Department of Communication

/al/communication/

Welcome

/al/communication/

Student Resources

Contact Us

Main Campus
Sullivan Hall


Room: 2010 
2801 W. Bancroft
Mail Stop 505
Toledo, OH 43606
Phone: 419.530.2005
Fax: 419.530.4771

Department Chair

419.530.1323


Secretary

419.530.5082


Communication Advisor
Lisa Bollman

419.530.4436
Lisa.Bollman@utoledo.edu

Commdept@utoledo.edu

department of communication logo
The Department of Communication's full-time faculty have expertise in areas of journalism, broadcasting, new media, public relations and interpersonal and business communication. Our mission involves instruction which responsibly blends theory with professional practice skills. Through our classwork and hands-on training we're dedicated to challenging our students and preparing them for productive futures in a changing technology-based work environment.

Our faculty and department offices are in Sullivan Hall (SL on the map) on the northwest side of campus. Our television studio and production facilities are located in Rocket Hall on the southwest side of campus. Download a map of campus.

DEPARTMENT CHAIR

Ph: 419.530.2005 | SL 2010
Email:

SECRETARY

Ph: 419.530.2005 | SL 2010
Email:

COMMUNICATION FACULTY

Amy Capwell Burns, PHD (bio)
B.A. Baldwin-Wallace College; M.A. Cleveland State University; Ph.D. Bowling Green State University.
Associate Lecturer of Communication
Ph: 419.530.4380 | Office: SL 2140
Email: Amy.CapwellBurns@utoledo.edu

Eleanor Dombrowski, MA
B.S. Eastern Michigan University; M.A. Western Michigan University.
Associate Lecturer of Communication
Ph: 419.530.4794 | Office: SL 1120
Email: Eleanor.Dombrowski@utoledo.edu

Dee Drummond, MA
B.A. University of Toledo; M.A. Michigan State University.
Senior Lecturer of Communication
Ph: 419.530.4793 | 
Email: Deloris.Drummond@utoledo.edu

Paul Fritz, PHD (bio)
B.A. Capital University; M.A., Ph.D. Bowling Green State University.
Professor of Communication
Ph: 419.530.2006 | Office: SL 1140
Email: Paul.Fritz@utoledo.edu

Paulette D. Kilmer, PHD (bio)
B.A., M.A. University of Wisconsin; M.A. University of Kansas; Ph.D. University of Illinois.
Professor of Communication
Ph: 419.530.4672 | Office: SL 3000
Email: Paulette.Kilmer@utoledo.edu

Jackie Layng, ED.D (bio)
B.A. M.A. Ed.D. Northern Illinois University.
Professor of Communication,
Executive Producer of UT:10 News
Ph: 419.530.4674 | Office: RH 1941
Email: Jacqueline.Layng@utoledo.edu

Gigi McNamara, PHD (bio)
B.A. Pennsylvania State University; M.A. Duquesne University; Ph.D. Pennsylvania State University.
Assistant Professor of Communication, Adviser to PRSSA
Ph: 419.530.4382 | Office: SL 3050
Email: Regina.McNamara@utoledo.edu

Fatima A. Shousher-Simon, MA (bio)
B.A. University of Toledo; M.A. Bowling Green State University.
Senior Lecturer of Communication
Ph: 419.530.4364 | Office: SL 1130
Email: Fatima.Shousher2@utoledo.edu

Sumitra Srinivasan, PHD (bio)
B.Sc., M.A. The University of Madras; M.S. Syracuse University; Ph.D. Georgia State University.
Associate Professor of Communication
Ph: 419.530.4671 | Office: SL 2110
email: Sumitra.Srinivasan@utoledo.edu

David E. Tucker, PHD (bio)
B.A. Wittenberg University; M.A., Ph.D. Bowling Green State University.
Professor of Communication
Ph: 419.530.2172 | Office: SL 3010
Email: David.Tucker@utoledo.edu

EMERITUS FACULTY

James Benjamin. B.S. Dakota State College; M.A. Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University.
Professor Emeritus, Communication

Richard J. Knecht (bio) B.S. University of Dayton; M.A. Miami University; Ph.D. The Ohio State University.
Professor Emeritus, Communication

Paul Many (bio) B.A. St. John’s University; M.A. The Ohio State University; M.F.A. Bowling Green State University; Ph.D. Ohio University.Professor Emeritus, Communication

Norbert H. Mills (bio) B.A. Winona State College; M.A. Ph.D., Bowling Green State University.
Professor Emeritus

STAFF

Lisa Marie Bollman  
Communication Advisor
Ph: 419.530.4436 | Office: SL 2070
Email: Lisa.Bollman@utoledo.edu

John Eidemiller (bio)
Executive Media Producer/Communication Instructor
Ph: 419.530.1322 | Office: RH 1933
Email: John.Eidemiller@utoledo.edu


Technical Director/Communication Instructor
Ph: 419.530.1321 | Office: RH 1931
Email: 

Kevin O'Korn
Studio Production Coordinator
Ph: 419.530.1339 | Office: RH 1903
Email: kevin.okorn@UToledo.edu

Tom Zapiecki
Director of Media Services
Ph: 419.530.2593 | Office: RH 1915
Email: Thomas.Zapiecki@UToledo.edu

Last Updated: 10/3/17