Department of Psychology

Our Department

/al/psychology/

Contact Us

Main Campus

Mail Stop #948 
2801 West Bancroft Street
University of Toledo
Toledo, Ohio 43606-3390
Phone: 419.530.2717
Fax: 419.530.8479

Meet Our Graduate Students

Graduate Student

Research/Training Interests

Clayton Allred
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1880D
Clayton.Allred@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Child anxiety
  • Metacognitive beliefs
  • Perceived control of anxiety

Olivia Aspiras
Area: Experimental - Social
Office: UH 6509
Olivia.Aspiras@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Message framing and promoting health behaviors
  • Personality traits and message framing
  • BIA/BAS

Pallu Babu
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5070C
Phone: 419-530-2577
Pallavi.Babu@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Positive psychology interventions/treatments and their clinical applications
  • Risk and protective factors in relation to resilience
  • Development and evaluation of accessible mental health and wellness-focused interventions for underserved communities

Margaret Baer
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5030
Phone: 419-530-4681
Margaret.Baer@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Co-occuring suicide ideation or attempts with non-suicidal self-injury (NSSI)
  • Proximal risk factors for suicide ideation, suicide attempts, and NSSI
  • Longitudinal and micro-longitudinal methods (e.g, ecological momentary assessment)

Benjamin Berry
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1068
Phone: 419-530-2724
Benjamin.Berry@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Psychological assessment
  • Cognitive factors related to psychopathology
  • Social cognition

Alexander Buhk
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1380
Phone: 419-530-2351
Alex.Buhk@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Generalized anxiety disorder
  • Emotion regulation
  • Cardiovascular psychophysiology
  • Mindfulness and acceptance
  • Psychotherapy process and outcomes

Samantha Cain
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1380
Phone: 419-530-2351
Samantha.Cain@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Role of exercise in the treatment and prevention of disorders such as anxiety and depression

Amy Capparelli
Area: Experimental - Developmental
Office: UH 1900F
Phone: 419-530-2338
Amy.Capparelli@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Animal assisted interviews
  • Children in the legal system
  • Rapport building & interviewing children
  • False memories

Nikki Christ
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5150J
Phone:419-530-2312
Nicole.Christ@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Symptoms of trauma exposure and PTSD
  • Cardiovascular psychophysiology

Evan Clarkson
Area: Experimental - Cognitive
Office: UH 5015
Evan.Clarkson@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Decision-making

Kelly Clemens
Area: Experimental - Health
Office: UH 6505
Kelly.Clemens@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Placebo effects and treatment side effects
  • Social factors influencing treatment adherence
  • Social and cultural factors influencing health related help seeking
  • Social barriers preventing access to woman's health services
 

Freeman Cumming
Area: Experimental - Psychobiology
Office: UH 5006
John.Cumming@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Comparative mammalian hearing
  • Behavior analysis
  • Acoustics

Abigail Dempsey
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5150J
Abigail.Dempsey@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Cyberpsychology

Susan Doyle
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1880D
Susan.Doyle@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Child anxiety
  • Parental influence on child anxiety
  • Prevention programming for child anxiety

Keith Edmonds
Area: Experimental - Social
Office: UH 6510
Keith.Edmonds@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Future directed thinking
  • Disparities in health behaviors
  • Social comparison
  • Social cognition
  • Substance abuse

Courtney Forbes
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5030
Phone: 419-530-2701
Courtney.Forbes@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Transdiagnostic mechanisms in mood and anxiety disorders
  • Emotion dysregulation and health risk behaviors
  • Mechanisms of change in evidence-based treatments

Elizabeth (Lizz) Gallinari
Area: Experimental - Social
Office: UH 6511
Elizabeth.Gallinari@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Social comparison
  • The impact of comparisons on social media
  • How comparisons affect emotions and behavior 
 

Heidi Haenisch
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1490
Phone: 419-530-2727
Heidi.Haenisch@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Severe mental illness, particularly in forensic settings
  • Sustaining long-term mental health treatment outcomes
  • Personality disorders
  • Psychological assessment

Hannah Herc
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 6220
Hannah.Herc@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Emotion regulation
  • Coping skills
  • Mindfulness
  • Self-regulation

Dingzhong Hu
Area: Experimental - Cognitive
Office: UH 5010B
Dingzhong.Hu@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Individual differences and similarities in aesthetic preference
  • Psychological processes underlying the perception of art
  • Objective analysis of art-related qualia

Justin R. Leiter-McBeth
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 6220
Justin.LeiterMcBeth@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Mindfulness
  • Emotion regulation
  • Interoceptive awareness
  • Psychophysiology

Xin Lv
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5070A
Phone: 419-530-2574
Xin.Lv@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Posttraumatic stress disorder
  • Prevention and initial identification of PTSD

Shannon Manley
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1880D
Shannon.Manley@utoledo.edu

  • Child anxiety
  • Social influences on child anxiety

Alyssa Mason
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5010C
Alyssa.Mason@utoledo.edu

  • Handedness
  • Hemispheric Lateralization
  • Memory
  • Dsylexia

Emily Meadows
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1880D
Emily.Meadows@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Internalizing and externalizing behavior problems among children and adolescents
  • Development and implementation of school-based interventions
  • Violence risk assessment for youth in schools and communities

Quincy Miller
Area: Experimental - Developmental
Office: UH 1900H
Phone: 419-530-2388
Quincy.Miller@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Forensic interviewing with children
  • Child abuse disclosure

Ashley Murray
Area: Experimental - Social
Office: UH 6507
Ashley.Murray3@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Health decision making process
  • Social and media influence on health decisions

Emily O'Gorman
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1069
Phone: 419-530-2724
Emily.Ogorman@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Psychological assessment
  • Applications of assessment, such as therapeutic assessment, treatment planning, and predicting treatment outcomes
  • Psychometrics, test construction, and test validation

Christina Perez
Area: Experimental - Developmental
Office: UH 1900B
Phone: 419-530-2338
Christina.Perez@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Forensic developmental psychology
  • Eyewitness testimony
  • Children's memory and suggestibility

Yopina Pertiwi
Area: Experimental - Social/Cross Cultural
Office: UH 6506
Phone: 419-530-8441
Yopina.Pertiwi@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Ethnic identity
  • Stereotype, prejudice, discrimination
  • Intergroup relations

Kelsey Pritchard
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 6220
Kelsey.Pritchard@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Emotion regulation
  • Interpersonal processes
  • Autonomic nervous system activity
  • Depression and anxiety risk

Julia Richmond
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5040A
Julia.Richmond@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Transgenerational transmission of borderline personality disorder
  • Emotion regulation
  • Parasympathetic nervous system activity
  • Adolescent risk for developing borderline personality disorder

Emily Roemhild
Area: Clinical
Office: 1880D
Emily.Roemhild@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Parental influences on child/adolescent anxiety
  • Role of familial accommodation in child/adolescent anxiety
  • Role of emotion regulation and anxiety control in anxiety symptomology
  • Self-efficacy in relation to anxiety development
  • Early prevention and intervention
  • Child and parent self-report disagreement on beliefs, behaviors, and anxiety symptomology

Manali Roy
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1062
Phone: 419-530-2411
Manali.Roy@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Personality assessments, specifically the Rorschach Performance Assessment System
  • Personality disorders with a focus on obsessive compulsive personality disorder

Heather Schultz
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1490
Phone: 419-530-2727
Heather.Schultz3@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Severe and persistent mental illness
  • Mental health community integration and rehabilitation programs
  • What consumers of mental health services find most beneficial to their recovery

Shi (Jack) Shuai
Area: Experimental - Cognitive
Office: UH 5009
Shi.Shuai@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Judgment and decision-making
  • Individual differences
  • Health decisions
  • Marketplace decisions
 

Larson Sholander
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1068
Phone: 419-530-2724
Larson.Sholander@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Efficacy and limitations of personality assessments, particularly projective instruments such as the Rorschach
  • The ways in which personality traits and personality disorders are revealed or manifested through social media

Tara Spitzen
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5040B
Tara.Spitzen@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Suicide and non-suicidal self-injury (NSSI)
  • Emotion dysregulation 
  • Emotion duration
  • Relief
  • Ecological momentary assessment (EMA)
 

Kristina Todorovic
Area: Experimental - Developmental
Office: UH 1900A
kristina.Todorovic@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Forensic developmental psychology
  • Children's memory and suggestibility
  • Interviewer-provided social support
  • Juror decision making

Ariana Vidaña
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5030
Phone: 419-530-2355
Ariana.Vidana@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Emotion dysregulation in PTSD and substance use disorders
  • Interpersonal relationships in substance use treatment
  • Assessing substance use treatment outcomes in minority populations

Drew Whitney
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5007
Drew.Whitney@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Community Psychology
  • Positive Psychology
  • Implicit bias
  • Terror management theory and death anxiety
  • Health systems and treatment outcomes for unique populations, including cancer patients and minorities
Last Updated: 9/21/18