Department of Psychology

Meet Our Graduate Students

Graduate Student

Research/Training Interests

Pallu Babu
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5070C
Phone: 419-530-2577
Pallavi.Babu@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Stress and coping
  • Chronic illness self-management
  • Health behavior
  • Principles of change (e.g., psychological flexibility)
  • Psychotherapy processes and outcomes

Margaret Baer
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5030
Phone: 419-530-4681
Margaret.Baer@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Co-occuring suicide ideation or attempts with non-suicidal self-injury (NSSI)
  • Proximal risk factors for suicide ideation, suicide attempts, and NSSI
  • Longitudinal and micro-longitudinal methods (e.g, ecological momentary assessment)

Anna Barbano
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5020B
Phone: 419-530-4681
Anna.Barbano@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Post-traumatic psychopathology
  • Post-trauma health and behaviors
  • Individualized treatment outcomes

Kirsten Buckingham
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1061
Kirsten.Buckingham@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Psychotic spectrum disorders
  • Psychological assessment, specifically the Rorschach Performance Assessment System
  • Prodromal psychosis

Abigail Dempsey
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5150J
Abigail.Dempsey@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Cyberpsychology

Courtney Forbes
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 6220
Courtney.Forbes@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Posttraumatic stress disorder
  • Transdiagnostic mechanisms in mood and anxiety disorders
  • Emotion regulation and health risk behaviors

Caleb Hallauer
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5150J
Caleb.Hallauer@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Internet gaming disorder
  • Problematic social media use
  • Trauma and technology use

Hannah Herc
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1930
Phone: 419-530-2351
Hannah.Herc@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Emotion regulation
  • Coping skills
  • Mindfulness
  • Self-regulation

Justin R. Leiter-McBeth
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 6220
Justin.LeiterMcBeth@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Mindfulness
  • Emotion regulation
  • Interoceptive awareness
  • Psychophysiology

Jason Liou
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 6220
Jason.Liou@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Mechanisms of change relating to suicidal ideation, suicidal behavior, stress, and depression

Emily O'Gorman
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1069
Emily.Ogorman@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Psychological assessment
  • Applications of assessment, such as therapeutic assessment, treatment planning, and predicting treatment outcomes
  • Psychometrics, test construction, and test validation

Julia Richmond
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5040A
Julia.Richmond@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Transgenerational transmission of borderline personality disorder
  • Emotion regulation
  • Parasympathetic nervous system activity
  • Adolescent risk for developing borderline personality disorder

Emily Roemhild
Area: Clinical
Office: 1880D
Emily.Roemhild@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Parental influences on child/adolescent anxiety
  • Role of familial accommodation in child/adolescent anxiety
  • Role of emotion regulation and anxiety control in anxiety symptomology
  • Self-efficacy in relation to anxiety development
  • Early prevention and intervention
  • Child and parent self-report disagreement on beliefs, behaviors, and anxiety symptomology

Emily Rooney
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5150J
Phone: 417-530-2312
Emily.Rooney@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Trauma
  • Risk and protective factors in the development of psychopathology
  • Emotion regulation

Kayla Scamaldo
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5020B
Kayla.Scamaldo@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Emotion regulation and dysregulation in borderline personality disorder
  • Substance abuse
  • Experience sampling methods (e.g., ecological momentary assessment and electronically activated recorder
  • Autonomic nervous system activity (e.g., heart rate variability, impedance, electrodermal activity)

Tara Spitzen
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5040B
Tara.Spitzen@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Suicide and non-suicidal self-injury (NSSI)
  • Emotion dysregulation 
  • Emotion duration
  • Relief
  • Ecological momentary assessment (EMA)
 

Ariana Vidaña
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5030
Phone: 419-530-2355
Ariana.Vidana@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Emotion dysregulation in PTSD and substance use disorders
  • Interpersonal relationships in substance use treatment
  • Assessing substance use treatment outcomes in minority populations

Noelle Warfford
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1062
Phone: 845-905-0457
Noelle.Warfford @rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Psychological assessment
  • Assessing psychosis, particularly using the Rorschach
  • Assessing disordered thinking
Last Updated: 6/27/22