College of Medicine and Life Sciences

Faculty Recognition 2018

<< Faculty & Staff Recognition Homepage

Faculty Recognition 2018

Members of the College of Medicine and Life Sciences Faculty were honored June 19, 2018.

For the 26th year, we celebrated our faculty members at the annual dinner. We honor them for their dedication and commitment to the mission and goals of the College of Medicine and Life Sciences and the University during the 2017 calendar year.

It is a time to recognize faculty members for their longtime service, to honor individuals who have excelled in their careers, teaching and research, and to acknowledge individuals for their commitment to mentoring our students. We also recognize new emeritus faculty members.

We would like to thank the honorees and all of the staff and volunteers who made the evening a success.

Dean’s Awards for Teaching Excellence

Mehmood Rashid, M.D.

Junior Faculty Teaching Award:
Mehmood Rashid, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Neurology

Richard Paat, M.D.

Community-BasedPractitioner Teaching Award:
Richard Paat, M.D.
Clinical Professor
Department of Medicine



Basic Science Teaching Award:
Zhixing Kevin Pan, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology
(not pictured)

Dean’s Award for Mentoring

Dr. Williams with students

Kandace Williams, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Cancer Biology

Dean's Award for Career Achievement

Nabil Ebraheim, M.D..

Nabil Ebraheim, M.D.
Department of Orthopaedics

Gretchen Tietjen, M.D.

Gretchen Tietjen, M.D.
Department of Neurology

Recognition of Emeritus Faculty

Emeritus Faculty members

Donald Cameron, M.D.
Assistant Professor Emeritus
Department of Neurology

Nicolas Chiaia, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Department of Neurosciences

Ronald McGinnis, M.D.
Associate Professor Emeritus
Department of Psychiatry

Richard Mooney, Ph.D.
Associate Professor Emeritus
Department of Neurosciences

Dorothea Sawicki, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita
Department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology

Marijo Tamburrino, M.D.
Professor Emerita
Department of Psychiatry


Recognition for Service

Service recognition

30 Years
  • John Edinger, PH.D.
  • Diane Scala-Barnett, M.D.

20 Years
  • Steven Farrell, M.D
  • James Kleshinski, M.D.
  • Deepak Malhotra, M.D., Ph.D.
  • William Suarez, M.D.

10 Years
  • Kimberly Jenkins, M.D.
  • Beata Lecka-Czernik, Ph.D.
  • Lijun Liu, M.D., M.S.
  • Robert Mrak, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Jyothi Sri Pappula, M.D.
  • Stanislaw Stepkowski, Ph.D.
  • Jiang Tian, Ph.D.
  • David Weldy, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Donna Woodson, M.D.


Photo of award certificates

View more photos on Facebook

Last Updated: 6/27/22