

# **Board of Trustees**

## CLINICAL AFFAIRS COMMITTEE MEETING

December 18, 2017 - 12:30 p.m. - Driscoll Alumni Center, Schmakel Room

Sharon Speyer - Chair, Mary Ellen Pisanelli - Vice Chair

Alfred A. Baker, Pat D'Eramo, Patrick J. Kenney - Trustee Members

Lucas D. Zastrow - Student Trustee Member

Shobha Ratnam - Faculty Representative

Gary P. Thieman - Community Member



## Clinical Affairs Committee Meeting - December 18, 2017

#### Agenda

- 12:30 p.m. 1. Call to Order
  - 2. Action Items

Clinical Affairs Committee Meeting Minutes for September 18, 2017

3. Discussion Items

Accreditation Update

- 4. Education Items
- 5. Executive Session

Executive Session to discuss privileged information related to the evaluation of medical staff personnel appointments and quality reporting

- 6. Other Business
- 7. Adjournment

## Minutes The University of Toledo Board of Trustees Clinical Affairs Committee Meeting September 18, 2017

Committee Chair Ms. Sharon Speyer was present with Committee members Mr. Alfred A. Baker, Mr. Pat D'Eramo, Ms. Mary Ellen Pisanelli and Student Trustee Mr. Lucas D. Zastrow. Committee member Mr. Patrick J. Kenney was absent. Other Trustees who attended included Ms. Christine E. Brennan, Mr. Steven M. Cavanaugh, Mr. Jeffrey C. Cole, Mr. Will Lucas, Mr. Joseph H. Zerbey, IV, and Student Trustee Ms. Hedyeh Elahinia. Faculty Representative Dr. Shobha Ratnam was present, as well as Community member Mr. Gary P. Thieman. Others in attendance were Mr. Daniel Barbee, Ms. Sherri Boyle, Ms. Meghan Cunningham, Dr. Michael Ellis, Ms. Sarah Elms, Mr. Rick Gerasimiak, Mr. Charles Jake, Dr. Samer Khouri, Ms. Jean Lovejoy, Mr. Peter Papadimos, Dr. Jason Schroeder, Mr. Matthew Schroeder, and Ms. Joan Stasa.	ATTENDANCE
The meeting was called to order at 12:30 p.m. by Trustee Speyer at the Driscoll Alumni Center in the Schmakel room. Ms. Joan Stasa, Secretary to the Board, recorded the minutes.	CALL TO ORDER
Trustee Speyer requested a motion to waive the reading of the minutes from the June 19 Committee meeting and approve them as written. A motion for approval was provided by Trustee Baker, seconded by Trustee Pisanelli, and approved by the Committee.	APPROVAL OF MINUTES
Mr. Daniel Barbee, CEO for UTMC, was invited to provide the Committee with information about the Quality Assessment, Performance Improvement, and Patient Safety Plan for 2018. Mr. Barbee told the Committee that hospitals are required by The Joint Commission to have, and make public, annual performance improvement plans and must identify institutional priorities, actions plans for those priorities, and annual reviews of performance. A list of FY17 goals and a list of FY17 outcomes were displayed and discussed with the Committee. Mr. Barbee also discussed opportunities for improvement and stated that targeted action plans are in place for each objective.	QUALITY ASSESSMENT, PERFORMANCE IMPROVEMENT, AND PATIENT SAFETY PLAN 2018
Dr. Samer Khouri, Associate Professor Medicine Division of Cardiovascular Medicine/Chief of Staff, provided the Committee with definitions for credentialing and privileging, as well as overviews of Focused Professional Practice Evaluations and Ongoing Professional Practice Evaluations. He reported that the Medical Staff has an organized process for insuring the quality of its members, which begins with credentialing and is ongoing. The Board, to whom the Medical Staff reports, plays an important oversight role. Dr. Khouri stated that the Board of Trustees, through their bylaws, delegates to the Medical Staff Office to review the qualifications of providers, to recommend applicant	CREDENTIALING AND PRIVILEGING FPPE, AND OPPE OVERVIEWS

appointments and reappointments, and to monitor the quality of medical care. The process of providing quality reviews and monitoring was explained in three steps: 1) Credentialing and Privileging, 2) FPPE, and 3) OPPE. Dr. Khouri outlined the Medical Staff Privileging Process step-by-step and explained primary source verification. Potential areas of concerned are evaluated and a list of examples were outlined for the Committee. Dr. Khouri also discussed modifications to the process for Allied Health Professional Credentialing, which is for nurse practitioners, physician assistants, certified nurse mid-wives, etc.	
Trustee Speyer requested a motion to enter Executive Session to discuss privileged information related to the evaluation of medical staff personnel appointments and quality reporting. The motion was received from Trustee Pisanelli, seconded by Trustee D'Eramo, and a roll call was taken by Ms. Stasa: Mr. Baker, yes; Mr. D'Eramo, yes; Ms. Pisanelli, yes; and, Ms. Speyer, yes. After discussions, the Committee exited Executive Session.	EXECUTIVE SESSION
Ms. Speyer requested a motion to approve the Chief of Staff Report as presented in Executive Session. A motion for approval of the report was received from Trustee Baker, seconded by Trustee D'Eramo, and approved by the Committee. The Chief of Staff Report is attached.	CHIEF OF STAFF REPORT
With no further business before the Committee, Trustee Speyer adjourned the meeting at 1:42p.m.	ADJOURNMENT

#### CHIEF OF STAFF REPORT September 18, 2017

Initial Appointments - Physicians/Dentists

Boose, Michelle, MD Family Medicine

Dabiri, Darya, DDS Surgery/ Dentistry

Meenakshisundaram, Chandramohan, MD Medicine/Hospital Medicine

Initial Appointments - Allied Health Professionals (AHP) Albano, Nicholas, PharmD Medicine

Sanow, Kelli, PA-C Surgery/Vascular Surgery

Walker, Sarah, CNP Medicine/Hospital Medicine

**Reappointments - Physicians** 

1. C	Goyal, Rakesh, MD	Psychiatry	Active
2. K	Kayyali, Ammar, MD	Medicine/Geriatrics	Active
3. F	Raffoul, Khalil MD	Surgery/Ophthalmology	Courtesy
4. 1	Tam, Richard, MD	Surgery/Ophthalmology	Courtesy

Active

Request for Additional/Withdrawal of Privileges - Physicians

1. Baskara, Arunkumar, MD Surgery/General Surgery

- Approve additional privileges for Wound Care and Hyperbaric under FPPE.

## Removal from FPPE - Transition to OPPE - Physicians

1. Saraiya, Siddharth, MD	Radiation Oncology	Active
Allied Health Professional Resignation	tions - Informational	
1. Awada-Mitchell, Hana, CN	MOB/GYN	AHP
2. Carnes, Patrick, CAA	Anesthesiology	AHP
3. Hammuda, Yusef, PA-C	Emergency Medicine	AHP