#### "Approved Minutes"

College of Medicine Faculty Council Meeting Friday August 16, 2019 12 noon - 1 pm DH 2315

1. Call to Order by CoMLS President Stan Stepkowski at 12:06PM.

<u>Faculty Present:</u> Saurabh Chattopadhay, Christopher Cooper, Lori Deshetler, Joan Duggan, Alexei Fedorov, Patrick William Frank, Jennifer Hill, Jason Huntley, Punit Kaur, David Kennedy, Sadik Khuder, Beata Lecka-Czernik, Stephanie Mann, Adel Muklad, Joseph Ocasio, Jorge Ortiz, Kebin Pan, Vithal Shenge, Puneet Sindhwani, Travis Taylor, Robert Trumley, Kandace Williams

- 2. **A motion for the approval of minutes** from previous COM Council meeting (June 21, 2019) was approved.
- 3. **Dean's Report:** Christopher Cooper, MD., Dean presented video from the White Coat Ceremony: <a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X3TdfAN9IYQ">https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X3TdfAN9IYQ</a>
  Please see attached slide.
- 4. **Graduate Council Report:** Martha Sexton, Ph.D., Dean of Nursing College, also serves as our representative on the Executive Council. We need to increase Graduate faculty status to increase our number of elected members on Graduate Council. Please contact Kandace Williams, Ph.D. for information on Graduate faculty status.
- 5. **New Chair Introduction:** Kevin Pan, M.D., Ph.D., Professor and Chair Department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology provided updates of his department. Please see attached slide.
- 6. Report of the Standing Committees of the Council:
  - a. Office of Faculty Affairs and Development update: Joan Duggan, MD discussed upcoming women mentoring programs.
- 7. **Report on Mentoring Program** was presented by Prof. Stanislaw Stepkowski, Ph.D. discussed the importance of mentoring program for the medical school. The discussion also included the plan of mentoring team that will provide recommendations for the mentoring program.
- 8. The meeting was adjourned at 1:07PM



# College of Medicine and Life Sciences Faculty Council June 21, 2019

#### **Agenda**

- Call to Order
- Approval of Minutes from previous COM Council meeting (April 19, 2019)
- Dean's Report: Christopher Cooper, MD: Postponed until Aug. 16 meeting
- New COMLS Faculty Council members introduction
- New Chair Introduction: Dr. James Van Hook (Chair Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology)
- Report of the Standing Committees of the Council
  - Office of Faculty Affairs and Development update: Joan Duggan, MD/ Wafaa Hanna, MBA
- Report of the Executive Committee: Shobha Ratnam, MD, PhD
- Research Council Report: New Business?
- Graduate Council Report: Steven Haller, PhD/Saurabh Chattopadhyay, PhD
- Clinical Affairs Committee Report: Shobha Ratnam, MD, PhD: No new business to report
- Faculty Senate Report: David Giovannucci, PhD: No new business to report
- Old Business:
  - Update on Faculty Compensation Plan: Bryan Pyles and Nikki Russell: No new business to report
  - Update on New Medical School Curriculum: Shirley Bodi, MD: No new business to report
- New Business: LCME accreditation update; Dr. Lori Deshetler
- Adjourn

# COMLS FACULTY COUNCIL EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE FOR 2019/2020

<u>President</u>

Stanislaw Stepkowski, Ph.D. (MMI)

Vice President

Nicholas Horen, M.D. (Medicine)

Secretary/Treasurer

Punit Kaur, Ph.D. (Medicine)

Past-President

Shobha Ratnam, M.D. (Medicine)

**Director of Faculty Affairs** 

**Wafaa Hanna** 

**Faculty Affairs Committee Co-Chairs** 

Jorge Ortiz, M.D. (Surgery)

Kathryn Eisenmann, Ph.D. (Cancer Biology)

**Academic Affairs Committee Co-Chairs** 

Joan Duggan, M.D. (Medicine)

Joseph Margiotta, Ph.D. (Neuroscience)

#### **Chair Introduction**

Dr. James Van Hook: *Professor & Rita T. Sheely Endowed Chair in Obstetrics and Gynecology* 

http://www.utoledo.edu/med/depts/obgyn/faculty.html

### Report of the Standing Committees of the Council

Office of Faculty Affairs and Development update: Joan Duggan, MD/ Wafaa Hanna, MBA

## Report of the Executive Committee

Shobha Ratnam, MD, PhD

The Executive Committee met June 12, 2019 and the following was discussed:

- New COMLS Faculty Council member introductions
- Update COMLS Faculty Council Representatives: We are soliciting nominations:
   This need to be updated for LCME accreditation
- Provide regular updates on LCME accreditation
- New Department Chairs will be invited to present at upcoming council meetings
- Promote increasing Graduate Faculty status to increase our number of elected members on Graduate Council
- Future COMLS Council meeting dates are August 16, 2019 from 12pm-1pm in DH 2315

#### **Graduate Council Report**

- Graduate Council elected to have the College of Health and Human Services be a part of the Health Science Campus
- Wendy Cochran, Ph.D., (College of Health and Human Services, main campus faculty) was elected as our Executive Committee representative
- We currently have four voting members of Grad Council out of 28 total voting members
  - Saurabh Chattopadhyay, Ph.D.
  - Jennifer Hipp, M.D., Ph.D.
  - Nagalakshmi Nadiminty, Ph.D.
  - James Willey, M.D.
- We need to <u>increase Graduate Faculty status</u> to increase our number of elected members on Graduate Council
- Contact Kandace Williams, Ph.D. for Graduate Faculty status Kandace.Williams@utoledo.edu

#### **LCME Accreditation Timeline**

