Department of Psychology

Meet Our Graduate Students

Graduate Student

Research/Training Interests

Margaret Baer
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5030
Phone: 419-530-4681
Margaret.Baer@rockets.utoledo.edu
  • Co-occuring suicide ideation or attempts with non-suicidal self-injury (NSSI)
  • Proximal risk factors for suicide ideation, suicide attempts, and NSSI
  • Longitudinal and micro-longitudinal methods (e.g, ecological momentary assessment)

Anna Barbano
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5020B
Phone: 419-530-4681
Anna.Barbano@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Post-traumatic psychopathology
  • Post-trauma health and behaviors
  • Individualized treatment outcomes

Rachel Bond
Area: Clinical
Phone: 419-318-7004
Rachel.Bond@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Social manifestations of generalized anxiety disorder
  • Cyberpsychology
  • Fear of missing out

Kirsten Buckingham
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1061
Kirsten.Buckingham@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Psychotic spectrum disorders
  • Psychological assessment, specifically the Rorschach Performance Assessment System
  • Prodromal psychosis

Maria Elena Canini
Area: Clinical
MariaElena.Canini@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Mindfulness and acceptance-based interventions 
  • Mindfulness interventions for the community - with incarcerated individuals, adolescents in juvenile detention and foster care, first responders, families, students, and women on their monthly cycle
  • Emotion regulation and resiliency training

Kelly Clemens
Area: Experimental - Health
Office: UH 6505
Kelly.Clemens@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Placebo effects and treatment side effects
  • Social factors influencing treatment adherence
  • Social and cultural factors influencing health related help seeking
  • Social barriers preventing access to woman's health services
 

Bailey Crittenden
Area: Clinical
Erin.Crittenden@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Youth personality vulnerability/risk factors to psychopathology
  • Personality development
  • Personality assessment

Raegan Cupp
Area: Clinical
Raegan.Cupp@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Mindfulness interventions
  • Mindfulness in school-based settings

Zachary DeMoss
Area: Clinical
Zachary.DeMoss@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Suicide
  • Emotion Regulation
  • Psychophysiology

Ruam Pedro Francisco De Assis Pimentel
Area: Experimental
Office: UH 1069
Ruampedro.Franciscodeassispimentel@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Personality
  • Psychological assessment
  • Neuroscience
  • Data science

Estella Fox
Area: Clinical
Estella.Fox@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Social media addiction
  • Problematic phone use
  • Emotion regulation

Elizabeth (Lizz) Gallinari
Area: Experimental - Social
Office: UH 6511
Elizabeth.Gallinari@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Social comparison
  • The impact of comparisons on social media
  • How comparisons affect emotions and behavior 
 

Riley Grady
Area: Experimental
Office: UH 1880A
Riley.Grady@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Children's experience in the legal system
  • Children viewing police lineups
  • Nervous laughter

Kayla Hall
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5070B
Kayla.Hall2@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • The roles of negative urgency, distress tolerance, and other emotion regulation strategies in the development/maintenance of PTSD
  • Risk and resiliency factors in the development of PTSD and substance use diagnoses
  • Interventions that target maladaptive coping in individuals with PTSD and substance use diagnoses

Caleb Hallauer
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5150J
Caleb.Hallauer@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Internet gaming disorder
  • Problematic social media use
  • Trauma and technology use

Noelle Herzog
Area: Experimental
Office: UH 6506
Noelle.Herzog@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Social comparison
  • Social media/cyberpsychology
  • Attitude polarization
  • Norm perception
  • Risk vulnerability

Dingzhong Hu
Area: Experimental - Cognitive
Office: UH 5010B
Dingzhong.Hu@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Individual differences and similarities in aesthetic preference
  • Psychological processes underlying the perception of art
  • Objective analysis of art-related qualia

Elyse Hutcheson
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5070A
Elyse.Hutcheson@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Anxiety symptoms and technology use
  • Intolerance of uncertainty in anxiety and obsessive-compulsive spectrum disorders
  • Problematic social media and smartphone use

Emily Jason
Area: Experimental
Office: UH 6504
Emily.Jason@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Placebo/nocebo effects and treatment side effects
  • Alteration of treatment perceptions
  • Effects of message types on treatment choice

Christopher Jurgens
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5070C
Christopher.Jurgens@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Positive psychological interventions
  • Online community psychology
  • Theoretical processes of change in interventions

Ann Karmol
Area: Experimental
Ann.Karmol@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Judgement and decision-making
  • Heuristics and biases
  • Individual differences
  • Behavioral economics
  • Science communication and misinformation
  • Moral psychology

Lauren Kramer
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1880D
Lauren.Kramer3@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Child/adolescent internalizing disorders
  • Risk and resilience factors for child/adolescent psychopathology
  • Emotion regulation as a transdiagnostic construct
  • Adverse childhood experiences
  • Parental influence on child/adolescent anxiety

Andrew Kurtz
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5040B
Andrew.Kurtz6@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Investigation of the contexts in which self-destructive behaviors occur in SGMs by using novel experimental paradigms
  • Impact of invalidation and validation on maladaptive thoughts, emotions, and behaviors
  • Prevention and treatment of self-destructive behaviors in sexual and gender minorities (SGMs)
  • Emotion dysregulation and trauma in SGMs
  • Development of culturally sensitive interventions to improve SGM health

Grace Kim
Area: Experimental
Grace.Kim2@rockets.utoledo.edu

  •  
  •  
  •  

Frances Lauten
Area: Experimental
Office: UH 1900
Frances.Lauten@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Children's eating behaviors
  • Preventative measures for disordered eating and eating disorders
  • Impact of parental disordered eating on the eating patterns of their young children

Justin R. Leiter-McBeth
Area: Clinical
Justin.LeiterMcBeth@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Mindfulness
  • Emotion regulation
  • Interoceptive awareness
  • Psychophysiology

Adam Mann
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5040A
Adam.Mann2@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Nonsuicidal self-injury
  • Suicide
  • Sexual and gender minority populations/LGBTQ

Samantha Mayer
Area: Clinical
Samantha.Mayer2@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Trauma in the context of authority figures
  • Trauma and health behavior

Ingrid Morales-Ramirez
Area: Clinical
Ingrid.Morales-Ramirez@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Racial/ethnic minority groups
  • Anxiety
  • Positive psychology
  • Depression
  • First-generation college students

Samuel Oswald
Area: Experimental
Office: UH 6508
Samuel.Oswald@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Social comparison theory
  • Self-esteem
  • Implicit measures
  • Competitive video game performance

Emily Roemhild
Area: Clinical
Emily.Roemhild@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Parental influences on child/adolescent anxiety
  • Role of familial accommodation in child/adolescent anxiety
  • Role of emotion regulation and anxiety control in anxiety symptomology
  • Self-efficacy in relation to anxiety development
  • Early prevention and intervention
  • Child and parent self-report disagreement on beliefs, behaviors, and anxiety symptomology

Emily Rooney
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5150J
Phone: 417-530-2312
Emily.Rooney@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Trauma
  • Risk and protective factors in the development of psychopathology
  • Emotion regulation

Jessica Saki
Area: Experimental
Jessica.Saki@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Moral decision making
  • Moral behaviors
  • Moral dilemmas
  • Emotion regulation
  • Rejection

Kayla Scamaldo
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5020B
Kayla.Scamaldo@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Emotion regulation and dysregulation in borderline personality disorder
  • Substance abuse
  • Experience sampling methods (e.g., ecological momentary assessment and electronically activated recorder
  • Autonomic nervous system activity (e.g., heart rate variability, impedance, electrodermal activity)

Katherine Sheehan
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5280
Katherine.Sheehan@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Comorbid emotional dysregulation, especially suicidality/ self-injury, and anxiety disorders/ OCD
  • Transdiagnostic symptoms presentations
  • Improving treatment outcomes in cases with comorbidities
  • Stigmatization of mental illness

Adelyn Sherrard
Area: Experimental
Adelyn.Sherrard@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Children's eating behavior
  • Parental feeding practices
  • Coparenting

Alexa Skolnik
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5280
Alexa.Skolnik@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Person-specific mechanisms that drive etiology, maintenance, and treatment of traumatic stress disorders

Tara Spitzen
Area: Clinical
Tara.Spitzen@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Suicide and non-suicidal self-injury (NSSI)
  • Emotion dysregulation 
  • Emotion duration
  • Relief
  • Ecological momentary assessment (EMA)
 

Mackenzie Trevethan
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1880D
Mackenzie.Trevethan@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Child anxiety
  • Familial relationships
  • Early prevention and intervention
  • Minority populations

Michael Vang
Area: Experimental
Office: UH 6509
Michael.Vang@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Preventative health behaviors
  • Physician-patient communication
  • Placebo and nocebo effect

Teona Velehorschi
Area: Clinical
Teona.Velehorschi@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Stress and anxiety, particularly in performance settings
  • Physical exercise and emotion regulation strategies
  • Clinical sport psychology

Ariana Vidaña
Area: Clinical
Ariana.Vidana@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Emotion dysregulation in PTSD and substance use disorders
  • Interpersonal relationships in substance use treatment
  • Assessing substance use treatment outcomes in minority populations

Avleen Walia
Area: Clinical
Avleen.Walia@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Risk and resilience factors for child anxiety, rumination, and obsessive thinking
  • Specific parenting behaviors influencing child anxiety and emotino regulation abilities
  • Prevention of child anxiety and emotion dysregulation
  • South Asian populations

Noelle Warfford
Area: Clinical
Noelle.Warfford@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Psychological assessment
  • Assessing psychosis, particularly using the Rorschach
  • Assessing disordered thinking

Joshua Williams
Area: Experimental
Joshua.Williams10@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Anxiety in the context of technology use, acceptance
  • Social capital
  • Locus of control, self-efficacy
Last Updated: 8/30/22