Department of Communication

/al/communication/

Welcome

/al/communication/

Student Resources

Contact Us

Main Campus
2010, Sullivan Hall


2801 W. Bancroft
Mail Stop 505
Toledo, OH 43606
Phone: 419.530.2005
Fax: 419.530.4771

Chairman
David E. Tucker, PhD
419.530.2172
david.tucker@utoledo.edu


Secretary
Karon G. Price, MBA
419.530.5002
karon.price@utoledo.edu


Academic Advisor
Lisa Bollman

419.530.4436
Lisa.Bollman@utoledo.edu
Twitter


Commdept@utoledo.edu

department of communication logo
The Department of Communication's full-time faculty have expertise in areas of journalism, broadcasting, new media, public relations and interpersonal and business communication. Our mission involves instruction which responsibly blends theory with professional practice skills. Through our classwork and hands-on training we're dedicated to challenging our students and preparing them for productive futures in a changing technology-based work environment.

Our faculty and department offices are in Sullivan Hall (SL on the map) on the northwest side of campus. Our television studio and production facilities are located in Rocket Hall on the southwest side of campus. Download a map of campus.

DEPARTMENT CHAIR

David E. Tucker, PhD
BA Wittenberg University; MA, PhD Bowling Green State University
Professor and Chairman
419.530.2172 | SL 2020
david.tucker@utoledo.edu

SECRETARY

Karon G. Price, MBA/HRM
419.530.5028 | SL 2010
karon.price@utoledo.edu

tenure and tenure-track FACULTY

Paul Fritz, PhD (bio)
BA Capital University; MA, PhD Bowling Green State University
Professor of Communication
419.530.2006 | SL 1140
Paul.Fritz@utoledo.edu

Paulette D. Kilmer, PhD (bio)
BA, MA University of Wisconsin; MA University of Kansas; PhD University of Illinois
Professor of Communication
419.530.4672 | SL 3000
Paulette.Kilmer@utoledo.edu

Jackie Layng, Ed.D (bio)
BA, MA, EdD Northern Illinois University
Professor of Communication
419.530.4674 | RH 1941
Jacqueline.Layng@utoledo.edu

Gigi McNamara, PhD (bio)
BA Pennsylvania State University; MA Duquesne University; PhD Pennsylvania State University
Assistant Professor of Communication
419.530.4382 | SL 3050
Regina.McNamara@utoledo.edu

Sumitra Srinivasan, PhD (bio)
BSc, MA The University of Madras; MS Syracuse University; PhD Georgia State University
Associate Professor of Communication
419.530.4671 | SL 2110
Sumitra.Srinivasan@utoledo.edu

Yolanda Wu, PhD

Assistant Professor of Communication
419.530.4382 | SL 3050
Yanfang.Wu@UToledo.Edu

Lecture FACULTY

Amy Capwell Burns, PhD (bio)
BA Baldwin-Wallace College; MA Cleveland State University; PhD Bowling Green State University
Associate Lecturer of Communication
419.530.4380 | SL 2140
Amy.CapwellBurns@utoledo.edu

Eleanor Dombrowski, MA
BS Eastern Michigan University; MA Western Michigan University
Associate Lecturer of Communication
419.530.4794 | SL 1120
Eleanor.Dombrowski@utoledo.edu

Dee Drummond, MA
BA University of Toledo; MA Michigan State University
Senior Lecturer of Communication
419.530.4793 | RH 1937
Deloris.Drummond@utoledo.edu

Fatima A. Shousher-Simon, MA (bio)
BA University of Toledo; MA Bowling Green State University
Senior Lecturer of Communication
419.530.4364 | SL 1130
Fatima.Shousher2@utoledo.edu

Erik Tyger

Assistant Lecturer of Communication
419.530.1325 | RH 1935
Erik.Tyger@UToledo.Edu

STAFF

Lisa Marie Bollman  
Academic Advisor
419.530.4436 | SL 2070
Lisa.Bollman@utoledo.edu

John Eidemiller (bio)
Executive Media Producer/Communication Instructor
419.530.1322 | RH 1933
John.Eidemiller@utoledo.edu

Greg Smith
Technical Director
419.530.1321 | Office: RH 1950
gregory.smith3@utoledo.edu

Kevin O'Korn
Studio Production Coordinator
419.530.1339 | RH 1903
kevin.okorn@UToledo.edu

Tom Zapiecki
Director of Media Services
419.530.2593 | RH 1931
Thomas.Zapiecki@UToledo.edu

Last Updated: 5/23/18