Department of Psychology

Our Department

/al/psychology/

Contact Us

Main Campus

Mail Stop #948 
2801 West Bancroft Street
University of Toledo
Toledo, Ohio 43606-3390
Phone: 419.530.2717
Fax: 419.530.8479

Meet Our Faculty

Faculty Member

Research/Training Interests

Wesley A. Bullock
Associate Professor
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1420
Phone: 419-530-2719
wesley.bullock@utoledo.edu

Recovery processes; Serious and persistent mental illness; Program evaluation

 

Mike Caruso
Associate Professor
Area: General
Office: UH 5020B
Phone: 419-530-2896
michael.caruso@utoledo.edu

 

Teaching and technology; Memory; Aging

Stephen Christman
Professor
Area: Experimental - Cognitive
Office: UH 5018C
Phone: 419-530-4684
stephen.christman@utoledo.edu

Autobiographical memory; Body image; Decision making; Attitudes and persuasion; Risk perception; Cognitive flexibility and metacognition

 

Jon Elhai
Professor
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1370
Phone: 419-530-2829
Email Dr. Elhai
Lab Website

-Assessment, mechanisms and treatment of posttraumatic stress disorder

-The impact of computer technology on human behavior, and cyberpsychology

 

Sarah Francis
Associate Professor & Director of Clinical Training
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1430
Phone: 419-530-2771
sarah.francis@utoledo.edu

 

Child anxiety; Parental influences on child anxiety; Child anxiety sensitivity; Prevention of childhood anxiety

Andrew Geers
Professor
Area: Experimental - Social
Office: UH 6524
Phone: 419-530-8530
andrew.geers@utoledo.edu

Goals and expectations; Formation of affect and emotion; Placebo effects; Initiation and maintenance of health beliefs and behavior; Decision making

 

Kim L. Gratz
Professor & Department Chair
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5020A
Phone: 419-530-2722
kim.gratz@utoledo.edu
Lab Website

Emotion regulation in borderline personality disorder, self-injury, and other risky behaviors; Examining the efficacy and underlying mechanisms of an acceptance-based, emotion regulation group therapy for self-injury; Translational research; Treatment development and dissemination

Henry Heffner
Professor
Area: Experimental - Psychobiology & Learning
Office: UH 5002
Phone: 419-530-2257
henry.heffner@utoledo.edu

 

Role of auditory cortex; Comparative mammalian hearing; Tinnitus; Ethics of animal research

Rickye Heffner
Professor & Associate Chair
Area: Experimental - Psychobiology & Learning
Office: UH 5008
Phone: 419-530-2710
rickye.heffner@utoledo.edu

Comparative hearing; Evolution of hearing in mammals; Evolution of sound localization and its relation to vision and the auditory brainstem

 

J.D. Jasper
Professor
Area: Experimental - Cognitive
Office: UH 5014A
Phone: 419-530-4130
jjasper@utnet.utoledo.edu

Judgment and decision making; Computerized process tracing techniques; Risk perception; Attitude and belief formation; Information integration; Individual differences; Health; Consumer behavior

 

Jason Levine
Assistant Professor & Clinic Director
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1330
Phone: 419-530-2761
jason.levine2@utoledo.edu

 

Generalized anxiety disorder, Cardiovascular psychophysiology, Health psychology, Diabetes mellitus, Therapy process and outcome

Kamala London Newton
Associate Professor
Area: Experimental - Developmental
Office: UH 1880B
Phone: 419-530-2352
kamala.london@utoledo.edu

forensic developmental psychology; Autobiographical memory and suggestibility in children; Disclosure of child maltreatment; Statistics

 

Gregory Meyer
Professor
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1065
Phone: 419-530-4312
gregory.meyer@utoledo.edu

 

Personality assessment; Test validation; Neuropsychological processes; Interpersonal perception; Clinical symptomatology; Meta-analysis

Peter Mezo
Assistant Professor
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1880A
Phone: 419-530-4399
peter.mezo@utoledo.edu

 

Self-management and related models of self-regulation and coping; Factors associated with stress and depression among adults; Principles of evidence-based supervision, assessment, and treatment

Joni Mihura
Associate Professor
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1067
Phone: 419-530-2716
joni.mihura@utoledo.edu

 

Personality assessment; Rorschach validity and utility; Doctoral training

Jason Rose
Associate Professor
Area: Experimental - Social
Office: UH 6516
Phone: 419-530-2278
jason.rose4@utoledo.edu

 

Social comparison and comparative judgment; Perceived vulnerability/risk; Norm perception and influence; Optimism; Culture and self; Individual differences in judgment and decision-making

Mojisola Tiamiyu
Associate Professor
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1063
Phone: 419-530-2853
mojisola.tiamiyu@utoledo.edu

Community Psychology; Positive psychological changes (e.g., posttraumatic growth --PTG); Positive psychological interventions(PPIs; e.g. gratitude lists); Mentoring programs; Media/social media and well-being/psychopathology; Women and gender issues in Africa and the African Diaspora

 

Matthew T. Tull
Professor
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1064
Phone: 419-530-4392
matthew.tull@utoledo.edu
Lab Website

Emotion regulation in the anxiety disorders and PTSD; PTSD and substance use disorders; PTSD and risk-taking; Development of brief treatments for high-risk populations (e.g., medical populations, patients with substance use disorders); Experimental psychopathology
Last Updated: 2/12/17