Department of Music

Department of Music Faculty and Staff

The UToledo Department of Music faculty provide students a comprehensive, NASM accredited undergraduate curriculum leading to the Bachelor of Music, Bachelor of Music Education, and Bachelor of Arts Degrees; the Music Minor curriculum including concentrations in Instrumental Music, Vocal Music, Jazz, Keyboard, Music Theory, Music History and Literature, or Music Business and Recording Arts. They work diligently and collaboratively to create a variety of musical opportunities and experiences within the context of the University, the greater Toledo area, and the global community. We encourage the personal development and individual growth of the music faculty through continued professional study, research and scholarly activity, performance, and community and global outreach.

Our faculty and department offices are located in the Center for Performing Arts (PA1030) on the west side of campus. Our Recital Hall performance space and rehearsal facilities are also located in the Center for Performing Arts. Large ensemble performances are sometimes held in Doermann Theatre, which is located in University Hall. Download a map of campus.

Interim department chair
 

Heritage, Lee (bio) 
Interim Department Chair, Music Department
Professor (Music Theory, Composition)
   B.M. - Shenandoah University
   M.M.M. - University of Wisconsin
   D.M.A. - University of Illinois
419.530.5062 or 419.530.4552
Lee.Heritage@utoledo.edu

Find UToledo Music Faculty by Area

Audio Recording
 

Mariasy, David
Senior Lecturer (Music Recording)
   B.A. - The University of Toledo
   M.M. - Bowling Green State University
419.530.2126 or 419.243.3000
CPA 2040
David.Mariasy@utoledo.edu

Brass/Winds Faculty
 

Archer, Thaddeus (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (Trumpet)
Assoc. Principal, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   Indiana University
419.530.4325 
CPA 2003
Thaddeus.Archer@utoledo.edu

Ford, Shannon (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (Saxophone)
Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   Bowling Green State University
   Indiana State University
419.530.2448
CPA 2009
Shannon.Ford3@utoledo.edu

Gsell, Casey
Adjunct Instructor (Bassoon)
Principal Bassoon, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   Eastman School of Music
419.530.2448
CPA 2009
caseygsell@gmail.com

Loch, Kim
Adjunct Instructor (Oboe)
Principal Oboe, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   Interlochen Arts Academy
   Cleveland Institute of Music
419.530.2129
CPA 2009
Kimberly.Bryden@utoledo.edu

McCage, Lesli
Adjunct Instructor (Clarinet)
   University of Montevallo
419.530.2129
CPA 2009
Lesli.Mccage@utoledo.edu

Mossblad, Gunnar
Professor (Classical and Jazz Saxophone, Jazz)

   B.M. - University of North Texas
   M.M. - University of North Texas
419.530.4555
CPA 2022
Gunnar.Mossblad@utoledo.edu

Rhodes, Andrew (bio)
Assistant Band Director
Instructor (Tuba/Euphonium)
   B.M. - Music Education, Butler University
   M.M. - Music Education, Ohio University
   Ed.D. in Music Education, University of Illinois 
419.530.2217
CPA 1020
Andrew.Rhodes@utoledo.edu

Stumbo, Jason (bio)
Director of Bands
   B.S. - Music Education, University of Tennessee
   M.M. - Conducting, University of Tennessee
   Ph.D. - Music Education, University of Missouri 
419.530.7355
SL 1030
Jason.Stumbo@utoledo.edu

Taplin, Al (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (Horn)
Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   University of Michigan
419.530.4325
CPA 2003
Alan.Taplin@utoledo.edu

Tse, Joel (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (Flute)
Principal Flute, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   Eastman School of Music
   Northwestern University
   Royal Academy of Music
419.530.2129
CPA 2009
Joel.Tse@utoledo.edu 

Choral/Voice
 

Johanson, Erik (bio)
Associate Professor (Voice)
   B.A. - Augustana College
   M.M. - University of Cincinnati
419.530.4551
CPA 2014
Erik.Johanson@utoledo.edu

Lin, Xiaosha (bio) 
Director of Choral Activities
Visiting Assistant Professor (Voice)
    M.M. - Westminster Choir College (NJ, USA)
    M.A. in Music - Hong Kong Baptist University (HK)
    B.A. in Music Education - Xinghai Conservatory of Music (China)
Xiaosha.Lin@UToledo.edu

Oehrtman, Emily (bio)
Visiting Assistant Professor of Voice
Director, UToledo Opera Ensemble
    B.M. - Eastman School of Music
    M.M. - Penn State University
    G.Dip. - New England Conservatory
    D.M.A. - The Ohio State University
419.530.5115
SL 2140
Emily.Oehrtman@utoledo.edu

Composition, Theory, History & Musicology
 

Heritage, Lee (bio)
Professor (Music Theory, Composition)
   B.M. - Shenandoah University
   M.M.M. - University of Wisconsin
   D.M.A. - University of Illinois
419.530.4552
Lee.Heritage@utoledo.edu

Jex, David (bio)
Professor (Music Theory, Composition, Graduate Studies)
   B.M. - The University of Toledo
   M.M. - Bowling Green State University
   D.M.A. - Cleveland Institute of Music/Case Western Reserve University
419.530.4560
CPA 1012
David.Jex@utoledo.edu

Jazz Studies
 

Damschroder, Norm (bio)
Senior Lecturer (Double Bass and Jazz)
   B.M. - University of Toledo
   M.M. - Bowling Green State University
419.530.2966
CPA 2020
Norman.Damschroder@utoledo.edu

Gwinnell, Scott (bio
Adjunct Instructor (Jazz Piano)
   B.M. - Western Michigan University
   M.M. - Wayne State University
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
William.Gwinnell@utoledo.edu

Ellie Martin
Adjunct Instructor (Voice and Jazz)
   McGill University
   University of Toledo
   University of Pittsburgh
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
Lee.Martin@utoledo.edu 

Mossblad, Gunnar (bio)
Professor (Classical and Jazz Saxophone, Jazz)
   B.M. - University of North Texas
   M.M. - University of North Texas
419.530.4555
CPA 2022
Gunnar.Mossblad@utoledo.edu 

Piedra, Olman (bio)
Associate Professor (Percussion, Jazz)
   B.M. - Baylor University
   M.M.P., M.M. - University of Michigan
   D.M.A. - Bowling Green State University
419.530.2215
CPA 1016
Olman.Piedra@utoledo.edu

Weik, Jay (bio)
Associate Lecturer (Guitar and Jazz)
   B.M. - Berklee College of Music
   M.M. - New England Conservatory of Music
419.530.4554
CPA 2018
Jay.Weik@utoledo.edu

Music Education
 

Brakel, Timothy (bio)
Professor (Instrumental Music Education)
   B.S. - Jacksonville State University
   M.S. - Indiana State University
   D.M.E. - Indiana University
419.530.2640
CPA 1024
Timothy.Brakel@utoledo.edu

Stover, Pam (bio)
Associate Professor (Vocal and General Music Education)
   B.M. - Iowa State University
   M.A. - University of Iowa
   Ph.D. - Indiana University
419.530.2525
CPA 2004
Pamela.Stover@utoledo.edu

Opera/Opera Workshop

Oehrtman, Emily (bio)
Visiting Assistant Professor of Voice
Director, UToledo Opera Ensemble
    B.M. - Eastman School of Music
    M.M. - Penn State University
    G.Dip. - New England Conservatory
    D.M.A. - The Ohio State University
419.530.5115
SL 2140
Emily.Oehrtman@utoledo.edu

PIANO/KEYBOARD

Ballinger, Robert (bio) 
Senior Lecturer (Piano, Accompanying, Music History, Music Theory)
   B.M. - The University of Toledo
   M.M. - Northwestern University
419.530.2356
CPA 2008
Robert.Ballinger@utoledo.edu

Boyd, Michael (bio) 
Professor (Piano)
   B.M. - Wisconsin Conservatory of Music
   M.M - D.M.A. Eastman School of Music
419.530.2183
CPA 2002
Michael.Boyd@utoledo.edu

Gwinnell, Scott (bio
Adjunct Instructor (Jazz Piano)
   B.M. - Western Michigan University
   M.M. - Wayne State University
419.530.2448
CPA 1030
William.Gwinnell@utoledo.edu

Montri, Christina 
Accompanist
   B.M. - The University of Toledo
   M.M. - The University of Toledo
419.530.2448
Christina.Roque@utoledo.edu

Percussion
 

Piedra, Olman (bio)
Associate Professor (Percussion, Jazz)
   B.M. - Baylor University
   M.M.P., M.M. - University of Michigan
   D.M.A. - Bowling Green State University
419.530.2215
CPA 1016
Olman.Piedra@utoledo.edu

Strings/Orchestral
 

Chang, Amy (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (Cello)
Associate Principal Cello, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   B.M. - Eastman School of Music
   M.M. - Eastman School of Music
419.530.2448
CPA 1022
Amy.Chang@utoledo.edu

Damschroder, Norm (bio)
Senior Lecturer (Double Bass, Orchestra, Conducting)
   B.M. - The University of Toledo
   M.M. - Bowling Green State University
419.530.2966
CPA 2020
Norman.Damschroder@utoledo.edu

Lendrim, Nancy (bio)
Adjunct Instructor (Harp)
Principal Harp, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   Oberlin Conservatory
   Cleveland Institute of Music
419.530.4738
CPA 1005
Nancy.Lendrim@utoledo.edu

Ragusitu, Valentin
Adjunct Instructor (Viola)
Principal Viola, Toledo Symphony Orchestra
   Bucharest Academy of Music
   University of Wisconsin
   Northern Illinois University
419.530.2448
CPA 1022
Valentin.Ragusitu@utoledo.edu

Tang, Sophie
Adjunct Instructor (Violin)
Cincinnati Chamber Orchestra
Toledo Symphony Orchestra (sub)
   B.M. - Renmin University of China 
   M.M. - University of Southern California
   D.M.A. - University of Cincinnati Conservatory of Music
419.530.2448
CPA 1022
jtangviolin@gmail.com

Weik, Jay (bio)
Associate Lecturer (Guitar)
   B.M. - Berklee College of Music
   M.M. - New England Conservatory of Music
419.530.4554
CPA 2018
Jay.Weik@utoledo.edu

Emeritus Music Faculty
 

Chambers, Virginia (1931-2019)

DeYarman, Robert
   B.A., M.A., Ph.D., State University of Iowa
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

East, Thomas D. (1932-2013)

Kihslinger, Mary R.
   B.M.E., Alverno College
   M.M., University of Wisconsin
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

Mason, James L.  (1934-2019)

Renzi, Frances A.
   B.M., North Texas State University
   M.S., Juilliard School of Music
419.530.2448
utmusic@utoledo.edu

Rondelli Perry, Barbara (bio)
   B.M., Kansas State College of Pittsburg
   M.M., Pittsburg State University
   L.R.A.M., Royal Academy of Music, London
419.530.2448
Barbara.Rondelli-Perry@utoledo.edu

Sanchez, Bernard R. (1935-2013)



Last Updated: 8/25/20