Research and Sponsored Programs

University Research Council

In accordance with the Research Council Policy (3364-70-03), the University Research Council responsibilities include: reviewing, formulating and recommending general research policies and practices which affect the conduct of research and scholarship at The University of Toledo; developing and overseeing programs which utilize University-based funds for advocating and enhancing research and scholarship at the University; and reviewing and recommending research centers and institutes.

The University Research Council is comprised of a combination of appointments by the President, Faculty Senate, and Graduate Council Executive Committee, as well as through ex officio membership. The length of service varies with the appointment basis.

The council meets the fourth Friday of the month from 1:00 - 2:30 PM (except for alternate dates for November and December due to the holidays) at the 1st Floor Conference Room in the Research and Technology Complex 1 (R1) building on the main campus.

The meeting schedule for 2018-2019 is here.

University Research Council Membership 2018-2019
Debra Boardley, PhD Debra Boardley
Research Integrity Officer
Health Science Faculty Senate Yr 3 of 3 year term
Beau Case, PhD Beau Case Libraries Faculty Senate Yr 2 of 3 year term
Mohammad Elahinia, PhD - Professor Mohammad Elahinia  Engineering Faculty Senate Yr 2 of 3 year term
Christina Fitzgerald, PhD - College of Arts and Letters Christina Fitzgerald Humanities  Faculty Senate Yr 1 of 3 year term
Llew Gibbons, JD - College of Law  Llew Gibbons Law Faculty Senate Yr 3 of 3 year term
Bob Topp Bob Topp Nursing Faculty Senate Yr 2 of 3 year term
John-David Smith, PhD - College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics John-David Smith Physical/Natural Sciences Faculty Senate Yr 1 of 3 year term
Svetlana Beltyukova, PhD Svetlana Beltyukova Education Graduate Council Yr 2 of 3 year term
Daniel J. Hammel, PhD Dan Hammel
 Social Sciences Graduate Council Yr 1 of 3 year term
Bashar Gammoh, PhD - College of Business and Innovation Bashar Gammoh  Business Graduate Council Yr 1 of 3 year term
Marthe Howard, PhD Marthe Howard Medicine Graduate Council Yr 2 of 3 year term
Tomer Avidor-Reiss, PhD Tomer Avidor-Reiss Natural Sciences Graduate Council Yr 2 of 3 year term
Patricia Relue Patricia Relue  Engineering Graduate Council  Yr 3 of 3 year term
Tammy Kinsey, MFA Tammy Kinsey Arts Presidential 1-year term
Michael Prior, Associate Professor - College of Health Science and Human Services  Michael Prior Human Services Presidential 1-year term
Jennifer Hill, PhD - College of Medicine and Life Sciences Jennifer Hill Medicine Presidential 1-year term
Jason Huntley, PhD - College of Medicine and Life Sciences  Jason Huntley Medicine Presidential 1-year term
Zahoor Shah, PhD - College of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences Zahoor Shah Pharmacy Presidential 1-year term
Cyndee Gruden, Interim Dean - College of Graduate Studies Cyndee Gruden Interim Dean
 XO College of
Graduate Studies
Frank Calzonetti, PhD Frank Calzonetti Vice President of Research XO Research & Sponsored
Rick Francis, PhD Rick Francis Director,
Research Advancement &
Information Systems
XO Research & Sponsored 
Marcie Ferguson, BBA - Special Projects Manager Marcie Ferguson Special Projects Manager Secretary Research & Sponsored

Source of Appointments
Source of Appointment     
Number of Appointments     
Length of Term
Graduate Council 6 appointments 3 year term
Faculty Senate 7 appointments 3 year term
Presidential 5 appointments 1 year term
Disciplines Represented
Number of Representatives
Arts 1 Representative
Business 1 Representative
Education 1 Representative
Engineering 2 Representatives
Health Science 1 Representative
Human Service 1 Representative
Humanities 1 Representative
Law 1 Representative
Libraries 1 Representative
Medicine 3 Representatives
Natural Sciences 2 Representative
Nursing 1 Representative
Pharmacy 1 Representative
Social Services 1 Representative
Last Updated: 4/29/19