Medical Microbiology and Immunology



Additional Information

Contact Us

Health Science Campus
Health Education Building
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Room 229, MS1021
Office: 419-383-4323
Fax: 419-383-3002



Congratulations, Brian! 


Brian Youseff has earned the 2017 Robert R. Buell Memorial Achievement Award.  Presented to a graduate student in any college who best exemplifies scholarly excellence in the physical and biological sciences, has maintained a genuine interest in the social sciences and the humanities, and plans a career in education.


2017 Twine Line Winter/Spring Edition

(See pg. 15)

Check out Dr. Jason Huntley's feature - "Using Lake Erie Bacteria to Remove Microcystin from Drinking Water".


2017 Graduate Research Forum
March 22 - 24, 2017


Congratulations to our GRF 2017 winners Cara DeAngelis (Matson Lab), Claire Meikle (Worth Lab), Saad Moledina (Wooten Lab), and Briana Zellner (Huntley Lab) !!!!

Oral presentations:

1st Place : Claire Meikle
2nd Place : Briana Zellner
3rd Place : Cara DeAngelis

Poster presentation:
1st Place : Saad Moledina



March 17, 2017

Congratulations Dr. Jennifer Ohtola!
Dr. Ohtola was recently matched to her first choice Cleveland Clinic.


March 15, 2017


AAI Annual Meeting – IMMUNOLOGY 2017TM – held May 12-16, in Washington, D.C.
Dr. Saurabh Chattopadhyay
is a recipient of a 2017 AAI Early Career Faculty Travel Grant!



2017 Health Science Campus Artist Showcase at Mulford Library
Caroline Lambert's piece, "Fat Cockerel" on oil canvas is on display until April 7th. 

Cara DeAngelis on your recent article in the Blade:
UT researchers take new approach in cholera prevention

Caroline Lambert on her 4th place finish at the MAC Championships!
(Caroline Lambert (far right) on the 3000m podium)

New Publication
February 1, 2017
NAR Cover
Congratulations Dr. Blumenthal on your recent cover article, Methyl-dependent and spatial-specific DNA recognition by the orthologous transcription factors human AP-1 and Epstein-Barr virus Zta
Authors: Samuel Hong, Dongxue Wang, John R. Horton, Xing Zhang, Samuel H. Speck, Robert M. Blumenthal, Xiaodong Cheng.

January 9, 2017
Congratulations Dulat Bekbolsynov on your article in the Blade!
Better matches of kidney donors, recipients studied

November 28, 2016
New publication:
Congratulations to Ramadan A. Ali, Leah Wuescher & Randall G.Worth!
Title: Platelets Mediate Host Defense against Staphylococcus aureus through Direct Bactericidal Activity and by Enhancing Macrophage Activities
Authors: Ramadan A. Ali, Leah M. Wuescher, Keith R. Dona, and Randall G. Worth



November 20, 2016
New publication:
Congratulations to Gayatri Subramanian, Ritu ChakravartiSaurabh Chattopadhyay !
Title: Biochemical Analysis of Caspase -8-dependent Proteolysis ofIRF3 in Virus-infected Cells
Authors: Gayatri Subramanian, Karen Pan, Ritu Chakravarti and Saurabh Chattopadhyay.
Journal: Bio-Protocol



November 7, 2016
Congratulations Jessica Saul-McBeth on your article in the Blade!

UT students set their sights on cholera prevention



November 7, 2016
2016 Great Lakes Water Conference - WTOL
Congratulations Dr. Jason Huntley! He was featuring on this!


October 31, 2016
New publication:

Congratulations on your new publication with Infection and Immunity Dr. Wooten!
Borrelia burgdorferi CheY2 is dispensable for chemotaxis or motility but crucial for the infectious life cycle of the spirochete.


 September 27, 2016
New publication:
Congratulations Dr. Saurabh Chattopadhyay!
Title: RIG-I-like receptor-induced IRF3 mediated pathway of apoptosis (RIPA): a new antiviral pathway
Authors: Chattopadhyay S, Sen GC



August 11, 2016
Recent Graduate Dr. Xiaojun "Wilma" Wu of Dr. Jason Huntley Lab has her manuscript “FmvB: A Francisella tularensis Magnesium-Responsive Outer Membrane Protein that Plays a Role in Virulence” published in PLOS One

UT News
July 25, 2016
UT Researcher receives nearly $2 million grant for Lyme disease study
Wooten 2016


UT News
June 27, 2016

Congratulations to Amanda Kitson the 2016 Earl H. Freimer, M.D., Award for Excellence in Microbiology & Immunology

June 6, 2016
Congratulations Adam on your successful defense!
For the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy in Biomedical Sciences/ Medical Microbiology and Immunology track
CANDIDATE:  Adam Blatt
TITLE: Role of complement regulatory proteins propendin and Factor H in platelet/granulocyte aggregate formation
MAJOR ADVISOR: Viviana Ferreira, DVM, PhD








April 22,2016
Congratulations to Xiaojun "Wilma" Wu on her successful defense!

For the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy in the Medical Microbiology and Immunology track
CANDIDATE: Xiaojun (Wilma) Wu
TITLE:  Two Francisella tularensis outer membrane proteins involved in metal acquisition and virulence
MAJOR ADVISOR: Jason Huntley, PhD

Ebola, Zika

April 19, 2016
UT scientists hosted a public discussion on Zika, Ebola
co-hosted by our very own Dr. Travis Taylor

April 12, 2016
Congratulations Yvette on your successful thesis defense!

For the Degree of Master of Science in Biomedical Science in Bioinformatics Proteomics & Genomics
CANDIDATE: Yvette Unoarumhi
TITLE: Evolution of a Bacteria Global Regulator Lrp


MMI newest faculty member
Saurabh Chattopadhyay, Ph.D.,
Assistant Professor in Virology
Dr. Chattopadhyay's "Ubiquitination of the Transcription Factor IRF-3 Activates RIPA, the Apoptotic Pathway that Protects Mice from Viral Pathogenesis" article has recently been accepted for publication.
Welcome and Congratulations!

Congratulations to our 2016 UT - COM & LS Graduate Student Award Winner:
Yvette Awards

Yvette Unoarumhi
Award for
Master of Science in Biomedical Sciences Basic Science Tracks Outstanding Student
Recently published work: Evolution of a global regulator: Lrp in four orders of γ-Proteobacteria

March 17-18, 2016
Congratulations 2016 CBGS Graduate Research Forum winners!
Top Poster Presentations
1st Place - Brian Youseff
2nd Place - Jessica Saul-McBeth
3rd Place - Cara DeAngelis

Brian Y
Published: Monday, 2/1/2016
Brian Youseff, of the Medical Microbiology and Immunology Track, is the latest student to have his research published in the Blade.  We encourage you all to take a moment to enjoy it and congratulate Brian on his fine work. 

Dr J Huntley

Protect Public Health

Jason Huntley, Ph.D.
, Assistant Professor in MMI, received his second consecutive award from the Ohio Sea Grant and Department of Higher Education (ODHE) to research water quality and algal bloom toxicity in Lake Erie.  Specifically, he is testing conditions that promote microcystin-degrading bacteria to form biofilms on filters currently used in municipal water treatment facilities.  Congratulations, Jason!!

 M Wooten

January 1, 2016
Dr. R. Mark Wooten has been promoted to Professor in the Medical Microbiology & Immunology department.
Congratulations Mark!

Huntley 2016 Award

Congratulations to Dr. Jason Huntley that was presented
the Dean's Award for Outstanding Research in the New Investigator

January 2016



Return to Medical Microbiology & Immunology IAITwineLine

Last Updated: 4/25/17