Bioengineering

Faculty

Anand Agarwal
Anand Agarwal, Research Professor 

M.D., German Medical Council 
Orthopaedic and Spine Surgery, Biomechanics and Product Development; Osteoporosis; Cancer & Tissue Engineering 
Email: anand.agarwal@utoledo.edu 
Website: Engineering Center for Orthopedic Research Excellence (E-CORE)


Halim Ayan
Halim Ayan, Associate Professor and Graduate Director
Ph.D., Drexel University 
Non-equilibrium Electric Discharges, Plasma Medicine, Plasma Physics and Applications Email: halim.ayan@utoledo.edu




Brent Cameron
Brent D. Cameron
, Professor and Chair
Ph.D., Texas A & M University 
Biomedical Optics: Diagnostics, Sensing, and Imaging, Modeling of Optical-Based Instrumentation and Photon Migration in Turbid Media 
Email: brent.cameron@utoledo.edu 
Website: Biomedical Optics Laboratory


Aisling Coughlan
Aisling Coughlan
, Assistant Professor 
Ph.D., University of Limerick, Ireland 
Fabrication of glass and ceramic scaffolds, antibacterial coatings, hemostatic materials, chemotherapeutic implantable materials 
Email: aisling.coughlan@utoledo.edu 
Website:


Deniz Erbulut
Deniz Erbulut, Research Assistant Professor
Engineering Center for Orthopedic Research Excellence (E-CORE)
Email: deniz.erbulut@utoledo.edu




Vijay Goel
Vijay Goel
, Distinguished University Professor, Co-Director, Engineering Center for Orthopaedic Research Excellence (E-CORE)
McMaster-Gardner Endowed Chair of Orthopedic Biomedical Engineering 
Ph.D., University of New South Wales, Australia 
Biomechanics, Mechanical Properties of Spine 
Email: vijay.goel@utoledo.edu 
Website: Engineering Center for Orthopedic Research Excellence (E-CORE)


Jian-Yu Lu
Jian-yu Lu
, Professor 
Ph.D., Southeast University, Nanjing, China 
Medical Imaging, Ultrasound-Optical-Electromagnetic Wave Propagation, 2D & 3D Ultrasound Imaging System, Limited Diffraction Beams and Their Applications, Optical Coherence Tomography 
Email: jian-yu.lu@utoledo.edu 
Website: Ultrasound Laboratory


Kelly Marbaugh
Kelly Marbaugh, Assistant Lecturer
Ph.D., University of Toledo 
Email:  kelly.marbaugh@utoledo.edu





Scott Molitor
Scott C. Molitor
, Professor and Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs 
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine 
Auditory Physiology, Models of Traumatic Brain Injury, Cellular Electrophysiology, Computational Modeling of Neuronal Function 
Email: scott.molitor@utoledo.edu 
Website: In Vitro Neurophysiology Laboratory


Arun Nadarajah
Arunan Nadarajah
, Professor
Ph.D., University of Florida 
Biochemical sensors, Biomolecular Interactions 
Email: arunan.nadarajah@utoledo.edu




Scott Pappada
Scott M. Pappada
, Assistant Professor 
Ph.D., University of Toledo 
Biosignal Processing, Artificial Neural Networks, Machine Learning
Email: scott.pappada@utoledo.edu 
Website: Healthcare Technology and Innovation Laboratory 



Patricia Relue
Patricia A. Relue
, Professor and Associate Dean for Graduate Studies & Research
Ph.D., University of Michigan 
Optical Imaging and Fluorescence Microscopy, Mathematical Modeling, Tumor Cell Culture, Renewable Fuels and Bioproducts 
Email: patricia.relue@utoledo.edu 
Website: Cellular Engineering Laboratory


Eda Yildirim-Ayan
Eda Yildirim-Ayan
, Associate Professor and Undergraduate Program Director 
Ph.D., Drexel University 
Tissue Engineered Therapies for Musculoskeletal Diseases, Mechanobiology, Advanced Biomanufacturing 
Email: eda.yildirimayan@utoledo.edu 
Website: Engineered Biosystems Laboratory



Adjunct/Prestige Faculty

Casey Pirnstill, PhD
Research Biomedical Engineer
Aerospace Physiology and Performance
Wright Patterson Air Force Base, 711th HPW/RHCPT
2800 Q Street, Area B, Bldg 824, Room 140
Wright-Patterson AFB, OH 45433-7947
(937) 255-9331
Casey.Pirnstill@us.af.mil
 
Aakash Agarwal, PhD
Director of Research and Development
Spinal Balance, Inc.
11360 S. Airfield Road
Swanton, OH 43558 USA
Aakash.Agarwal@rockets.utoledo.edu

Ali Fahir Özer, MD
Professor, Department of Neurosurgery
Koc University - School of Medicine
Sarıyer, Istanbul 34450 Turkey
aliozer@ku.edu.tr

Joe Schultz, MS
Regional Director, Project Management Office
Mercy Health Northwest Region serving Toledo & Lima Mkts
2409 Cherry Street, Suite 204
Toledo, OH 43608
JSchultz@mercy.com



Staff

Mary AldermanMary Alderman, Secretary 2
A.A.B., Owens Community College
Email: mary.alderman@utoledo.edu



 

Rhonda Moore
Rhonda Moore
, Associate Co-op Director
M.B.A., University of Toledo
Email:  rhonda.moore@utoledo.edu




Tamara Phares
Tammy Phares
, Laboratory Coordinator 
B.S., Grove City College, PA 
Email: tamara.phares@utoledo.edu




Robin Van Hoy
Robin Van Hoy
, Assistant Director of Department Student Services
B.A., University of Toledo
Email:  robin.vanhoy@utoledo.edu




Emeritus Faculty


Ronald Fournier
Ronald L. Fournier
, Professor Emeritus 
Ph.D., The University of Toledo 
Transport Processes in Biological Systems, Bioartificial Organs, Tissue Engineering, Enzyme Reaction Systems, Modeling Disease Dynamics, Genetic Engineering 
Email: ronald.fournier@utoledo.edu 


Vik J. Kapoor, Professor Emeritus 

Director of Nanotechnology Research Center 
Ph.D., Lehigh University 
Biomedical Nanotechnology, Electronics Devices, Process and Systems, Sensors and MEMS Technology 
Email: vikram.kapoor@utoledo.edu 
Website: Nanotechnology Center

Frank J. Kollarits, Associate Professor Emeritus  
Ph.D., Ohio State University 
Bioelectrical Engineering 

Demetrios D. Raftopoulos, Professor Emeritus 
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University 
Biomechanics

Last Updated: 6/30/19