## College of Medicine and Life Sciences Council Meeting Draft Minutes Place: HEB 105

Date: Tuesday, June 17<sup>th</sup>, 2014 at 5:00 p.m.

Council Members and Other Faculty Present: David Giovannucci (Grad Council Rep), Marthe Howard (research council rep), Kandace Williams, Marlene Porter, David Weldy, Joseph Margiotta, Beata Lecka-Czernik, Deepak Mukundan, Sheryl Milz, Jennifer Hill, Donna Woodson (Public Health and Preventative Med.), Carol Hasbrouck (Interprofessional Ed.), Dinkar Kaw (Medicine)

## **Council Members Absent:**

Jacob Bieszczad, Gregory Filatoff, Joseph Ryno, Alexei Fedorov, Srini Hejeebu, Deepak Malhotra, Jodi Tinkel, James Willey, John Wall, John Geisler, Mustafa Khan, Kenneth Muldrew (excused), April Gardner (excused), Edwin Sanchez, Guillermo Vazquez, Alina Rais, Krishna Reddy (excused), Reginald Baugh (excused), Thomas A. Schwann (excused), Munier Nazzal, Isabel Novella (excused), Jason Huntley (excused), Youngsook Yoon-Krawczyk (excused), Lawrence Elmer, Jennifer Smirnoff-Poling, Jacob Bieszczad, Ajay Singla (excused)

Note that while attendance of representatives is recorded for voting purposes, these meetings are intended as a forum for all COM faculty.

Agenda Item	Discussion	Action
Call to Order		By Council President Porter at 5:06 p.m.
Minutes		April minutes were approved
COM Council Election Results	Secretary Hill announced that Dr. Kandace Williams was elected the incoming COM Council Vice-President and Dr. Tammy Morish was elected the incoming COM Council Secretary. Their terms begin July 1.	
Report on Progress of Faculty Workload Committee	<ul> <li>Secretary Hill (chair of the Faculty Workload Committee) relayed that the committee had met twice with Mr. Pyles in addition to subcommittee meetings</li> <li>There are three subcommittees:         <ul> <li>for research metrics: Jennifer Hill and Viviana Ferreira</li> <li>for education metrics: Sheryl Milz and Walter Edinger</li> <li>for clinical metrics: Christian Wuescher, Joseph Lach, Charles Fahncke, and Abdullah Sayegh</li> </ul> </li> <li>The committee plans to have a proposal to present at the August COM Council meeting</li> </ul>	Dr. Cutri will be invited in September to discuss the simplified faculty workload form provided to the University President upon request

## College of Medicine and Life Sciences Council Meeting Draft Minutes Place: HEB 105

Date: Tuesday, June 17<sup>th</sup>, 2014 at 5:00 p.m.

	and to open the proposal for public comment at that point  The committee welcomes volunteers to give feedback on earlier drafts  Hill relayed the committees concerns about need for additional guidance on purpose of metrics; Dean McGinnis said wanted a "measure of productivity"; when questioned by faculty he stated the faculty should define meaning of productivity  Hill raised issue of how detailed the metric should be as an example of the complexities of the process; the committee will begin by trying to be comprehensive and then eliminate items that are too detailed  The committee will also work on understanding the simplified metric that can be accessed by the University President
Address by Dr. Pamela Boyers on the Simulation Center	<ul> <li>Center is used for experiential education, interprofessional health care team training, hospital safety training and evaluation, measuring competency development, and business development</li> <li>Usage statistics can be found here:         <a href="http://www.utoledo.edu/centers/iisc/pdf/iiscusefy123212.pdf">http://www.utoledo.edu/centers/iisc/pdf/iiscusefy123212.pdf</a></li> <li>"Mission-compatible" industry partners; contracts are evaluated from a legal and ethical standpoint</li> <li>Dr. Giovannucci described his use of the facility for salivary measures of fatigue after subject perform in simulations</li> </ul>

## College of Medicine and Life Sciences Council Meeting Draft Minutes Place: HEB 105

Date: Tuesday, June 17<sup>th</sup>, 2014 at 5:00 p.m.

Agenda Item	Discussion	Action
Update by Dean McGinnis and Q&A	<ul> <li>The candidates for Dean of the College of Medicine are Dr. Bonita Stanton (Wayne State), Dr. Steven L. Kanter (U. Pittsburg), and Dr. Christopher J. Cooper (U. Toledo). (Dr. Clay Marsh from OSU asked to put his candidacy on hold.) They will meet with the board and may be brought back for an additional visit.</li> <li>Witt Kieffer is undertaking the national search for a new UT President. The internal search committee has not yet been identified; it will involve both campuses and the community</li> <li>Provost Scarborough is leaving June 30<sup>th</sup>, so he is hopeful an interim replacement will be appointed soon</li> <li>Confirmed the 2% salary increase on past Monday for non-bargaining employees</li> <li>The carry-forwards of departmental funds from 2010 to 2013 will be restored. This amounts to a total of 800K. However, this amount will be divided among departments at the discretion of the administration.</li> <li>Mr. Morlock will need to clarify whether individual departments can retain their carry-forwards in the future.</li> </ul>	
Adjourn		<ul> <li>By Council President Porter 6:04</li> <li>Next meeting of COM Council will be Tuesday, August, 26, 2014 5:00 p.m 6:00 p.m. HEB 105</li> </ul>
Minutes Submitted	By outgoing secretary, Jennifer Hill, on July 10 <sup>th</sup> , 2 <sup>th</sup>	014.