Department of Cancer Biology

Current Students

Kalpana Gardiyawasam, BSc, MS
PhD candidate, Cancer Biology Biomedical Sciences Program
Project: 
RKIP-RhoA Axis in Regulating Breast Cancer Cell Invastion and Metastasis
Advisor: 
Kam Yeung, Ph.D.
Home: 
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Undergraduate/Graduate University: 
University of Colombo, Sri Lanka (BSc), Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX (MS)
E-mail: 
gardiyawasam.kalpana@rockets.utoledo.edu

 kg

Cory M. Howard, B.S.
PhD candidate, Cancer Biology Biomedical Sciences Program
Project:  Understanding the Role of Protein Translation in Breast Cancer Progression and Metastasis 
Advisor:  Dayanidhi Raman, Ph.D.
Home: 
Miamisburg, Ohio
Undergraduate/Graduate University:  The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH
E-Mail:  cory.howard@rockets.utoledo.edu

ch

Melinda Nguyen, B.S.
MS candidate, Biomedical Science in Medical Sciences Program
Project:  Evaluating the effect of RKIP gene deletion on breast cancer in genetically modified mice
Advisor:  Kam Yeung, Ph.D.
Home:  Cypress, California
Undergraduate/Graduate University:  University of California, Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA 
E-Mail:  melinda.nguyen@rockets.utoledo.edu

 mn

Joshua Letson, B.S.
PhD candidate, Cancer Biology Biomedical Sciences Program
Project:  Role of nitric oxide of secreted proteins in the homeostasis and malignancy of the breast tissue
Advisor:  Saori Furuta, Ph.D.
Home:  Adrian, MI
Undergraduate/Graduate University:  Pensacola Christian College, Pensacola, FL
E-mail:  joshua.letson@rockets.utoledo.edu

 jl

Sangita Sridharan, B.Tech (Biotechnology)
PhD candidate, Cancer Biology Biomedical Sciences Program 
Project: 
Novel Targeting Strategies Against Breast Cancer
Advisor:  
Dayanidhi Raman, Ph.D.
Undergraduate/Graduate University:  D.Y. Patil University, School of Biotechnology and Bioinformatics, Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
E-Mail:  sangita.sridharan@rockets.utoledo.edu

 ss

Augustus Tilley, B.S.
PhD candidate, Cancer Biology Biomedical Sciences Program
Project:  tba
Advisor: Dayanidhi Raman, Ph.D.
Home: 
Kearny, New Jersey
Undergraduate/Graduate University:
Univ. of Florida, Gainesville, FL
E-mail: 
augustus.tilley@rockets.utoledo.edu

at

Yashna Walia, BSc (Hon)
PhD candidate, Cancer Biology Biomedical Sciences Program
Project:  The role of nitric oxide in ECM Stiffness of Mammary Glands and Breast Cancer Initiation
Advisor:  Saori Furuta, Ph.D.
Home:  New Delhi, India
Undergraduate/Graduate University:  University of Manchester, Manchester, UK
E-mail:  yashna.walia@rockets.utoledo.edu

 yw

Yuqi Zhang, B.S.
MD/PhD candidate, Cancer Biology Biomedical Sciences Program
Project:
Role of mDia2 at Adherens Junctions in Epithelial Ovarian Cancer
Advisor:
Kathryn Eisenmann, Ph.D.
Hometown: 
Columbus, OH
Undergraduate University:
Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD
E-mail:
yuqi.zhang@rockets.utoledo.edu

yz





 
Last Updated: 11/16/18