College of Business and Innovation

2014 COBI faculty, staff awards announced

In early June, Dr. Thomas Sharkey, Interim Dean of the College of Business and Innovation, announced the winners of the 2014 COBI Faculty and Staff Awards.

They are:

DeJute Undergraduate Teaching- Dr. Anthony Holder, Accounting Department

Simonetti Graduate Teaching - Dr. Jenell Wittmer, Management Department

Adjunct Instructor Teaching - Marouen Ben Jebara, Ph.D. student

COBI Research - Dr. Hassan HassabElnaby, Chair, Accounting Department

Junior Researcher - Dr. Mark Gleim, Marketing Department

Brunner Service - Dr. Michael Mallin, Marketing Department

Diversity - Dr. Clint Longenecker, Management Department

Staff - Cory Marshall, Senior College Instructional Technology Administrator


"Being the recipient of the 2014 Simonetti Graduate Teaching Award is a huge honor for me," Dr. Wittmer said. "I work with MBA, EMBA, and Ph.D. students, with most students having a great deal of professional experience before they ever walk into my classroom. I strive to make materials and assignments relevant and helpful to their careers, which leads to a great deal of engagement on the part of students. We have fantastic discussions, and I truly learn just as much from them as they learn from me.  I am just proud to be able to work with such an esteemed group of students!"

"This award is very important to me," Dr. Holder said. "I switch things up a lot of in the classroom, including experimenting with various pedagogical techniques, and I am never 100% certain how my approach to teaching a particular class will be received. Of course, my objective, similar to my colleagues is to constantly improve as an instructor and I feel that this award indicates I am making some progress."

“Service to our university, college, department, and community is extremely important, especially during times of change and transition in higher education," Dr. Mallin said.  "When I look at the list of past recipients of this (Brunner Service) award, I am humbled and honored to be chosen along with those who have made such a positive impact on our college.”

"I was very appreciative for this acknowledgement as I recognize that one of the best parts of being at the University of Toledo for the past 30 years is the fact that we are a very diversified institution which is a real strength," Dr. Longenecker commented. "It is great to work at a place that encourages and promotes people to help each other, lift each other up, and bring out the best in each other!"

"It is important that we publicly recognize the excellent performance of COBI personnel across many functions within the college through these annual Faculty and Staff Awards," Dr. Sharkey said.    "Their consistently outstanding work, along with the energy and hard work of all COBI faculty and staff, contributes to an enriched, stimulating and supportive environment that ultimately contributes to the success of all our students. Congratulations to all the 2014 recipients as well as all the nominees."

The COBI Faculty and Staff Award winners have their names engraved on plaques in the lobby of Stranahan Hall and also receive a cash award.

Last Updated: 11/3/16