Department of Physics and Astronomy

Physics & Astronomy Departmental Awards - Spring 2013

Undergraduate Awards

  • Outstanding Graduating Undergraduate Student, Dept. of Physics & Astronomy: Anthony Passero
  • Elgin C. Brooks Memorial Astronomy Scholarship: Emily Safron
  • A. Jackson and Sally K. Smith Scholarship:  Abril Galang
  • Chad Tabory Memorial Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Research in Physics & Astronomy: First Place: Adam Smercina, Second Place: Tyler Kinner
  • Robert and Noreen Stollberg Award: Julia Deitz
  • Edwin Jayamaha Scholarship Award:  Tyler Kinner
  • C.V. Wolfe Scholarship in the Natural Sciences: Malinda Bender

Graduate Awards

  • Robert and Noreen Stollberg Graduate Teaching Award: Michelle Deady
  • David Turnbull Scholarship in Materials Science: to be announced
  • Physics & Astronomy Outstanding Service Award: to be announced

Recognition of Society of Physics Students (SPS) Officers for 2011-2012

  •  President: Douglas Hoblet
  •  Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Richard Irving

Recognition of Students Receiving Undergraduate Degrees

  • Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Arts:  (2013 students)
    • Kevin Belcik    B.S. - Applied Physics
    • Julia Deitz     B.A. - Physics
    • Joshua Lawrence       B.A. - Astronomy
    • Chad McElvany  B.S. - Applied Physics
    • Joseph Ozbolt    B.S. - Physics
    • Anthony Passero   B.S. - Physics
    • Jakub Prchlik   B.S. - Astrophysics
    • Corbin Taylor B.S. - Astrophysics

Recognition of Students Receiving Graduate Degrees

  •  Master of Science
    • Joshua Orndorff
    • James Truxon
  •  Professional Science Master in Photovoltaics
    • Carmen Cioc PSM-PV
    • Robert Jacobs PSM-PV
    • Meghan Mapes PSM-PV
    • Ryan Zeller PSM-PV
  • Doctor of Philosophy
    • Do Hyoung Kwon
    • Charles Poteet
    • Blagoy Rangelov
    • Michelle Sestak
    • Joshua Thomas

Sigma Pi Sigma Induction Ceremony

    Prof. Scott Lee, Faculty Advisor
  • Abril Galang
  • David Kinder
  • Alexander Mulia
  • Emily Safron
  • Aditya Togi
Last Updated: 6/27/22