP, CCRN
Instructor
Mary.Ohns@UToledo.Edu
BSN - Bowling Green State University
MSN- Medical College of Ohio (Parent - Child Nursing)
Post-Masters Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Certificate - University of Michigan
DNP student - Wayne State University

Kelly Phillips

Kelly Phillips, PhD, MSN, CNS, CNL
Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Population and Community Care
Director, Master of Science in Nursing Program
kelly.phillips5@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Pediatrics
PhD, The University of Toledo
MSN, Medical College of Ohio
BSN, Franklin University
Diploma, Providence Hospital School of Nursing                                             

Linda L. Pierce

Linda L. Pierce, PhD, RN, CNS, CRRN, FAHA, FAAN
Professor
L.Pierce@utoledo.edu
Associate Editor, Rehabilitation Nursing Journal
Credentials: Fellow American Heart Association,
Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing
PhD, Wayne State University
MSN, University of Akron, BSN, University of Akron
Diploma, The Toledo Hospital
Current Research
Rehabilitation Nursing Journal
      Submit a manuscript

Kathryn Pilliod

Kathryn Pilliod-Carpenter, MSN, FNP-C, RN
Instructor
kathryn.pilliod-carpenter@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Adult Health/Oncology Nursing
MSN, Medical College of Ohio
BSN, University of Toledo

Susan L. Pocotte

Susan L. Pocotte, PhD
Associate Professor, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs,
College of Graduate Studies
susan.pocotte@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Pharmacology/Physiology/Pathophysiology
PhD, University of Michigan

Colleen Quinlan

Colleen Quinlan, PhD, MS, CNP
Associate Professor
colleen.quinlan@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Women's Health Care
Nurse Practitioner, SUNY, Buffalo
PhD; The University of Toledo
BScN, Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Jane Ransom

Jane Ransom, PhD, CNS, RN
Associate Professor
Jane.Ransom@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Adult Health Nursing
PhD, Frances Payne Bolton College of Nursing, Case Western Reserve University
MSN, Wayne State University
BSN, Ohio State University

Kristina Reuille

Kristina Reuille, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor
kristina.reuille@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Adult Health, Chronic Illness Self-Management,
Symptom Management and Oncology Nursing Research
PhD Nursing, Indiana University (Behavioral Oncology)
MSN, Indiana University (Adult Health Clinical Nurse Specialist)
BSN, Indiana University

Susan Rice

Susan Rice, PhD, RN, CPNP, NCSN
Professor
susan.rice@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Certified Pediatric Nurse Practitioner; Pediatric Clinical Nurse Specialist,
National Certified School Nurse
PhD, Wayne State University
MSN, Medical University of Ohio
BSN, University of Toledo
Post-Doctoral Studies, Pediatric Nurse Practitioner; Wayne State University

Diane Salvador

Diane Salvador, PhD, RN, NEA-BC
Associate Professor, Interim Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
diane.salvador@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Adult Health, Nursing Administration, Health Policy
PhD, The University of Toledo
MSN, Medical College of Ohio
BSN, Bowling Green State University

scardinia

Angela Scardina, MSN, RN, CNP
Instructor
angela.kennedy2@utoledo.edu

Cheryl Schriner

Cheryl Schriner, PhD, MSN, RN, BC
Professor
cheryl.schriner@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Community Health Nursing, Nursing Administration,
Nursing Executive Advanced
PhD, The University of Toledo
MSN, Medical College of Ohio
BSN, Bowling Green State University

Martha Sexton

Martha Sexton, PhD, RN, CNS
Assistant Professor, Director, Interprofessional Immersive
Simulation Center and Learning Resource Center
martha.sexton@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Adult Health/Psychiatric Nursing, Interprofessional Education,
Collaborative Practice
MSN, Medical College of Ohio
BSN, Bowling Green State University

shank

Heidi Marie Shank, MSN, RN
Instructor
Heidi.Shank@UToledo.Edu
Specialty: Critical Care, Stroke, Accreditation
Acute and Chronic Care Department
2016 DNP candidate University of Toledo & Wright State University
MSN: Indiana Wesleyan University
BSN: Spring Arbor University
ADS in Registered Nursing Owen's Community College

smith, jennings

Jennings Smith MSN RN
Instructor
Jennings.Smith@utoledo.edu
MSN: University of Toledo
BA: AIU

sink

Katherine Sink, PhD, CNS
Associate Professor
Katherine.Sink@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Pediatrics
PhD, The University of Michigan
MSN, Medical College of Ohio
MEd, The University of Toledo
BSN, Medical College of Virginia, Virginia Commonwealth University

Susan Sochack

Susan Sochacki, PhD, MSN, RN
Assistant Professor
susan.sochacki@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Adult Health/Gerontologic Nursing
PhD, Bowling Green State University
MSN, Medical College of Ohio
BSN, The University of Toledo
RN, St. Vincent Hospital of Nursing

Patricia Sopko

Patricia Sopko, MSN, RN, CNE
Instructor
patricia.sopko@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Women's Health and End-of-Life Care
MSN, The University of Toledo
BSN, The University of Toledo

Tracy Szirony

Tracy Szirony, PhD, RN, C, CHPN, CNP
Associate Professor
tracy.szirony@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Adult Health, Gerontological Nursing, and Care of the Terminally Ill
PhD, University of Toledo
MSN, Medical College of Ohio
BSN, University of Toledo
Certified: Gerontological Nurse, Hospice and Palliative Nurse

taylor

Colleen Taylor, PhD,RN, FNP-C
Assistant Professor
colleen.taylor@utoledo.edu
PhD, University of Toledo (Health Education)
MSN, Medical College of Ohio (Family Nurse Practitioner) 
BSN, Medical College of Ohio 

 

Karen Tormoehlen

Karen Tormoehlen, MSN, CRNP
Assistant Professor
Karen.Tormoehlen@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Adult Nurse Practitioner
MSN, University of Michigan
BSN, University of Arizona

Joan

Joan van der Bijl, MSN, CNS-BC
Assistant Professor
joan.vanderbijl@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing
MSN, Boston University
BSN, California State University- Fresno
Certified: Psychiatric Clinical Nurse Specialist with Certificate to Prescribe
Doctoral Student: Case Western Reserve University

Eileen Walsh

Eileen Walsh, PhD, APN, RN-BC, FAHA
Associate Professor
eileen.walsh@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Adult Health
PhD, The University of Toledo
MSN, Case Western Reserve University, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing
BSN, The University of Toledo

Marilynne Wood

Marilynne Wood, PhD, MSN, RN
Professor
marilynne.wood@utoledo.edu
Specialty: Pediatric and Community Nursing
PhD, The University of Toledo
MSN, Medical College of Ohio
BSN, The University of Toledo
RN, Mercy Hospital School of Nursing

woolford, dawn

Dawn Woolford, MSN/Ed RN
Instructor
Dawn.Woolford@utoledo.edu
RN, St Vincent School of Nursing
BSN, Lourdes University
MSN, University of Phoenix

Last Updated: 6/26/15