Minutes UToledo Health Board Meeting August 25, 2023 Webex 1:00 p.m.

The second meeting of The University of Toledo Health Board was held on Friday, August 25, 2023, virtually, via WebEx. Chair Gregory C. Postel called the meeting to order at 1:03 p.m. Secretary to the Board, Ms. Katie DeBenedictis, recorded the minutes.

The following Board members were in attendance: Eleanore Awadalla Chris Cooper Pam Heaton Zac Isaac Greg Postel Matt Schroeder

The following Board of Trustees members were absent: Brent Bishop Patrick Kenney

A quorum of the Board was constituted.

The following individuals were also in attendance: Meghan Cunningham, Vice President for Marketing and Communications Katie DeBenedictis, Secretary to the Board of Trustees Michael Ellis, UTMC CMO Charles Jake, VP for Legal Affairs and General Counsel Asif Mahmood, Chief of Staff, Medical Executive Committee La Tasha Sullivan, Director of the Counseling Center Danae Hamouda, Associate Professor, College of Medicine and Life Sciences Rebecca Ramirez, Chief Physician Executive

Dr. Postel requested a motion to enter executive session to discuss privileged information related to the evaluation of medical staff personnel appointments, quality reporting and peer. Mr. Isaac made the motion and it was seconded by Dr. Awadalla. A roll call vote was conducted: Postel, yes; Awadalla, yes; Cooper, yes; Heaton, yes; Isaac, yes; and Schroeder, yes. Following discussion, the group exited the executive session with no action taken.

Dr. Postel requested a motion to approve the Chief of Staff Report as presented in the Executive Session. A motion for approval of the report was received from Dr. Awadalla and seconded by Mr. Schroeder. The chief of staff report follows the minutes.

With no additional business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 1:10 p.m.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

CALL TO

ORDER

CHIEF OF STAFF REPORT

ADJOURNMENT

Chief of Staff Summary: August 24, 2023

Initial Appointments - Physicians/Dentists/Clinical Psychologists				
Ahmed S. Abbas, MD	Radiology			
Aya Abugharbyeh, MD	Medicine/Rheumatology			
Sherlyana Surja, MD	Medicine/Allergy and Immunology			
Initial Appointments - Advanced Practice Providers/Allied Health Professionals (APPs/AHPs)				
Megan Kaun, PharmD	Medicine			
Alisa Lopez, CNP	Medicine/Hospice/Palliative Care			
Maddison Metcalf, PA-C	Medicine/Oncology			
Гопуа Hoyt, CNP	Medicine/Internal Medicine			
Reappointments - Physicians/Dentists/Clinical Psychologists				
Alanzi, Jaber, MD	Urology			
Avram, Raluca, MD	Radiology/			
	Diagnostic Radiology			
Dillon, Debra M., DO	Radiology			
Parenteau, Gary L., MD	Surgery/			
	Cardiothoracic Surgery			
Ravin, James G., MD	Surgery/Ophthalmology			
Saour, Bashar B., MD	Neurology			
Schroeder, Jason L., MD	Surgery/			
	Neurological Surgery			
Welch, Marlene C., MD	Surgery/Plastic Surgery			
Zubair, Rabia, MD	Neurology			
leffery Stephens, MD	Surgery/ Ophthalmology			
Abdelkader A. Hawasli, MD	Surgery/General Surgery			
Edward Sutherland, MD	Radiology			
Faheem Ahmad, MD	Radiation Oncolocy			
Reappointments - APPs/AHPs				
Amick, Latina R., CNP	Cardiothoracic Surgery			
Burlen-Davis, Katie I., CNP, DNP	Hospice and Palliative Care			
McCray, Andrew M., CAA	Anesthesiology			
Ovitt, Allison M., CNP, MSN	Neurosurgery			
Additional Privilege Request– Physicians/Dentists/Clinical Psychologists/APP/AHP				
Alexander Escobar, MD	Pain Management			
	Approve additional privileges for SI Fusion with FPPE.			

Chief of Staff Summary: August 24, 2023

Zaid Noori, MD	Medicine/Pu,monary Medicine
	Moderate Sedation – Non Anesthesiologist, Fluoroscopy, & Endobronchial Ultrasound Fine needle Aspiration

Withdrawal of Privileges – Physicians/Dentists/Clinical Psychologists/APPs/AHPs-N/A		
Change in Department/Categroy – Physicians/Dentists/Clinical Psychologists/APP/AHP-N/A		
Gonzalo Carrizo,MD	Courtesy to Active Staff	
Roland Skeel, MD	Active to Honorary	
Removal from FPPE – Physicians/Dentists/Clinical Psychologists		
Shirley Bodi, MD	Family Medicine	
Adam Heilala, MD	Radiology	
Johnathon Yobbagy, MD	Radiology	
David Cervantes, MD	Radiology	
Tarek Moustafa, MD	Radiology	
Luke Bioski, MD	Emergency Medicine	
Siddarth Kunte, MD	Hematology	
Extension of FPPE –		
Physicians/Dentists/Clinical		
Psychologists N/A		
Robin Shermis, MD	Radiology	
Mohamed Osman, MD	Vascular Surgery	
Ellen Hagopian, MD	General Surgery	

Removal of FPPE – APPs/AHPs		
Internal Medicine		
Extension of FPPE – APPs/AHPs		
General Surgery		
Physicians/Dentists/Clinical Psychologists Resignations		
Radiology		
Medicine/Gastroenterology, Hospital Medicine		
Medicine/AllergyImmunology		
Anesthesiology		
Neurology		
Medicine/Hospital Medicine		
Surgery/General Surgery		
Anesthesiology		
	General Surgery logists Resignations Radiology Medicine/Gastroenterology, Hospital Medicine Medicine/AllergyImmunology Anesthesiology Neurology Medicine/Hospital Medicine Surgery/General Surgery	

These documents are used by and/or prepared for use by a peer review committee, within the scope and functions of a peer review committee, for purposes of reviewing professional qualifications and/or activities of health care providers, pursuant to Ohio Revised Code 2305.24, 2305.25, 2305.252 and 2305.253, and are privileged and confidential. Documents are not to be copied or distributed to unauthorized individuals

APPs/AHPs Resignation
N/A
Proposed Revisions to Delineation of Privileges
N/A
Other Approvals
Policies
1. 3364-100-70-04 Drug Utilization Policies
2. 3364-100-70-09 Drug Food Interaction
3. 3364-100-70-15 Medication Reconciliation
4. 3364-100-70-16 Antimicrobial Stewardship
5. 3364-100-70-12 Medication Management Responsibility
6. 3364-87-04 Mandatory ICU Consultation
7. 3364-87-05 Privileges for New Procedures
8. 3364-87-07 Dissemination of Information Regarding Granting, Modification, or Restriction of Clinical Privileges
9. 3364-87-08 Laboratory Utilization Review Committee
10. 3364-87-09 Cancer Committee
11. 3364-87-10 Professionalism and Prohibited Disruptive Behavior Regarding Members of the Medical Staff
12. 3364-87-13 Infection Control Committee
13. 3364-87-14 Institutional Ethics Committee
14. 3364-87-16 Impaired Licensed Independent Practitioners
15. 3364-87-17 Health Information Management Committee
16. 3364-87-21 Acutely Impaired Practitioner
17. 3364-87-22 Procedural Case Review Committee
18. 3364-87-26 Resident Supervision
19. 3364-87-29 Tissue and Hardware Removed During Surgery
20. 3364-87-30 Review of Pathology Slides from Outside Facilities
21. 3364-87-32 Medicare-Required Physician Acknowledgement Statement
22. 3364-87-38 Focused Professional Practice Evaluation Policy- minor revision.
23. 3364-87-42 Documentation Standards
24. 3364-100-01-20 Management of UTMC Inpatients Requiring Radiation Therapy at Dana Cancer Ctr
25. 3364-100-01-12 EMS Bypass

These documents are used by and/or prepared for use by a peer review committee, within the scope and functions of a peer review committee, for purposes of reviewing professional qualifications and/or activities of health care providers, pursuant to Ohio Revised Code 2305.24, 2305.25, 2305.252 and 2305.253, and are privileged and confidential. Documents are not to be copied or distributed to unauthorized individuals