Minutes

UToledo Health Board Meeting July 19, 2023 Webex/Mulford Library 2:00 p.m.

The inaugural meeting of The University of Toledo Health Board was held on Wednesday, July 19, 2023, in the Mulford Library Board Room on the Health Science Campus and virtually, via WebEx. Chair Gregory C. Postel called the meeting to order at 2:05 p.m. Secretary to the Board, Ms. Katie DeBenedictis, recorded the minutes.

The following Board members were in attendance:

Eleanore Awadalla (in-person)

G. Brent Bishop (virtually)

Chris Cooper (in-person)

Pamela Heaton (virtually)

Patrick Kenney (virtually)

Gregory Postel (in-person)

Matt Schroeder (in-person)

The following Board of Trustees members were absent:

Zac Isaac

A quorum of the Board was constituted.

The following individuals were also in attendance:

Kris Brickman, Interim Chief Physician Executive

Meghan Cunningham, Vice President for Marketing and Communications

Dilip Das, Vice President for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Katie DeBenedictis, Secretary to the Board of Trustees

Michael Ellis, UTMC CMO

Troy Holmes, CFO, UTMC

John Huber, Chief Administrative and Financial Officer, UTP

Doug Huffner, AVP of Risk Management

Charles Jake, VP for Legal Affairs and General Counsel

Kurt Kless, Chief Nursing Officer

Tyrel Linkhorn, Communications Specialist

Asif Mahmood, Chief of Staff, Medical Executive Committee

Mark Merrick, Dean, College of Health and Human Services

Stefanie Schoviak, Associate General Counsel

Christine Stesney-Ridenour, UTMC COO

Rick Swaine, UTMC CEO

David Theby, Dir. Of Development for Health Sciences

Tom Wakefield, National Trustee

Mindy Ward, Controller, UTP

CALL TO ORDER

ATTENDANCE

Dr. Postel opened the meeting by introducing the members of the board and thanking all of those who worked to form UToledo Health. The UToledo Health board will serve as the clinical affairs committee moving forward. As chair, Dr. Postel will provide a report at future board meetings on activities taking place at UToledo Health Board meetings.

Dr. Postel led the discussion about the creation of committees for the UToledo Health Board. Once committees are identified, Dr. Postel said he would work to populate the committees and create a schedule for meetings. The group decided to create the following committees:

- Finance, Audit and Compliance Committee
- Privileging & Credentialing/Safety & Quality Committee
- Physician Compensation Committee
- Executive and Nominating Committee

John Huber presented the UTP financial report. Troy Holmes presented the UTMC financial report.

Dr. Postel presented two faculty members for consideration of filling the department chair/faculty seats on the UToledo Health Board. The candidates are Dr. Stephanie Pannell and Dr. Danae Hamouda. The group discussed both candidates' qualifications and agreed their contributions as members of the board would be significant. Dr. Postel requested a motion to approve Stephanie Pannell and Danae Hamouda as faculty appointments on the UToledo Health Board and forward to the consent agenda at the next Board of Trustees Meeting. Dr. Cooper made the motion and it was seconded by Dr. Awadalla. Due to members of the board attending both in-person and virtually, a roll call vote was taken: Postel, yes; Awadalla, yes; Bishop, yes; Cooper, yes; Heaton, yes; Kenney, yes; and Schroeder, yes.

Dr. Postel requested a motion to enter executive session to discuss privileged information related to the evaluation of medical staff personnel appointments, quality reporting and peer review and to discuss trade secrets under the Ohio uniform trade secret act. Dr. Awadalla made the motion and it was seconded by Dr. Cooper. A roll call vote was conducted: Postel, yes; Awadalla, yes; Bishop, yes; Cooper, yes; Heaton, yes; Kenney, yes; and Schroeder, yes.

Following discussion, the group exited the executive session with no action taken.

Dr. Postel requested a motion to approve the Chief of Staff Report as presented in the Executive Session. A motion for approval of the report was received from Mr. Schroeder, seconded by Mr. Kenney, and due to trustees attending both in-person and virtually, a roll call vote was conducted: Postel, yes; Awadalla, yes; Bishop, yes; Cooper, yes; Heaton, yes; Kenney, yes; and Schroeder, yes. The chief of staff report follows the minutes.

With no additional business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 4:18 p.m.

OPENING REMARKS

COMMITTEES

FINANICAL REPORTS

BOARD APPOINTMENTS

EXECUTIVE SESSION

CHIEF OF STAFF REPORT

ADJOURNMENT