Project Staff and Advisory Board

Project Staff

Director:  Laurie A. Dinnebeil, Ph.D.

Professor Emerita and Distinguished University Professor Emerita
Teacher Education

Dr. Laurie Dinnebeil is a leader in the field of Early Childhood/Special Education.  She will serve as the liaison with the Advisory Board and will oversee the administrative activities of the grant.  Dr. Dinnebeil is an experienced ECSE teacher educator who has successfully directed numerous personnel preparation projects that have prepared hundreds of early intervention and early childhood special educators.

Co-Director:  Alexia Metz, Ph.D., OTR/L

Associate Professor
School of Exercise and Rehabilitation Sciences
Phone: 419.530.6692

Dr. Alexia Metz is an established leader in the field of Occupational Therapy.  Her research interests include Sensory Processing and Sensory Processing Disorder, Occupational therapy approaches to maximize occupational performance in children with special needs through family-centered practice and Best practices in interprofessional teaming in service to young children and their families

 Project Manager:  Shana A. Pyle, MUP

Teacher Education
Phone:  419-530-5292

The Project Manager, Shana Pyle has over 7 years of grant management experience.  As the Project Manager, Shana serves as the primary contact person for the grant.  Please contact her for all general inquiries.  Shana manages the day-to-day operations of the grant (e.g. management meetings, scheduling of activities, databases, fiscal issues, etc.) and coordinates and assists with the major grant activities. 

Advisory Board

Dr. Amy Allen - Transformational Leader of Early Childhood and Special Education, Toledo Public Schools

Mrs. Cynthia Frye - Parent of Daughter with Intensive Disabilities

Dr. Toby Long - Professor of Pediatric Physical Therapy at Georgetown University in Washington

Dr. Rashida Banerjee - Professor of Special Education, University of Northern Colorado

Dr. Wendy Grove - Director of the Office of Early Learning and School Readiness for the Ohio Department of Education

Last Updated: 12/14/21