Department of Psychology

Our Department

/al/psychology/

Contact Us

Main Campus

Mail Stop #948 
2801 West Bancroft Street
University of Toledo
Toledo, Ohio 43606-3390
Phone: 419.530.2717
Fax: 419.530.8479

Faculty Member

Research/Training Interests

Chair

Kim L. Gratz
Professor & Department Chair
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5020A
Phone: 419-530-2722
kim.gratz@utoledo.edu
Lab Website

  • Emotion regulation in borderline personality disorder, self-injury, and other risky behaviors
  • Examining the efficacy and underlying mechanisms of an acceptance-based, emotion regulation group therapy for self-injury
  • Translational research
  • Treatment development and dissemination

Associate Chair AND Undergraduate Coordinator

Kamala London Newton
Professor, Associate Chair, & Undergraduate Coordinator
Area: Experimental - Developmental
Office: UH 1880B
Phone: 419-530-2352
kamala.london@utoledo.edu

  • Forensic developmental psychology
  • Autobiographical memory and suggestibility in children
  • Disclosure of child maltreatment
  • Statistics 

Director of Clinical Training

Sarah Francis
Associate Professor & Director of Clinical Training
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1430
Phone: 419-530-2771
sarah.francis@utoledo.edu

  • Child anxiety
  • Parental influences on child anxiety
  • Child anxiety sensitivity
  • Prevention of childhood anxiety

Experimental Coordinator

Jason Rose
Associate Professor
Area: Experimental - Social
Office: UH 6516
Phone: 419-530-2278
jason.rose4@utoledo.edu

  • Social comparison and comparative judgment
  • Perceived vulnerability/risk
  • Norm perception and influence
  • Optimism
  • Culture and self
  • Individual differences in judgment and decision-making

Faculty

Wesley A. Bullock
Associate Professor
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1420
Phone: 419-530-2719
wesley.bullock@utoledo.edu

  • Recovery processes
  • Serious and persistent mental illness
  • Program evaluation

Mike Caruso
Associate Professor
Area: General
Office: UH 5020B
Phone: 419-530-2896
michael.caruso@utoledo.edu

  • Teaching and technology
  • Memory
  • Aging

Stephen Christman
Professor
Area: Experimental - Cognitive
Office: UH 5018C
Phone: 419-530-4684
stephen.christman@utoledo.edu

  • Autobiographical memory
  • Body image
  • Decision making
  • Attitudes and persuasion
  • Risk perception
  • Cognitive flexibility and metacognition 

Jon Elhai
Professor
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1370
Phone: 419-530-2829
Email Dr. Elhai
Lab Website

  • Assessment, mechanisms and treatment of posttraumatic stress disorder
  • The impact of computer technology on human behavior, and cyberpsychology

Andrew Geers
Professor
Area: Experimental - Social
Office: UH 6524
Phone: 419-530-8530
andrew.geers@utoledo.edu

  • Goals and expectations
  • Formation of affect and emotion
  • Placebo effects
  • Initiation and maintenance of health beliefs and behavior
  • Decision-making 

Henry Heffner
Professor
Area: Experimental - Psychobiology & Learning
Office: UH 5002
Phone: 419-530-2257
henry.heffner@utoledo.edu

  • Role of auditory cortex
  • Comparative mammalian hearing
  • Tinnitus
  • Ethics of animal research

Rickye Heffner
Professor
Area: Experimental - Psychobiology & Learning
Office: UH 5008
Phone: 419-530-2710
rickye.heffner@utoledo.edu

  • Comparative hearing
  • Evolution of hearing in mammals
  • Evolution of sound localization and its relation to vision and the auditory brainstem 

J.D. Jasper
Professor
Area: Experimental - Cognitive
Office: UH 5014A
Phone: 419-530-4130
jjasper@utnet.utoledo.edu

  • Judgment and decision making
  • Computerized process tracing techniques
  • Risk perception
  • Attitude and belief formation
  • Information integration
  • Individual differences
  • Health
  • Consumer behavior 

Jason Levine
Associate Professor & Clinic Director
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5280A
Phone: 419-530-2761
jason.levine2@utoledo.edu

  • Generalized anxiety disorder
  • Cardiovascular psychophysiology
  • Health psychology
  • Diabetes mellitus
  • Therapy process and outcome

Gregory Meyer
Professor
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1065
Phone: 419-530-4312
gregory.meyer@utoledo.edu

  • Personality assessment
  • Test validation
  • Neuropsychological processes
  • Interpersonal perception
  • Clinical symptomatology
  • Meta-analysis

Peter Mezo
Assistant Professor
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1880A
Phone: 419-530-4399
peter.mezo@utoledo.edu

  • Self-management and related models of self-regulation and coping
  • Factors associated with stress and depression among adults
  • Principles of evidence-based supervision, assessment, and treatment

Joni Mihura
Professor
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1067
Phone: 419-530-2716
joni.mihura@utoledo.edu

  • Personality assessment
  • Rorschach validity and utility
  • Doctoral training

Mojisola Tiamiyu
Associate Professor
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1063
Phone: 419-530-2853
mojisola.tiamiyu@utoledo.edu

  • Community psychology
  • Positive psychological changes (e.g., posttraumatic growth)
  • Positive psychological interventions (e.g. gratitude lists)
  • Mentoring programs
  • Media/social media and well-being/psychopathology
  • Women and gender issues in Africa and the African Diaspora

Matthew T. Tull
Professor
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5040C
Phone: 419-530-4302
matthew.tull@utoledo.edu
Lab Website

  • The role of emotion regulation in anxiety disorders and PTSD
  • PTSD and maladaptive behavior (risk-taking, substance abuse, suicidal and nonsuicidal self-injurious behaviors)
  • Experimental psychopathology
Last Updated: 7/19/18