Graduate Council Report to Board of Trustees Academic and Student Affairs Committee June 23, 2021

This report includes the activities of Graduate Council (GC) since our last report on April 14, 2021.

The final meeting of the 2020/2021 Graduate Council was held via WebEx on May 3, 2021 with Dr. Wendy Cochrane presiding.

The Curriculum Committee (GCCC) provided a summary of the course modifications, new course proposals and program modifications; and the Membership Committee provided summary report of graduate faculty appointments for the 2020/2021 Council.

Dr. Mike Dowd, Associate Professor and Co-Chair of Policy Committee provided an update on the revision of the Academic Dishonesty Policy and Dr. Denise Bartell, Associate Vice Provost for Student Success provided an overview of the work of the Teaching Center Task Force.

Immediately following the adjournment of the 2020-2021 Graduate Council, the 2021-2022 Graduate Council was called to order by Chair, Dr. David Giovannucci who welcomed new GC members and new Graduate Student Association officers.

The GC unanimously approved a resolution acknowledging Dr. Cochrane for her service as GC Chair, voted to define Main Campus and Health Science Campus constituencies, and then held elections for Vice Chair (Dr. Wissam Aboualaiwi) and At-large Members of GC Executive Committee for the 2021-2022 Council (Drs. Van Hoy, Kalinoski and Hefzy).

GC was then adjourned until Fall 2021.

Subsequent to the Council meeting, the report and findings from the Reimagining COGS Taskforce was distributed to Council Members for comments, and the final version was forwarded to the President and Provost for review.

The GCEC plans monthly meetings over the summer to set GC 2021-2022 Schedule (dates and meeting modes), review Academic Dishonesty Policy, and schedule meeting for GCEC to meet with the Provost to discuss the Reimagining COGS Taskforce findings and the transition/plans for COGS organization and function.

Respectfully submitted, David Giovannucci, Ph.D., UToledo Graduate Council Chair, 2021-2022