Department of Theatre and Film

Contact Us

About Us

The University of Toledo Department of Theatre and Film offers undergraduate degrees (Bachelor of Arts and minors) in theatre and film and is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Theatre (NAST), the primary accrediting bodies for university programs in Theatre and Film. As an undergraduate liberal arts department, we actively engage students in creative practice, critical thinking and cross cultural/global exchange through the study and practice of live productions and cinema. We empower students to be thoughtful and productive scholars, artists, professionals and individuals, helping to expand their social, cultural and artistic understanding throughout the public realm.

Our students participate in all aspects of live theatre productions, create their own films and videos, travel for arts programs in Study Abroad (Costa Rica, Hungary, Wales to name a few), participate in special master classes with guest artists, land internships with organizations such as Disney, Viacom and others. In addition guest artists from all over the world work with students as designers, directors, filmmakers and performers through our international connections.

The Department of Theatre and Film strongly endorses a policy of individual and collective respect for each member of our diverse community. Our department strives to provide a safe and supportive educational environment that both nurtures all components of human experience and functions as a crucible for creative expression.

UToledo Alumni Achieve their dreams

Photo of UToledo film alumna Eva Noria, 2018, with New York icons in the foreground

Through an internship she had with Running Man, a post-production company in New York City during the summer of her senior year, UToledo Film alumna, Eva Noria ('18), received a job offer upon graduation with the company. Now in the position for about a year, Eva credits her film degree at UToledo with her current success.

Originally, she had planned to major in exercise science and work as an athletic trainer because she had a scholarship available to her in that program area. However, she decided to switch to a major in Film with a minor in Communication when she realized her heart was in the arts.

Once in the program, Eva knew she made the right call even though she soon learned it wasn’t an easy degree. Her faculty challenged her more than she expected—to think more creatively and examine her work more critically.  Read more...


Matt Foss, assistant professor of film at the University of Toledo, directs the cast of his adaptation of All Quiet on the Western Front

Dr. Matt Foss, directing the cast of his adaptation of "All Quiet on the Western Front"

Dr. Matt Foss, assistant professor in The University of Toledo Department of Theatre and Film, has won a national playwriting award. His adaptation of “All Quiet on the Western Front” is the recipient of the Kennedy Center’s David Mark Cohen National Playwriting Award. The play was performed at the University last November.

Developed by the Playwriting Program of the Association for Theatre in Higher Education and the National Playwriting Program of Kennedy Center’s American College Theatre Festival, the Cohen award is intended to provide incentive to college and university theatre production departments to foster the growth and development of playwrights through the public presentations of unpublished full-length plays or a collection of shorter works for the stage that have not received a professional production. Read more...



Music and lyrics by STEPHEN SONDHEIM and Book by JAMES LAPINE

The University of Toledo Department of Theatre and Film presented this award-winning musical this past April. The UT production was directed by Edmund Lingan. (Video trailer created by UT film student, Sarah Potter.)

Contact the UToledo Department of Theatre and Film

Main Campus
Center for Performing Arts

1910 West Rocket Drive
Toledo, OH 43606

Department Office - PA 1030
Phone: 419.530.2202
Fax: 419.530.8439
Box Office: 419.530.ARTS

Department Chair
Edmund Lingan

Department Secretary
Lauri Vanwormer 

Last Updated: 7/1/19