Department of Physiology and Pharmacology


Congratulations to Dr. Vijay Kumar and Beng Yeoh, whose manuscript, “Adaptive Immunity Induces Tolerance to Flagellin by Attenuating TLR5 and NLRC4-mediated Innate Immune Responses” was accepted in Frontiers in Cellular and Infection Microbiology! Authors are: Beng San Yeoh, Andrew T Gerwitz and Matam Vijay-Kumar. View the article here:

Congratulations to Dr. Jennifer Hill! Her manuscript, “Oxytocin Neurons Enable Melanocortin Regulation of Male Sexual Function in Mice” was accepted for publication in Molecular Neurobiology. The authors are: Erin Semple, Firas Shalabi, Jennifer W. Hill. 

 View the article here:

Congratulations to Dr. Matam Vijay-Kumar and Lab! A news release about their research on IBD came out on February 5, 2019. Read about it here:

Congratulations to Dr. Matam Vijay-Kumar and Lab! Their manuscript, "PAD4-dependent NETs generation are indispensable for intestinal clearance of Citrobacter rodentium" was accepted in Mucosal Immunology. Authors: Piu Saha, Beng San Yeoh, Xia Xiao, Rachel M. Golonka, Vishal Singh, Yanming Wang,and Matam Vijay-Kumar

Congratulations to Dr. Bina Joe! She has been nominated and selected by the Physiological Omic Group to be the recipient of the 2019 Distinguished Lectureship Award! The award recognizes a distinguished lecturer in the area of physiological -omics and she will also present the distinguished lecture at the Physiological -Omics Group Symposium at the Experimental Biology 2019 meeting.

 Congratulations to Shaunak Roy, MSBS student of Dr. Camilla Wenceslau’s lab!

 Shaun was selected by the APS Women in Physiology Committee as one of the recipients of the 2019 Caroline tum Suden/Frances Hellebrandt Professional Opportunity Awards.

As a tum Suden/Hellebrandt Awardee, he will receive a certificate of recognition, early-rate meeting registration reimbursement, and a cash prize upon presentation of his poster at the Experimental Biology (EB) 2019 meeting.

 Congratulations to Dr. Jennifer Hill and Lab! Their manuscript, "Oxytocin neurons enable melanocortin regulation of male sexual function in mice" has been accepted for publication in Molecular Neurobiology. The authors are Erin Semple, Feras Shalabi, and Jennifer Hill.

Congratulations to Dr. Matam Vijay-Kumar! He has been invited to speak at the 2019 NCI CCR Liver Cancer Program (LCP) Special Conference on Tumor Metabolism at the National Cancer Institute (NCI), which will be held October 28-29, 2019 at the Masur Auditorium of the NIH Clinical Center, on the NIH Bethesda campus. The conference is organized by the NCI’s Center for Cancer Research (CCR) Liver Cancer Program.

Congratulations to MOME Track Ph.D. candidate Shermel Sherman!  She was accepted into the “Frontiers in Reproduction” 6-week summer intensive training program in reproductive biology and surgery.  This program is hosted by the Marine Biological Laboratory in Woods Hole, Massachusetts.  

Congratulations to MOME Track MD/PhD candidate Darren Gordon as he’s been selected by the American Physiological Society Trainee Advisory Committee (TAC) to serve as a Graduate Student Ambassador during the 2019-2021 term.

Congratulations to Jonnelle Edwards as she’s been selected by the Porter Physiology Development and Minority Affairs Committee to receive a Martin Frank Diversity Travel Award to attend the Experimental Biology (EB) 2019 Meeting, held from April 6-9, in Orlando, Florida.

 Congratulations to Dr. Terry Hinds! He was selected to receive the 2019 Endocrinology & Metabolism Section New Investigator Award

He will receive his award during the Endocrinology & Metabolism Awards Reception at the Experimental Biology meeting in Orlando in April.

Congratulations to Drs. Kumar and Cheng! They are co-authors in a new publication in Nature Communications titled, " Enhancement of the gut barrier integrity by a microbial metabolite through the Nrf2 pathway". 

Congratulations to Drs. Wenceslau and McCarthy! Their manuscript, "Formyl peptide receptor-1 activation exerts a critical role for the dynamic plasticity of arteries via actin polymerization" was accepted for publication in Pharmacological Research.

Congratulations to Dr. Vijay Kumar’s Lab! Their manuscript, “Deoxyribonuclease I activity, cell-free DNA and risk of liver cancer in a prospective cohort”  was recently accepted for publication by the Journal of National Cancer Institute – Cancer Spectrum (JNCICS). The authors are: Rachel M. Golonka, Beng San Yeoh, Jessica L. Petrick, Stephanie J. Weinstein, Demetrius Albanes, Andrew T. Gewirtz, Katherine A. McGlynn, Matam Vijay-Kumar.

Congratulations to Dr. Jennifer Hill’s lab! Their manuscript, "Ablating Astrocyte Insulin Receptors Leads to Delayed Puberty and Hypogonadism in Mice" has just been accepted for publication in PLOS Biology (IF 9.16). The authors are: Iyad H. Manaserh, Lakshmikanth Chikkamenahalli, Samyuktha Ravi, Prabhatchandra R. Dube, Joshua J. Park and Jennifer W. Hill.

 Congratulations to Sarah Galla from the Joe Lab! Her research story , "Researchers study link between bacteria, blood pressure", was published in the Toledo Blade, January 7, 2019.

Congratulations to Dr. Vishal Singh from the Kumar Lab! He was awarded a Career Development grant from the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation and funding is effective January 1, 2019. The title of the grant is, “Metabolite-sensing receptors mediated regulation of immune response in inflammatory bowel disease”.  The duration of the award is three years.

 Well done!

Congratulations to Dr. Cameron McCarthy! He was selected by the American Physiological Society-Cardiovascular Section awards committee as a finalist for the 2019 APS-Cardiovascular Section Outstanding Postdoctoral Trainee Award. His application associated with abstract, “BetaHOB Increases Nitric Oxide Synthase Activity in Resistance Arteries from Dahl Salt Sensitive Rats”, was amongst the most highly rated applications submitted to the committee. 

He will orally present his research as part of the Featured Topic Session, “Cardiovascular Section Young Investigator Competition" which will occur on Monday, April 8, 2019. 

Well done!

Congratulations to Dr. Vijay Kumar’s Lab, whose manuscript titled, Microbiota Fermentation-NLRP3 Axis Shapes the Impact of Dietary Fibers on Intestinal Inflammation” was accepted in Gut which is the second ranked leading international journal (impact factor 17) in gastroenterology and hepatology.

List of Authors: Vishal Singh, Beng San Yeoh, Rachel E. Walker, Xia Xiao, Piu Saha, Rachel M. Golonka, Jingwei Cai, Alexis Charles Andre Bretin,Xi Cheng, Qing Liu, Michael D. Flythe,Benoit Chassaing, Gregory C. Shearer, Andrew D. Patterson, Andrew T. Gewirtz, and Matam Vijay-Kumar. 

Well done!

Congratulations to Dr. Camilla Wenceslau and Dr. Cameron McCarthy! They were both invited and have accepted to join the AJP-Heart and Circulatory Physiology Editorial Board! Their terms begin January 2019.

 Congratulations to Dr. Vishal Singh! He has been selected for lecture presentation during the 2019 Crohn’s & Colitis Congress®, being held at the Bellagio Las Vegas, Feb. 7-9, 2019.

His presentation will be titled: Environmental Triggers and Stemming the Rising Tide of IBD.

 Congratulations to Dr. Sivarajan Kumarasamy and lab! Their manuscript, "COUP-TFII Revisited: Its Role in Metabolic Gene Regulation" was accepted in Steroids journal. Authors are: Usman M Ashraf, Edwin R Sanchez and Sivarajan Kumarasamy.

2018 News Archive

2017 News Archive

2016 News Archive

2015 News Archive

2014 News Archive

2013 News Archive

2012 News Archive




Last Updated: 2/20/19