## COLLEGE OF MEDICINE COUNCIL MEETING SEPTEMBER 14, 2009 4:00 pm

Present: Jeffrey Gold, M.D., Kris Brickman, M.D., Lawrence Elmer, M.D., April Gardner, M.S.B.S., William Gunning, M.D., Jennifer Hill, Ph.D., Bina Joe, Ph.D., Nauman Khurshid, M.D., Joseph Margiotta, M.D., Sheryl Milz, Ph.D., Deepa Mukundan, M.D., Isabel Novella, Ph.D., Marlene Porter, M.L.S., Elizabeth Tietz, Ph.D., Jodi Tinkel, M.D., John Wall, M.D., David Weldy, M.D., James Willey, M.D., Kandace Williams, M.D., Kristi Williams, M.D., R. Mark Wooten, M.D., Wafaa Hanna, M.B.A.

Excused: Michael Dennis, M.D., Youngsock Yoon, M.D, David Pearson, Ph.D.

\_\_\_\_\_\_

Dr. Brickman gave a brief overview of the goals and objectives of the College of Medicine's Council, and stated that the initial meeting is primarily to nominate candidates for the various officers serving on the Executive Committee, which includes the President, Past President, Vice President/President Elect, and Secretary/Treasurer. The roles and responsibilities of each of the respective officers were outlined and nominees were presented starting with the president. The entire faculty body of the College of Medicine is eligible to be nominated for these positions. Bina Joe, Ph.D., was nominated and accepted nomination for the office of president. Additional nominees were Bill Maltese, Ph.D., who was not present and will be contacted to see if he would accept the nomination. If he accepts the nomination, an e-mail ballot will be sent by Wafaa Hanna to all College of Medicine faculty members for a faculty vote. If Dr. Maltese declines the nomination, then Bina Joe will become President by acclamation.

For the Office of Vice President/President Elect, Drs. James Willey, John Greenfield and Robert Mrak were nominated. Dr. Willey was present and accepted the nomination. Wafaa Hanna will contact Drs. Greenfield and Mrak to see if they would accept the nomination. As mentioned above, a faculty vote will be required if more than one candidate is interested in the position. Results will be tabulated and faculty will be notified within one week.

For the office of Secretary/Treasurer, Marlene Porter was nominated. There were no other nominations for this office, and therefore, Marlene Porter is elected to the Office of Secretary/Treasurer by acclamation.

Dr. William Gunning requested Dr. Kris Brickman to serve as the immediate Past President to complete the list of officers serving on the Executive Committee. This request was seconded and approved by the College of Medicine Council voting members.

The Executive Committee of the College of Medicine Council will consist of the President, Vice President/President Elect, Secretary/Treasurer, Past President, and the chairs of the other standing committees. Upon completion of the election process, the Executive Committee will have a follow-up meeting to address the population of the various committees of the College of Medicine Council.

The remainder of the meeting was spent outlining the additional committees of the College of Medicine Council and the representatives needed to serve on these committees. Essentially, for most of the committees' representation, a minimum of two faculty members from the College of Medicine in clinical specialties and two from the basic sciences.

The next College of Medicine Council meeting will be off cycle with the next quarterly meeting to be in December. There will be a follow-up meeting to initiate a business agenda within the next 30 to 60 days after the Executive Committee has been assembled.

Dr. Gold gave a brief presentation outlining the roles and responsibilities of Administration and the interaction between the Council and Administration on future goals and objectives. A future invitation will be extended to all College of Medicine faculty members to attend a reception where they can meet newly hired faculty members, and get to share news about the newly formed College of Medicine Council.