Global Medical Missions Hall of Fame

Inductees and award recipients

<< Back to homepage

The Medical Mission Hall of Fame Foundation honors individuals for their noble humanitarian efforts by annual public awards ceremonies. It is hoped that the commendable efforts of those who serve can act as an inspiration to others to actively participate in or support medical mission work activities and programs.

2018 Inductees and Award Recipients

  • Dr. Diane Cappelletty
  • Dr. Ziya Celik
  • International Samaritan
  • Dr. Andrew Casabianca

Visit the 2018 Awards Page

2017 Inductees and Award Recipients

  • Anne Ruch, MD and Randall Ruch, PhD, MPH
    Toledo, OH
  • Galilee Medical Center
    Nahariya, Israel
  • Donald C. Mullen, MD, M.Div., FACS
    Newnan, Georgia
  • Vadrevu (V.K.) Raju, MD, FRCS, FACS 
    Morgantown, West Virginia

Visit 2017 Awards page

2016 Inductees and Award Recipients

  • Zulfiqar A. Bhutta, MBBS, DCH, FRCP, FRCPCH, FCPS, FAAP, PhD
    Karachi, Pakistan and Toronto, Canada
  • Oheneba Boachie-Adjei, MD
    Ghana, West Africa
  • Richard Sacra, MD
    Worcester, Massachusetts & Liberia, West Africa
  • Daniel M. Johnson, PhD
    President Emeritus - The University of Toledo
  • Pamela J. Oatis, MD, FAAP
    Dundee, Michigan 

Visit 2016 Awards page

2015 Inductees and Award Recipients

  • Alfredo V. Casino, MD, FACS
    The Philippines and Akron, Ohio
  • Abali Chuku, MD, FWACS, FICS
    Umuahia, Nigeria
    Pisgah Forest, North Carolina
  • Clinton O. Longenecker, PhD
    Toledo, Ohio 

Visit 2015 Awards page

2014 Inductees and Award Recipients

  • Doctors Without Boarders/Medecins Sans Frontieres
    Paris, France
  • Richard Bransford, MD, Millie Bransford
    Boone, NC
  • Pedro J. Obregon, II, MD, PhD FACS
    Judith Obregon, CMT, RMA 

    Venus, FL
  • Kristopher Brickman, MD, FACEP
    Toledo, OH

Visit 2014 Awards page

2013 Inductees and Award Recipients

  • Richard Paat, MD
    Maumee, OH
  • Pablo Pons, MD and Maria Pons PhD
    Dublin Ohio
  • Albert G. Roode, MD
    Pibor, Sudan
  • Scott McLean, MD, PhD 
    Ann Arobor, MI
    Todd Brickman, MD, PhD
    Metairie, LA 

Visit 2013 Awards page

2012 Inductees and Award Recipients

  • Harvey Doorenbos, MD
    Holland, MI
  • S. Amjad Hussain, MD, FRCSC, FACS
    Toledo, OH
  • Lincoln Nelson, MD, FPCS
    Battle Creek, MI
  • Patricia J. Metting, Ph.D
    Vice Chancellor and Sr. Associate Dean for Student Affairs in the College of Medicine and Life Sciences

Visit 2012 Awards page

2011 Inductees and Award Recipients

    Founder, Heartfile, Islamabad, Pakistan
    Founders, The Cinterandes Foundation, Cuenca, Ecuador
    Lady Willingdon Hospital, Manali, India
    Associate Vice President for Alumni Relations at the University of Toledo and Executive Director of the UT Alumni Association

Visit 2011 Awards page

2010 Inductees and Award Recipients

  • Dame Aileen Coleman RN, SCM, BSc, MA, AM 
    Annoor Sanatorium for Chest Diseases - Mafraq, Jordan 
  • Diane C. Downing RN, BS, MPH Primary Care Provider and Community Health Nurse, Congo
  • Robert L. Foster MD
    Hospital Founder, Surgeon and Medical Director, Zambia and Angola
  • Jeffrey P. Gold MD 
    Provost and Executive Vice President for Health Affairs, Dean of the College of Medicine, The University of Toledo

Visit 2010 Awards page

2009 Inductees and Award Recipients

  • Bruce C. Steffes MD, MBA, FACS, FWACS
    CEO, Pan-African Academy of Christian Surgeons
  • Johnhn P. Howe III MD
    CEO, Project HOPE
  • Jeffery E. Heck MD
    Founder and Executive Director, Shoulder to Shoulder
  • S. Amjad Hussain MD
    Professor Emeritus, The University of Toledo

Visit 2009 Awards page

2008 Inductees and Award Recipients

  • Nathan Barlow, M.D. (Posthumous) 
    Director, The Mossy Foot Project
  • Peter Hotez, M.D.,Ph.D.
    President, Sabin Vaccine Institute
    Walter G. Ross Professor and Chair
    Department of Microbiology, Immunology 
    and Tropical Medicine 
    The George Washington University
    Sabin Vaccine Institute
  • Editha Cañete-Miguel, M.D.,F.P.C.P.
    Founder and Executive Director,
    Agape Rural Program, Philippines
  • Victor C. Rambo, M.D. (Posthumous)
    Ophthalmologist and missionary to India
  • John Bul Dau
  • Representative Marcy C. Kaptur 

Visit 2008 Awards page

2007 Inductees and Award Recipients

  • Ira A. Abrahamson, Jr. M.D.
    Abrahamson Pediatric Eye Institute
    Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Harold P Adolph, M.D.
    Bonnie Jo Adolph
    Ethiopia Africa
  • Edna Adan Ismail, Ph.D.,R.N.
    Edna Adan Maternity Hospital
    Hargesia, Somaliland
  • James G. Diller, M.D.
    Founding Chairman of the Board
    Medical Mission Hall of Fame
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
  • Lawrence V. Conway, Ph.D.
    Founding President
    Medical Mission Hall of Fame
    Toledo, Ohio

Visit 2007 Awards page

2006 Inductees and Award Recipients

  • Mary Breckinridge, R.N. (Posthumous)
    Founder of Frontier Nursing Service
    Wendover, Kentucky
  • Jean William Pape, M.D.
    Director of GHESKIO Centers,
    Port-au-Prince, Haiti
    Professor of Medicine, Cornell University
    New York, USA
  • Richard M. Hodes, M.D., F.A.C.P.
    Medical Director
    American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee
    Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
  • Jill Seaman, M.D.
    International Medical Relief Fund
    Upper Nile, Sudan
  • Medical Missions, Inc.
    The University of Santo Tomas
    Manila, Philippines
  • Sr. Yvonne Viens, R.N., M.Ed.
    Apostle of the Needy
    Sisters of Charity of Montreal,
    “Grey Nuns”
    Lexington, MA

Visit 2006 Awards page

2005 Inductees and Award Recipients

  • William Larimer Mellon, Jr., M.D. (Posthumous)
    Hôpital Albert Schweitzer
    Deschapelles, Haiti
  • Gwendolyn Grant Mellon (Posthumous)
    Hôpital Albert Schweitzer
    Deschapelles, Haiti
  • Glenn W. Geelhoed, M.D.
    George Washington University Medical Center
    Washington, D.C.
  • Paul E. Farmer, M.D., Ph.D.
    Partners in Health
    Boston, Massachusetts

Visit 2005 Awards page

2003 and 2004 Inductees and Award Recipients

  • Albert Schweitzer, Ph.D., M.D. (Posthumous)
    Albert Schweitzer Institute
    Quinnipiac University - Hamden, Connecticut
  • William P. Magee, D.D.S., M.D.
    Operation Smile
    Norfolk, VA
  • Kathleen S. Magee, B.S.N., M.S.W., M.Ed.
    Operation Smile
    Norfolk, VA

Visit 2003-2004 Awards page

Induction Criteria

There are two types of Medical Mission Hall of Fame Foundation Awards:

  • Individuals are recognized for making significant and substantial contributions to advancing the quality of life of their brothers and sisters throughout our world.
  • Organizations are recognized for the extraordinary achievements of their professional staff and volunteer workers who have provided compassionate humanitarian health care assistance to the underserved.

Award recipients are selected by the Medical Mission Hall of Fame Selection Committee based on extensive and deliberate reviews of the endeavors and accomplishments of individuals and organizations in the medical mission field. Awards are announced and presented on an annual basis.

Last Updated: 6/27/22