Graduate Council Report to Board of Trustees Academic and Student Affairs Committee April 13, 2020

This report includes the activities of Graduate Council (GC) since our last report on February 10, 2020.

GC has held three council meetings on February 11, February 25 and April 7. The originally scheduled March 24 meeting was cancelled due to the COVID19 outbreak, based on the Executive Committee's consensus to give GC members more time to transition to online teaching and mentoring.

GC has invited guest presentations and recognized outstanding graduate students during these meetings. During the February 11 meeting, Dr. Amy Thompson, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs, gave an update on online course evaluation, and Dr. Cyndee Gruden, Associate Dean of COGS, and Ms. Cathy Zimmer, Director for Academic and Curricular Initiatives from the Provost's office, gave a presentation on how to prepare graduate course proposals.

On February 25, Mr. Matt Schroeder, Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration and CFO, briefed the GC about the Finance and Budget situation at the university. The informative presentation helped council members better understand the financial decisions of the university. GC believes that timely information sharing is beneficial when any policies that impact graduate faculty are being considered. Also In this meeting, 7 Graduate Research Awards Recipients and their faculty advisors were recognized in a special award ceremony. The names of these students and their advisors are shown next page.

We held a virtual GC meeting on April 7. Dr. Alana Malik, University Assessment Director, and Dr. Holly Monsos, University Assessment Committee Chair, gave an update on the institution's curriculum mapping project and the definition of "co-curricular" activities in the context of assessment and accreditation. GC was notified that the deadline to finish the curricular mapping has been extended to September 15. Dr. Ammon Allred did a presentation and answered questions regarding the new interdisciplinary doctoral program, PhD in the Public Humanities.

Various GC committees have worked behind the scene to help graduate education in the university run smoothly. The GC Curricular Committee has so far reviewed ~160 course and program proposals this semester and their tireless work has ensured that many new courses and programs can be listed in the 2020 Fall University Catalog. The Membership Committee has continuously reviewed graduate faculty applications. With the help of GC Academic Programs and Regulations Committee, GC has approved the updated "Graduate Student Academic Grievance" Policy (3364-77-02) on February 25. To help the reviewing activities at the Curriculum and other GC committees, the GCEC has requested all academic colleges to suggest backup or alternative faculty members in time of need.

The Graduate Council looks forward to continuing our partnerships with the College of Graduate Studies, the Provost's office, the Research office, the Graduate Student Association, and UT faculty, staff and students in supporting our graduate and professional programs.

Respectfully, Song-Tao Liu, Ph.D. University of Toledo Graduate Council Chair, 2019-2020

Graduate Research Award Recipients

2019-2020

$\overline{}$	ø
_	÷
	d
	ш
$\overline{}$	
	_
	7
L	u
_	-
	-
п	7
_	~
4	-
	Ξ
	d
	ш

Brenden Tully

Ethel Tackie-Yarboi

Dominique Thomas

Sushil Khanal

Taylor Sasak

Joshua Otten

Gayatri Subramanian

PROGRAM AND COLLEGE

MSBS, Medical Microbiology and Immunology

Medicine and Life Sciences

PhD, Medicinal Chemistry

PHARMACY AND PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES

MSBS, Oral Biology (Dentistry)

MEDICINE AND LIFE SCIENCES

Ph.D Biology, Cell and Molecular Natural Sciences and Mathematics

MS Biology, Ecology and Organismal Biology Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Ph.D Biology, Ecology and Organismal Biology
NATURAL SCIENCES AND MATHEMATICS

MEDICINE AND LIFE SCIENCES PhD Biomedical Science, Medical Microbiology and Immunology Dr. Surabh Chattopadhyay

GRADUATE ADVISOR

Dr. Jason Huntley

Dr. Isaac Shiefer

Dr. Dabiri Darya

Dr. Tomer Avidor-Reiss

Dr. John Bossenbroek

Dr. Jeanine Refsnider