Bioengineering

Welcome


Schedules

Facilities

Contact Us

Main Campus
5051 Nitschke Hall MS 303
2801 W. Bancroft St.
Toledo, OH 43606-3390
Phone: (419) 530-8030
Fax: (419) 530-8076

Bioengineering Research

Dr. Anand Agarwal, Research Professor 
M.D., German Medical Council 
Orthopaedic and Spine Surgery, Biomechanics and Product Development; Osteoporosis; Cancer & Tissue Engineering 
Email: anand.agarwal@utoledo.edu 
Website: Engineering Center for Orthopedic Research Excellence (E-CORE)


Dr. Halim Ayan, Assistant Professor 
Ph.D., Drexel University 
Non-equilibrium Electric Discharges, Plasma Medicine, Plasma Physics and Applications 
Email: halim.ayan@utoledo.edu

Dr. Brent D. Cameron, Professor 
Ph.D., Texas A & M University 
Biomedical Optics: Diagnostics, Sensing, and Imaging, Modeling of Optical-Based Instrumentation and Photon Migration in Turbid Media 
Email: brent.cameron@utoledo.edu 
Website: Biomedical Optics Laboratory

Dr. Aisling Coughlan, Assistant Professor 
Ph.D., University of Limerick, Ireland 
Fabrication of glass and ceramic scaffolds, antibacterial coatings, hemostatic materials, chemotherapeutic implantable materials 
Email: aisling.coughlan@utoledo.edu 
Website:

Dr. Ronald L. Fournier, Professor 
Ph.D., The University of Toledo 
Transport Processes in Biological Systems, Bioartificial Organs, Tissue Engineering, Enzyme Reaction Systems, Modeling Disease Dynamics, Genetic Engineering 
Email: ronald.fournier@utoledo.edu

Dr. Vijay Goel, Professor 
McMaster-Gardner Endowed Chair of Orthopedic Biomedical Engineering 
Ph.D., University of New South Wales, Australia 
Biomechanics, Mechanical Properties of Spine 
Email: vijay.goel@utoledo.edu 
Website: Engineering Center for Orthopedic Research Excellence (E-CORE)

Dr. Jian-yu Lu, Professor 
Ph.D., Southeast University, Nanjing, China 
Medical Imaging, Ultrasound-Optical-Electromagnetic Wave Propagation, 2D & 3D Ultrasound Imaging System, Limited Diffraction Beams and Their Applications, Optical Coherence Tomography 
Email: jian-yu.lu@utoledo.edu 
Website: Ultrasound Laboratory

Dr. Scott C. Molitor, Associate Professor and Interim Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies 
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine 
Auditory Physiology, Models of Traumatic Brain Injury, Cellular Electrophysiology, Computational Modeling of Neuronal Function 
Email: scott.molitor@utoledo.edu 
Website: In Vitro Neurophysiology Laboratory

Dr. Arunan Nadarajah, Professor and Chair 
Graduate Program Director 
Ph.D., University of Florida 
Biochemical sensors, Biomolecular Interactions 
Email: arunan.nadarajah@utoledo.edu

Dr. Patricia A. Relue, Professor and Undergraduate Program Director 
Ph.D., University of Michigan 
Renewable Fuels and Bioproducts, Mathematical Modeling, Enzymatic Reaction Systems 
Email: patricia.relue@utoledo.edu 
Website: Cellular Engineering Laboratory

Dr. Eda Yildirim-Ayan, Assistant Professor 
Ph.D., Drexel University 
Tissue Engineered Therapies for Musculoskeletal Diseases, Mechanobiology, Advanced Biomanufacturing 
Email: eda.yildirimayan@utoledo.edu

Last Updated: 5/1/17