College of Law




Contact Us

Law Communications Office

Office Address:
Law Center

1825 W. Rocket Dr.

Mailing Address:
2801 W. Bancroft, MS 507
Toledo, OH 43606


Toledo Law Faculty Participate in 2017 American Association of Law Schools Annual Meeting

January 23, 2017

Several Toledo Law faculty members played prominent roles at the American Association of Law School’s (AALS) Annual Meeting in early January. The AALS Annual Meeting is the major academic conference for law professors throughout the United States.

Five faculty members gave presentations at the event. Dean Ben Barros spoke on academic blogging and on a panel providing advice on becoming a dean; Associate Dean for Faculty Research & Development Eric Chaffee and Professor Gregory Gilchrist spoke on insider trading; Professor Elizabeth McCuskey presented a paper on health care law; and Professor Rebecca Zietlow spoke at a panel on constitutional law.

Professor Evan Zoldan, Associate Dean Chaffee, and Professor Zietlow also served as moderators or commentators for other panels at the conference. In addition, Professor Lee Strang gave a presentation at the Federalist Society Annual Faculty Conference, an event associated with the AALS Annual meeting.

Several Toledo Law faculty members were selected for AALS leadership roles for the coming year. Associate Dean Chaffee was elected to both the Executive Committee on the Section of Business Associations and the Executive Committee of the Section on Securities Regulation. Professor Zietlow was elected the chair of the Section on Constitutional Law, and Professor Zoldan will serve as chair-elect for the Section on Legislation and Law of the Political Process. Professor Ben Davis continues service as an elected member of the Executive Section on National Security Law. Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Geoffrey Rapp received an AALS presidential appointment to the 2018 Annual Meeting Program Committee, and was elected to the Executive Committee of the Section for Associate Deans of Academic Affairs and Research.

Several faculty members also completed their service in section leadership positions over the past year – Dean Barros on the 2017 AALS Annual Meeting Program Committee, Associate Dean Chaffee as chair of the Section on Scholarship, and Professor Zietlow as chair of the Section on Women in Legal Education.

Remarking on the event, Dean Chaffee stated, “The AALS Annual Meeting is a prestigious event that draws leading scholars from across the nation. The fact that Toledo had so many active participants at the Meeting demonstrates how outstanding the scholarly culture at Toledo is.”


Last Updated: 2/2/18