Mechanical, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering

main menu

additional menu

Contact Us

Main Campus
4005 Nitschke Hall MS 312
1610 N. Westwood
Toledo, OH 43606-3390
Phone: (419) 530-8210
Fax: (419) 530-8206 MIMEAdvising@UToledo.Edu

Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Dr. Abdollah Afjeh, Distinguished University Professor
PhD; The University of Toledo
Fluid Dynamics, Propulsion Systems, Computational Methods, Energy Conversion Systems

Office: NI 4005
Phone: 419-530-8210 Email: abdollah.afjeh@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Lesley Berhan, Associate Professor, Associate Dean of Diversity
PhD; University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Materials Science, Dynamics, CAD/FEM, Advanced Mechanics of Materials

Office: NI 5004 
Phone: 419-530-8220 Email: lesley.berhan@utoledo.edu 
Website: Click here

Dr. Sarit Bhaduri, Distinguished University Professor, Director of Multifunctional Materials Laboratory
PhD; State University of New York
Materials Science, Fracture and Fatigue, Solid State Materials, Biomaterials, Ceramics

Office: NI 4029
Phone: 419-530-8223
Email: sarit.bhaduri@utoledo.edu
Website: Click here

Dr. Sorin Cioc, Clinical Assistant Professor
PhD; Polytechnic University of Bucharest, Romania
Thermodynamics, Conduction, Heat Transfer, Tribology

Office: NI 4051
Phone: 419-530-8228
Email: sorin.cioc@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Mohammad Elahinia, Professor and Interim Chair
Associate Department Chair and Graduate Program Director
PhD; Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA
Modeling and Control of Engineering Systems, Advanced Dynamics, Advanced Vibration, Engineering Analysis of Smart Material Systems, Advanced Control Systems

Office: NI 4045
Phone: 419-530-8224
Email: mohammad.elahinia@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Nicoleta Ene, Visiting Assistant Professor

Office: NI4052
Phone: 419-530-8041

Dr. Matthew Franchetti, Associate Professor, Associate Chair and Undergraduate Program Director
PhD; The University of Toledo
Orientation, Professional Development, Statistical Quality Control, Facilities Planning, Engineering Econ., Statistical Analysis, Senior Design

Office: NI 4006-G
Phone - 419-530-8051
Email: matthew.franchetti@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Mohamed Samir Hefzy, Professor and Graduate Program Director
PhD; University of Cincinnati
Orthopedic Biomechanics, Rehabilitation Engineering, Finite Element Methods

Office: NI 4056
Phone: 419-530-8234
Email: mohamed.hefzy@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Ray Hixon, Professor
PhD; Georgia Institute of Technology
Computational Aeroacoustics, Computational Fluid Dynamics, Large-Eddy Simulations, Turbulence, Fluid-Structures Interaction, Trustworthy Computing

Office: NI 4046
Phone: 419-530-8207
Email: duane.hixon@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Ahalapitiya Jayatissa, Professor, Director Nanotechnology & MEMS Laboratory
PhD; Shizuoka University, Japan
Microelectromechanical Systems (MEMS), Nanotechnology, Advanced Coating, Thin Films, Nanomaterials, Sensors, Renewable Energy

Office: NI 4049
Phone: 419-530-8245
Email: ahalapitiya.jayatissa@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Theo Keith, Distinguished University Professor
PhD; University of Maryland, College Park Maryland
Tribology, Computational Fluid Dynamics, Fluid Mechanics, Heat Transfer, Aeroelasticity

Office: NI 4054
Phone: 419-530-8232
Email: tkeith@eng.utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Ioan Marinescu, Professor
PhD; University of Galatzi, Romania
Manufacturing Processes, Grinding, Tribology, Advanced Materials, Machining of Brittle Materials

Office: NI 4037
Phone: 419-530-8226
Email: ioan.marinescu@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Efstratios Nikolaidis, Professor 
PhD; The University of Michigan
Structural Dynamics, Vehicle Structural Dynamics, Engineering Design Optimization, Design, Reliability and Quality, Structures and Structural Dynamics

Office: NI 4006D
Phone: 419-530-8216
Email: Efstratios.Nikolaidis@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Mehdi Pourazady, Associate Professor
PhD; University of Cincinnati 
Finite Element Methods, Computer-Aided Design and Manufacturing

Office: NI 4039
Phone: 419-530-8221
Email: mehdi.pourazady@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Reza Rizvi, Assistant Professor
PhD; University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada
Materials Science, Polymers, Composite Materials, Nanomaterials, Manufacturing

Office: NI 4061
Phone: 419-530-8237
Email: reza.rizvi@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Chunhua Sheng, Professor
PhD; Mississippi State University
Computational Fluid Dynamics, Aerodynamics, Aeroelastics

Office: NI 4064
Phone: 419-530-8248
Email: chunhua.sheng@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Hossein Sojoudi, Assistant Professor
PhD; Georgia Institute of Technology
Thermal-Fluid; Nanoscience & Nanoengineering; Scalable Nanomanufacturing

Office: NI 4024
Phone: 419-530-6007
Email: hossein.sojoudi@utoledo.edu
Website: Coming Soon

Dr. Brian Trease, Assistant Professor
PhD; The University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Mechanism Design, Deployable Structures, Multifunctional Materials, Optimization, Compliant Mechanisms, Spaceflight Hardware

Office: NI 4047
Phone: 419-530-8227
Email: brian.trease@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Hongyan Zhang, Professor
PhD; Ohio State University
Solid Mechanics, Material Forming, Welding, Mechanical Fastening, Adhesion, Manufacturing Processing

Office: NI 4031
Phone: 419-530-6019
Email: hongyan.zhang@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Emeriti

 

Dr. Steven Kramer, Professor Emeritus
Ph.D.; Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Mechanisms, Robotics, Dynamics of Mechanical Systems

Email: Steven.Kramer@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. William Beans, Professor Emeritus
Ph.D.; Penn State
Gasdynamics, Combustion, Propulsion, I.C. Engines, HVAC and Energy Conversion

Dr. James Daschbach, Professor Emeritus Ph.D.; 
Productivity Management Systems, Cost Analysis, Methods Analysis, Work Design, Total Quality Management

Dr. Ali Fatemi, Professor
Ph.D.; The University of Iowa
Fatigue, Materials, Mechanical Behavior, Mechanical Design, Fracture Mechanics, Composite Materials

Office: NI4055
Phone: 419-530-8213
Email: ali.fatemi@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Duen-Ren Jeng, Professor Emeritus
Ph.D.; The University of Illinois
Thermodynamics, Heat Transfer, Rarefied Gas Dynamics, Biofluid Flow Dynamics

Dr. Walter Olson, Professor Emeritus Ph.D.; 
Manufacturing, Environmentally Benign Manufacturing, Manufacturing Process Innovation Laboratory, Mechatronics, Dynamics, Tribology, Systems Engineering

Email: walter.olson@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

 Dr. Nagi Naganathan, Dean Emeritus
Ph.D.; Oklahoma State University
Smart Materials, Dynamics, Vibrations, Robotics

Email: nagi.naganathan@utoledo.edu

Dr. Phillip White, Professor
Ph.D.; Purdue University
Computer Graphics, Solid Modeling, Computer-Aided Design and Manufacturing

Email: phillip.white@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Part-Time Faculty

 

Dr. Abdurasool Al-Hayani, Part-time Faculty

Office: NI 4050
Phone 419-530-
Email: Abdulrasool.AlHayani@utoledo.edu
 

Dr. Steven Huebner, Part-time Faculty

Office: NI4036
Phone: 8233
Email: Steven.Huebner@utoledo.edu

Douglas Lewandowski, Visiting Faculty

Email: Douglas.Lewandowski@utoledo.edu

Dr. Alex Spivak, Part-time Faculty

Office: NI 4050
Phone: 419-530-
Email: Alex.spivak@utoledo.edu

Adam Schroeder, Visiting Assistant Professor

Office: NI 4040

Staff

 

Brian Combs, Laboratory Machinist I

Office: NI 1093
Phone: 419-530-8244
Email: brian.combs@utoledo.edu

Julie Croy, Interim Assistant Director of Student Services
Office hours: Monday, Wednesday 9:00am - 2:00pm

Office: NI 4006E
Phone: 419-530-8270
Email: Julie.Croy@utoledo.edu 

Tim Grivanos, MIME Machinist

Office: NI 1094
Phone: 419-530-6075
Email: Tim.Grivanos@utoledo.edu

John Jaegly, Laboratory Supervisor

Office: NI 1084
Phone: 419-530-8242
Email: John.Jaegly@utoledo.edu
 

Nadia Harb, Academic Resource Analyst & Assistant Manager of Senior Design Clinic

Office: NI 4004
Phone: 419-530-8037
Email: Nadia.Harb@utoledo.edu

Terry Kahle, Engineering Laboratory Assistant Manager

Office: NI1063
Phone: 419-530-8113
Email: terence.kahle@utoledo.edu

 

Debbra Kraftchick, Associate Director of Department Student Services

Office: NI 4006F
Phone: 419-530-8204
Email: debbra.kraftchick@utoledo.edu

Kathryn Rose, Secretary

Office: NI 4005
Phone: 419-530-8210
Email: Kathryn.Rose@utoledo.edu
Last Updated: 8/23/18