College of Law

Awards & Honors

Law Alumni Affiliate Awards

The College of Law and the Law Alumni Affiliate accept nominations for most Law Alumni Affiliate Awards throughout the year. The Distinguished Alumni Award is selected by the dean of the College of Law; other awards are selected by committee. If you know of a deserving graduate, share their story by nominating that individual. Please send graduate's name and the award for which you are submitting the nomination to For more information, please visit the Law Alumni Affiliate page.

Distinguished Alumni Award

Presented to a College of Law graduate who demonstrates distinction in one's professional life. Selected by the dean of the law school, these alumni are recognized at the University's annual Homecoming Gala. Click on linked names below to see Alumni Association videos of each recipient.

George Wilson
John M. Starcher, Jr.
The Hon. Roderick T. Kennedy
Sharon Speyer
James D. Thomas
Paul Hancock
Julia Bates & Randall Samborn
Justice Judith Lanzinger & Ronald Brown   
Peter Casey III & Michael Walker
Christopher Bussert & Kenneth I. White, Sr.    
Bruce Bailey & Stephen Dane
Stewart Greenleaf & Reginald Routson
Mike Jilek
The Hon. Norm Zemmelman
John Czarnecki
The Hon. Jim Jensen
The Hon. Ron Bowman

Alan Lance
Matt Kolb
The Hon. George Glasser
Dick Antonini
Frank Cubbon
Tony Pizza
The Hon. Charles Doneghy
Dale Fallat
The Hon. Ginny Morgan
The Hon. Francis Restivo
The Hon. Andy Douglas
John Stoepler
The Hon. Nick Walinski
Tom Manahan
Tom Lenga
Dick Heuerman

Distinguished Toledo Lawyer Award

Presented to a lawyer with 15 years of practice in the Toledo area. The individual must be a role model and involved in the community, with a distinguished reputation and professional achievement. The awardee does not need to be a Toledo Law graduate to be eligible.

Stuart F. Cubbon

Emerging Leader Award

Presented to a College of Law graduate who received a law degree within the last 10 years, remains connected with the College of Law, shows leadership in the community, and demonstrates professional integrity. Formally known as the Outstanding New Exemplar (O.N.E) Award.

Nicholas D. Wittenberg
Shawn Nelson
Karl Strauss
Major Michael Renz
Said Orra
Gerald Trepkowski
Mohammed Abdrabboh
Sarah Skow

Henry Herschel Community Commitment Award

Presented to a College of Law graduate who demonstrates commitment to the underserved above and beyond his/her position or job and consistently demonstrates professional integrity.

William J. Bingle
Patricia Kurt
Richard R. Malone
William Meyer
The Hon. Nancy Miller and Michael Mikkonen
Michael DiLauro
Rabbi Alan Sokobin
The Kirbys (Michael Kirby, Scott Schwab & Neil Light—posthumously)
Patricia Intagliata
Henry Herschel
Robert Sterling
Patricia Wise

Outstanding Faculty Award

Presented to a faculty member in honor of excellence in teaching, research, and scholarship as well as service to the College, University, and legal profession.

Geoffrey Rapp
Rebecca Zietlow
William Richman
Robin Kennedy
Benjamin Davis
Douglas Chapman  
Phillip Closius
Daniel Steinbock
Lee Pizzimenti
Beth Eisler
Robert Hopperton
Ronald Raitt
David Harris
James Klein
Steve Ripps
Henry Bourguignon
Susan Martyn
Roger Anderson
Howard Friedman

UToledo Alumni Association Awards

The UToledo Alumni Association has selected College of Law alumni for University alumni awards. Alumni are honored at the University's annual Homecoming Gala.


Awarded to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to his or her field of endeavor and has been of service to the University, community or nation

The Hon. Betty Montgomery (2018)

Blue T Award

Presented to a University of Toledo graduate in recognition of the individual's outstanding service to the UToledo Alumni Association and the University through committee and community involvement.

The Hon. Nancy Miller (2017)

James K. Larson Distinguished Achievement Award

Presented to a Jesup Scott Honors College graduate in recognition of outstanding achievement.

The Hon. Gene Zmuda (2017)

Last Updated: 4/3/20