Medical Student Honor Code

Honor Code

The University of Toledo Medical Student Body owns and operates under the tenets of an Honor Code and System.

Medical students will meet or exceed the institutional standards for professionalism, particularly with respect to professionalism in interactions with instructors and classmates, as well as punctuality and attentiveness.

Acknowledging that a physician is expected to adhere to the highest standards of honesty, integrity, and professionalism, we, the medical students of The University of Toledo College of Medicine, will neither cheat, deceive, nor exploit others, or tolerate those who do.

We will demonstrate the following behaviors consistent with the personal and professional standards inherent to the practice of medicine:

  • Integrity
  • Personal Responsibility
  • Motivation to Pursuit of Excellence
  • Insight for Self-Improvement
  • Compassion
  • Respect

In upholding these standards, we will abstain from unprofessional behaviors that include, but are not limited to:

  • Academic Misconduct
  • Failure to fulfill responsibilities reliably
  • Misrepresentation or falsification of actions and/or information
  • Disrespectful behavior and/or language
  • Unprofessional appearance/attire
  • Unprofessional use of social media
  • Toleration of dishonorable actions

Any person who has concerns about the professional behavior of a medical student may fill out the Early Concern Note. The Medical Student Honor Committee will subsequently review the Early Concern Note and meet with the Honor Code Advisor. Committee members will then have an educational and constructive meeting with the student. Severe violations of the Honor Code and repeated infractions may be addressed by the Associate Deans of Undergraduate Medical Education.

The Medical Student Honor Committee encourages reporting, so that concerning behavior can be addressed in an educational and non-punitive environment by peers on the committee, possibly decreasing the likelihood for future, more severe violations.

  • M4
    Rebecca Asher
    Erin Sheehan
    Victoria Soewarna
  • M3
    Caullin Keith
    Claire Popovich
    Hannah Roberts
  • M2
    Drew Pariseau
    Krissy Tarter
    Sanjana Yerubandi
  • M1
    Pending for the Class of 2027

Last Updated: 5/5/23