UToledo President - Dr. Gregory Postel

Tackling Challenges: 2020-22 Key Initiatives

President Postel has identified several key initiatives focusing on increasing efficiencies, addressing operational challenges and embracing innovative ideas to prepare UToledo for the future. With the goal of creating a solid foundation upon which to build future growth, each initiative is being co-led by members of the UToledo campus community.

Key Initiatives

Team Leaders

Develop and implement a systemic approach
to the elimination of racism on our campuses.

Dr. Willie McKether, vice president for diversity and inclusion and vice provost

Team Members

Cristina Alvarado
Dr. Charles Beatty-Medina
Rupesh Boddapati (student)
Kenneth Brown
Dr. Madeline Clark
Sara Clark
Rodney Eason
Dr. Monica Holliday Goodman
Malik Mays (student)
Collin Palmer
Anjali Phadke (student)
Jessica Visser
Valerie Walston
Dr. Ray Witte

Develop a department and plan for Enterprise Risk Management

Matt Schroeder, executive vice president for finance and administration and CFO
Charles Jake, interim vice president and general counsel

Team Members

Dr. Tim Brakel
Dave Cutri
Anne Izzi
Vicky Kulicke
Brian Lutz
Dr. Bill McCreary
Jeff Newton
Stefanie Schoviak
Kevin West

Develop and implement a Strategic Enrollment Management plan.

Ben Barros, dean of the College of Law

Team Members

Dr. Bill Balzer (OCC)
Margaret Beccavin
Mary Humphrys
Dr. Barb Kopp Miller
Matt Schroeder
Leticia (Virginia) Skrabut (student)
Jen Sorgenfrei
Dr. Amy Thompson
Whitney Valencia

Enhance educational opportunities and partnerships through Academic Affiliation Agreement with ProMedica

Dr. Chris Cooper, executive vice president for clinical affairs and dean of the College of Medicine and Life Sciences
Dr. Amjad Hussain, professor emeritus of cardiovascular surgery and humanities and former member of the UToledo Board of Trustees

Team Members

Dr. Basil Akpunonu
Courtney Combs
Meghan Cunningham
Dr. Lance Dworkin
Louis Guardiola
Dr. David Kennedy
Dr. Jim Kleshinski
Dr. Linda Lewandowski
Dr. Mohamed Osma
Saraya Parnell
Bryan Pyles
Dr. Shobha Ratnum
Dr. Puneet Sindhwani
Stephen Snider

Enhance, stabilize and sustain UTMC

Rick Swaine, chief executive officer of UTMC
Dr. Lance Dworkin, professor and chair of the Department of Medicine and Mercy Health Endowed Chair in Education

Team Members

Dustin Ballinger
Dr. Kris Brickman
Dr. Marci Cancic Frey
Deb Carpenter
Dr. Lindsey Eitniear
Dr. Dan Gehling
Dr. Collin Gilstrap
Catharine Harned
Josh Krupinski
Dr. Asif Mahmood
Dr. Munier Nazzal
Dr. Stephanie Pannell
Holly Smith
Todd Stec
Chris Stesney-Ridenour

Develop and implement Reinvestment Strategy

Dr. Karen Bjorkman, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs
Dr. Bill McCreary, vice president, chief information officer and chief technology officer

Team Members

Dr. Heidi Appel
Dr. Heather Conti
Dr. David Giovannucci
Dr. Dan Hammel
Dr. Renee Heberle
Aleiah Jones
Brittany Jones (grad student, GSA chair)
Dr. Kristen Keith
Dr. Mark Merrick
Dr. Scott Molitor
Dr. Angela Paprocki
Terry Romer
Cheryl Zwyer

Develop and implement Budget Modernization

Sabrina Taylor, assistant vice president of budget and planning
Brenda Grant, associate vice president for academic finance

Team Members

Ben Barros
Mike Dennis
Dr. Mohammed Elahinia
Jamie Fager
Dr. Charlene Gilbert
Dr. Miggie Hopkins
Dr. Gary Pollack
Bryan Pyles
Dr. J.D. Smith
Dr. Michele Soliz

Modernize  Human Resources

John Elliott, senior associate vice president and chief human resources officer
Melissa Hurst, executive director of talent strategy and development

Team Members

Dr. Marci Cancic Frey
Dr. Rick Francis
Beth Gerasimiak
Wafaa Hanna
Patty Peterson
Nicole Porter
Kevin West

The working teams will be focusing on the essential operations and assessing current obstacles within their initiative. Each team’s charge includes brainstorming possible resolutions and preparing action plans to address these fundamental operational challenges. Each team’s plan is expected to be implemented within the next 12-18 months, in advance of a national search for The University of Toledo’s next permanent president.

Recognizing that some of these challenges will require one-time investment funding, the team focusing on Reinvestment Strategy will play a critical supporting role in the work of all of the 2020-22 Key Initiatives.

For those interested in sharing ideas for improvement and innovation with one or more of the working teams, please fill out the online recommendation form.

Working Timeline


October - Team Development
Mid October-Late November - Plan Development
December 14 - Report Out Implementation Plan


January 2021 - Begin Implementation
June 2021 - Progress Report
December 2021 - Progress Report


June 2022 - Final Report

Online Recommendation Form

Updates from Team Leaders

Dec. 10: Update from the team working to develop and implement reinvestment strategy

Dec. 8: Update from the team working to develop and implement budget modernization

Dec. 3: Update from the team working to enhance educational opportunities and partnerships through Academic Affiliation Agreement with ProMedica

Dec. 1: Update from the team working to enhance, stabilize and sustain UTMC

Nov. 19: Update from the team working to develop a department and plan for enterprise risk management

Nov. 17: Update from the team working to develop and implement a systemic approach to the elimination of racism on our campuses

Nov. 12: Update from the team working to develop and implement a strategic enrollment management plan

Nov. 10: Update from the team working to modernize human resources

Last Updated: 3/3/21