Department of Physics and Astronomy


Xunming Deng

Xunming Deng Professor, Ph.D. University of Chicago, 1990
Materials science, thin films, photovoltaics

Randall Ellingson

Randall Ellingson Professor and PVIC Chair, Ph.D. Cornell University, 1994
Ultrafast laser spectroscopy, photophysics of semiconductor nanocrystals, nanocrystalline films

Michael Heben

Michael J. Heben Professor and McMaster Chair, Ph.D. California Institute of Technology, 1990
Nanoscience, materials for energy conversion and storage

Victor Karpov

Victor Karpov Professor, Ph.D. Polytechnic University, Saint Petersburg, Russia, 1979
Theoretical condensed matter physics, photovoltaics

Sanjay Khare

Sanjay V. Khare Professor, Ph.D. University of Maryland, 1996
Theoretical condensed matter physics, materials science

Nikolas Podraza

Nikolas Podraza Professor, Ph.D. University of Toledo, 2008
Condensed Matter, Photovoltaics

Yanfa Yan

Yanfa Yan Professor and Ohio Research Scholar Chair, Ph.D. Wuhan University, 1993
Materials science, Condensed Matter, Photovoltaics

Emeritus Faculty
Jaques Amar

Jacques G. Amar, Professor, Ph.D. Temple University, 1985
Theoretical condensed matter physics, materials science, surface physics

Rob Collins

Robert Collins NEG Professor of Silicate and Materials Science, Ph.D. Harvard University, 1982
Condensed matter physics, optical properties of solids and thin solid films

Alvin Compaan

Alvin D. Compaan Distinguished University Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. University of Chicago, 1971
Condensed matter physics, materials science, photovoltaics

Scott Lee

Scott Lee, Professor, Ph.D. 1983, University of Cincinnati
Biophysics, High-pressure Physics



Last Updated: 5/22/24