Department of Sociology and Anthropology

Sociology & Anthropology Menu

/llss/

Resources and Links

Contact Us

Main Campus
University Hall

Room: 2520
Phone: 419.530.2791
Fax: 419.530.8406

webmaster@utoledo.edu

Sociology and Anthropology Faculty

Sociology Faculty

Patricia CasePatricia Case

Ph.D., Wayne State University
Department Chair, Associate Professor of Sociology

Areas of Interest: Social Psychology, Medical Sociology, Sociology of Deviance

Additional Information
E-Mail: Patricia.Case@utoledo.edu
Phone: 419.530.4665

 

Barbara Coventry

Barbara CoventryPh.D., University of Illinois 

Associate Professor of Sociology

Areas of Interest: Sociology of Work; Race, Class and Gender; Social Statistics; Sociology of Sport

Additional Information 

E-Mail: Barbara.Coventry@utoledo.edu
Phone: 419.530.4299

 

Pat Damschroder Pat Damschroder

Secretary I
Sociology & Anthropology

Email: patricia.damschroder@utoledo.edu
Phone: 419.530.2791

Dwight Haasehasse

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison
Associate Professor of Sociology

Areas of Interest: Globalization, Economic Sociology, Quantitative Methods, Sociology Graduate Advisor

Additional Information:
E-Mail: dwight.haase@utoledo.edu
Phone: 419.530.5574

 Monita MungoMonita Mungo

Ph.D., Wayne State University 
Lecturer

Areas of Interest: Education, Teaching and Learning, Racial Inequality, Labor

Email: monita.mungo@utoledo.edu
Office: UH 2600E
Phone: 419.530.4075

 Karie PeraltaKarie Peralta

Ph.D., University of Miami
Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest: Race and Ethnic Relations, Sociology of Education, Social Research Methods, Community Development in the Dominican Republic

Email: karie.peralta@utoledo.edu 
Phone: 419.530.4659

Mark SherryMark Sherry

Ph.D., University of Queensland
Professor of Sociology

Areas of Interest: Identity, Power, Theory, Race, Class, Sexuality, Gender

Additional Information
E-mail: mark.sherry@utoledo.edu
Office: UH 2600E
Phone: 419.530.4076


Jerry Van Hoy

Jerry VanHoy

Ph.D., Northwestern University
Associate Professor of Sociology; Co-Director, Program in Law & Social Thought; Director, Master of Liberal Studies Program

Areas of Interest: Sociology of Law, Crime, Deviance, Social Theory, Qualitative Methods

Master of Liberal Studies ProgramE-mail:  jerry.vanhoy@utoledo.edu 

Office: UH 2640F
Phone: 419.530.2807

UT Law & Social Thought

 

Barbara Chesney - Barb ChesneyEmeritus

Ph. D., University of Michigan
Associate Professor of Sociology

Areas of Interest: Medical Sociology, Social Psychology, Health, Deviance

Additional Information

E-Mail: barbara.chesney@utoledo.edu
Phone: 419.530.4075

Elias Nigem - E. NigemEmeritus

Ph. D., Utah State University
Associate Professor of Sociology, Associate Director of Middle East Studies Institute

Areas of Interest: Demography, Human Ecology, Quantitative Methods, Middle East Population

E-mail: enigem@utnet.utoledo.edu
Phone: 419.530.4662
Fax: 419.530.8406

Anthropology Faculty

Shahna ArpsShana Arps

Ph. D., The Ohio State University
Lecturer, Anthropology Advisor

Areas of Interest: Cultural Anthropology, Biocultural Anthropology, Biological Anthropology, Medical Anthropology, Human Ecology and Adaptability.

Email: shahna.arps@utoledo.edu

Office: UH 2680D
Phone: 419.530.4667

Melissa BaltusMelissa Baltus

Ph. D., University of Illinois
Assistant Professor, Archeologist

Email: melissa.baltus@utoledo.edu

Office: 2680G
Phone: 419.530.4953

Willie L. McKether

Ph.D., Wayne State University
Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Areas of Interest: Urbanization, Business and Organizational Culture, Qualitative Methodology, African-American Migration, Globally Dispersed Work Teams, Labor-Management Relations

Additional Information
E-mail: Willie.McKether@Utoledo.edu
Phone: 419.530.4394

Seamus Metress

Ph.D., Indiana University
Professor of AnthropologySeamus Metress

Areas of Interest: Race and Ethnicity, Medical Anthropology, Conflict in Northern Ireland

Additional Information
Phone: 419.530.4652
Email: seamus.metress@utoledo.edu                        
Office: UH 2580

Angela Siner

M.A., History, University of Louisiana at Lafayette; Ph.D. Candidate, University of Toledo
Instructor of Anthropology, Sociology and Anthropology Undergraduate Advisor

Areas of Interest: African American Culture, Women's Studies

E-mail:  angela.siner@utoledo.edu
Phone: 419.530.4660

Thomas ZychThomas Zych

M.S., University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee 
Lecturer, Archaeologist

Areas of Interest: Prehistoric Archaeology of the Great Lakes/Midwest, Culture Contact, Agency and Power, Geographic Information Systems, Spatial Analysis, Computer-aided Cartography, Ceramic Analysis, Cultural Resource Management.  

Office: UH 2680C
Email: thomas.zych@utoledo.edu
Phone: 419.530.4395

 

 

/
Last Updated: 6/9/16