Department of Psychology

Meet Our Graduate Students

Graduate Student

Research/Training Interests

Clayton Allred
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1880D
Clayton.Allred@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Child anxiety
  • Metacognitive beliefs
  • Perceived control of anxiety

Pallu Babu
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5070C
Phone: 419-530-2577
Pallavi.Babu@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Positive psychology interventions/treatments and their clinical applications
  • Risk and protective factors in relation to resilience
  • Development and evaluation of accessible mental health and wellness-focused interventions for underserved communities

Margaret Baer
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5030
Phone: 419-530-4681
Margaret.Baer@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Co-occuring suicide ideation or attempts with non-suicidal self-injury (NSSI)
  • Proximal risk factors for suicide ideation, suicide attempts, and NSSI
  • Longitudinal and micro-longitudinal methods (e.g, ecological momentary assessment)

Benjamin Berry
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1068
Phone: 419-530-2724
Benjamin.Berry@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Psychological assessment
  • Cognitive factors related to psychopathology
  • Social cognition

Alex Buhk
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1380
Phone: 419-530-2351
Alex.Buhk@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Generalized anxiety disorder
  • Emotion regulation
  • Cardiovascular psychophysiology
  • Mindfulness and acceptance
  • Psychotherapy process and outcomes

Nikki Christ
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5150J
Nicole.Christ@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Symptoms of trauma exposure and PTSD
  • Cardiovascular psychophysiology

Abigail Dempsey
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5150J
Abigail.Dempsey@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Cyberpsychology

Susan Doyle
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1540
Susan.Doyle@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Child anxiety
  • Parental influence on child anxiety
  • Prevention programming for child anxiety

Courtney Forbes
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 6220
Courtney.Forbes@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Posttraumatic stress disorder
  • Transdiagnostic mechanisms in mood and anxiety disorders
  • Emotion regulation and health risk behaviors

Hannah Herc
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1930
Phone: 419-530-2351
Hannah.Herc@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Emotion regulation
  • Coping skills
  • Mindfulness
  • Self-regulation

Justin R. Leiter-McBeth
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 6220
Justin.LeiterMcBeth@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Mindfulness
  • Emotion regulation
  • Interoceptive awareness
  • Psychophysiology

Xin Lv
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5070A
Phone: 419-530-2574
Xin.Lv@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Posttraumatic stress disorder
  • Prevention and initial identification of PTSD

Shannon Manley
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1540
Phone: 419-530-2727
Shannon.Manley@utoledo.edu

  • Child anxiety
  • Social influences on child anxiety

Emily Meadows
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1880D
Emily.Meadows@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Internalizing and externalizing behavior problems among children and adolescents
  • Development and implementation of school-based interventions
  • Violence risk assessment for youth in schools and communities

Emily O'Gorman
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1069
Emily.Ogorman@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Psychological assessment
  • Applications of assessment, such as therapeutic assessment, treatment planning, and predicting treatment outcomes
  • Psychometrics, test construction, and test validation

Kelsey Pritchard
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1930
Phone: 419-530-2351
Kelsey.Pritchard@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Emotion regulation
  • Interpersonal processes
  • Autonomic nervous system activity
  • Depression and anxiety risk

Julia Richmond
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5040A
Julia.Richmond@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Transgenerational transmission of borderline personality disorder
  • Emotion regulation
  • Parasympathetic nervous system activity
  • Adolescent risk for developing borderline personality disorder

Emily Roemhild
Area: Clinical
Office: 1880D
Emily.Roemhild@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Parental influences on child/adolescent anxiety
  • Role of familial accommodation in child/adolescent anxiety
  • Role of emotion regulation and anxiety control in anxiety symptomology
  • Self-efficacy in relation to anxiety development
  • Early prevention and intervention
  • Child and parent self-report disagreement on beliefs, behaviors, and anxiety symptomology

Manali Roy
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1062
Phone: 419-530-2411
Manali.Roy@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Personality assessments, specifically the Rorschach Performance Assessment System
  • Personality disorders with a focus on obsessive compulsive personality disorder

Heather Schultz
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1490
Phone: 419-530-2727
Heather.Schultz3@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Severe and persistent mental illness
  • Mental health community integration and rehabilitation programs
  • What consumers of mental health services find most beneficial to their recovery

Larson Sholander
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 1068
Phone: 419-530-2724
Larson.Sholander@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Efficacy and limitations of personality assessments, particularly projective instruments such as the Rorschach
  • The ways in which personality traits and personality disorders are revealed or manifested through social media

Tara Spitzen
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5040B
Tara.Spitzen@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Suicide and non-suicidal self-injury (NSSI)
  • Emotion dysregulation 
  • Emotion duration
  • Relief
  • Ecological momentary assessment (EMA)
 

Ariana Vidaña
Area: Clinical
Office: UH 5030
Phone: 419-530-2355
Ariana.Vidana@rockets.utoledo.edu

  • Emotion dysregulation in PTSD and substance use disorders
  • Interpersonal relationships in substance use treatment
  • Assessing substance use treatment outcomes in minority populations
Last Updated: 10/30/19