Pre-Health Advising Center

Connect with Us


Deborah Hendricks
Deborah Hendricks, Ed.D., CFLE

Director, Pre-Health Advising Center, Mindfulness Coach

Health & Human Services, Room 1100

andrea petrie

Andrea Petrie, M.B.A.

Program Coordinator


In-Office Campus Collaborators

Tony Sherock
Career Consultant

Senior Advisory Board

Dr. Brian Ashburner
Interim Associate Vice Provost for Student Success
Associate Dean
College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Dr. Brent Cameron
Department of Bioengineering

Dr. Hamoun Delaviz
Assistant Dean for Admissions
College of Medicine and Life Sciences

Adam Hintz
Director, Student Services
Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Dr. Monica Holiday-Goodman
Associate Dean of Student Affairs and Diversity and Inclusion
College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Dr. John Laux
Associate Dean, Student Affairs
College of Health and Human Services


PROfessional advisory board

William J. Davis, D.D.S., M.S.
Professor and Chairman of the Department of Dentistry
Department of Dentistry 

Dr. William J. Davis founded the General Practice Residency at MCO in Toledo in 1978 and has been fundamental in its success for the past 45 years. He also helped start the Pediatric Residency 15 years ago. Today, Dr. Davis serves as the Chairman of the Department of Dentistry, teaching topics including ethics and all things Prosthodontics, his specialty in private practice and education, to residents. You may recognize his work “A Philosophy of the Practice of Dentistry” which he co-authored with L.D. Pankey in 1987 and was recently re-published.

Kimberly D. Jenkins, M.D.
Associate Professor, Anesthesiology
Associate Dean of Diversity and Inclusion 

Dr. Jenkins, Chair of Anesthesiology, serves on the senior leadership team of the College of Medicine and Life Sciences as Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion. She did her undergraduate work at the University of Michigan and obtained her M.D. degree at Wayne State University medical school in Detroit. She completed her residency in Anesthesiology at Wayne State University. In her diversity role, she has coordinated multiple programs to support underserved students and incoming medical students. Through her leadership, she has helped foster an academic environment within the College of Medicine and Life Sciences that is welcoming and respectful of all arenas of diversity, equity and inclusion and has developed diversity training and speakers’ series for students, residents and faculty throughout the Toledo community.

James Kleshinski, M.D.
Professor and Vice-Chair of Education in the Department of Medicine
Assistant Dean for Preparation for Clinical Practice in the Department of Medical Education

Dr. Kleshinski completed his undergraduate degree at the University of Notre Dame and obtained his M.D. degree from the Medical College of Ohio at Toledo.  He did his internship at Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke’s Medical Center in Chicago, IL before returning to Toledo to complete his residency in internal medicine and subsequently joining faculty.  Aside from clinical care, over the years he has served as the Associate Dean for Admissions, Associate Dean of Graduate Medical Education, and Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Affiliation at ProMedica.  One of his greatest passions is mentorship and watching students develop and succeed as they go through their medical school journey. 

Steve Reece, D.V.M. 
Medical Director 
Anthony Wayne Animal Hospital 

Dr. Steve Reece grew up on a farm west of Toledo.  He received his Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree from The Ohio State University in 1992 and co-owned a veterinary hospital in Perrysburg, OH shortly afterwards, then went on to a Chief of Staff position in Scottsdale, AZ.  Longing to relocate back home, he purchased Anthony Wayne Animal Hospital in Maumee, OH where he and his wife ran the practice successfully until 2017 when he sold the hospital to a corporate entity.  He is now the Medical Director of the practice.

Dr. Reece lives in Perrysburg and is an active cyclist, boater and jogger.  He and his wife have 2 daughters, four grandchildren, and two rescue dogs.

Last Updated: 7/16/24