The Asian Studies Institute

About Asia

Korean PalaceChinese BuildingGreat WallJapanese WomenVietnamBullet Train


Asia is the largest continent in the world. There are 48 countries including China, Japan,

Korea, Russia, etc.

China is seen variously as an ancient civilization extending over a large area in East Asia, a

nation and/or a multinational entity. The People's Republic of China is situated in the

eastern part of the Asian Continent on the western coast of the Pacific. With a total land

area of 9.6 million square km, China is the largest country in Asia and the third largest

in the world, behind Russia and Canada.

Japan is an island country in East Asia. Located in the Pacific Ocean, it lies to the east of the Sea

of Japan, China, North Korea, South Korea and Russia, stretching from the Sea of Okhotsk in

the north to the East China Sea and Taiwan in the south. The characters which make up

Japan's name mean "sun-origin", which is why Japan is sometimes referred to as the "Land of

the Rising Sun".

India, officially the Republic of India, is a country in South Asia. It is the seventh-largest country

by geographical area, the second-most populous country, and the most populous democracy in

the world. Bounded by the Indian Ocean on the south, the Arabian Sea on the west, and the Bay

of Bengal on the east, India has a coastline of 7,517 kilometers.

Korea is a civilization and formerly unified nation currently divided into two states. Located on

the Korean Peninsula, it borders China to the northwest, Russia to the northeast, and is

separated from Japan to the east by the Korea Strait. 

Last Updated: 6/30/22