Mechanical, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering

main menu

additional menu

Contact Us

Main Campus
4005 Nitschke Hall MS 312
1610 N. Westwood
Toledo, OH 43606-3390
Phone: (419) 530-8210
Fax: (419) 530-8206 MIMEAdvising@UToledo.Edu

Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Dr. Abdollah Afjeh, Professor and Chairman
Ph.D.; The University of Toledo
Fluid Dynamics, Propulsion Systems, Computational Methods, Energy Conversion Systems
Email: abdollah.afjeh@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Lesley Berhan, Associate Professor
Ph.D.; University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Materials Science, Dynamics, CAD/FEM, Advanced Mechanics of Materials
Email: lesley.berhan@utoledo.edu
Website: Click here

Dr. Sarit Bhaduri, Director of Multifunctional Materials Laboratory
Ph.D.; State University of New York
Materials Science, Fracture and Fatigue, Solid State Materials, Biomaterials, Ceramics
Email: sarit.bhaduri@utoledo.edu
Website: Click here

Dr. Sorin Cioc, Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D.; Polytechnic University of Bucharest, Romania
Thermodynamics, Conduction, Heat Transfer, Tribology
Email: sorin.cioc@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Mohammad Elahinia, Professor
Ph.D.; Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA
Modeling and Control of Engineering Systems, Advanced Dynamics, Advanced Vibration, Engineering Analysis of Smart Material Systems, Advanced Control Systems
Email: mohammad.elahinia@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Ali Fatemi, Professor
Ph.D.; The University of Iowa
Fatigue, Materials, Mechanical Behavior, Mechanical Design, Fracture Mechanics, Composite Materials
Email: afatemi@eng.utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Matthew Franchetti, Associate Professor and Undergraduate Program Director
Ph.D.; The University of Toledo
Orientation, Professional Development, Statistical Quality Control, Facilities Planning, Engineering Econ., Statistical Analysis, Senior Design
Email: matthew.franchetti@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Mohamed Samir Hefzy, Professor/Associate Dean of Graduate Studies & Research Administration
Ph.D.; University of Cincinnati
Orthopedic Biomechanics, Rehabilitation Engineering, Finite Element Methods
Email: mohamed.hefzy@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Ray Hixon, Associate Professor
Ph.D.; Georgia Institute of Technology
Email: duane.hixon@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Ahalapitiya Jayatissa, Professor, Director Nanotechnology & MEMS Laboratory
Ph.D.; Shizuoka University, Japan
Microelectromechanical Systems (MEMS), Nanotechnology, Advanced Coating, Thin Films, Nanomaterials, Sensors, Renewable Energy
Email: ahalapitiya.jayatissa@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Theo Keith, Distinguished University Professor
Ph.D.; University of Maryland, College Park Maryland
Tribology, Computational Fluid Dynamics, Fluid Mechanics, Heat Transfer, Aeroelasticity
Email: tkeith@eng.utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Ioan Marinescu, Professor
Ph.D.; University of Galatzi, Romania
Manufacturing Processes, Tribology
Email: ioan.marinescu@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Efstratios Nikolaidis, Professor and Graduate Program Director
Ph.D.; The University of Michigan
Structural Dynamics, Vehicle Structural Dynamics, Engineering Design Optimization, Design, Reliability and Quality, Structures and Structural Dynamics
Email: enikolai@eng.utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Mehdi Pourazady, Associate Professor
Ph.D.; University of Cincinnati 
Finite Element Methods, Computer-Aided Design and Manufacturing
Email: mehdi.pourazady@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Reza Rizvi, Assistant Professor
Ph.D.; University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada
Materials Science, Polymers, Composite Materials, Nanomaterials, Manufacturing
Email: reza.rizvi@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Chunhua Sheng, Associate Professor
Ph.D.; Mississippi State University
Computational Fluid Dynamics, Aerodynamics, Aeroelastics
Email: chunhua.sheng@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Hossein Sojoudi, Assistant Professor
Ph.D.; Georgia Institute of Technology
Thermal-Fluid; Nanoscience & Nanoengineering; Scalable Nanomanufacturing
Email: hossein.sojoudi@utoledo.edu
Website: Coming Soon

Dr. Brian Trease, Assistant Professor
Ph.D.; The University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, 2008
Mechanism Design, Deployable Structures, Multifunctional Materials, Optimization, Compliant Mechanisms, Spaceflight Hardware
Email: brian.trease@utoledo.edu
Website: Coming Soon

Dr. Hongyan Zhang, Associate Professor
Ph.D.; Ohio State University
Solid Mechanics, Material Forming, Welding, Mechanical Fastening, Adhesion, Manufacturing Processing
Email: hongyan.zhang@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Emeriti

Dr. Steven Kramer, Professor Emeritus
Ph.D.; Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Mechanisms, Robotics, Dynamics of Mechanical Systems
Email: Steven.Kramer@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. William Beans, Professor Emeritus
Ph.D.; Penn State
Gasdynamics, Combustion, Propulsion, I.C. Engines, HVAC and Energy Conversion
Email: ebeans@eng.utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. James Daschbach, Professor Emeritus
Ph.D.; 
Productivity Management Systems, Cost Analysis, Methods Analysis, Work Design, Total Quality Management
Email: jdaschba@top.eng.utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Duen-Ren Jeng, Professor Emeritus
Ph.D.; The University of Illinois
Thermodynamics, Heat Transfer, Rarefied Gas Dynamics, Biofluid Flow Dynamics
Email: djeng@top.eng.utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Walter Olson, Professor Emeritus
Ph.D.; 
Manufacturing, Environmentally Benign Manufacturing, Manufacturing Process Innovation Laboratory, Mechatronics, Dynamics, Tribology, Systems Engineering
Email: walter.olson@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

 Dr. Naganathan Nagi, Professor Emeritus
Ph.D.; Oklahoma State University
Smart Materials, Dynamics, Vibrations, Robotics
Email: nagi.naganathan@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Dr. Phillip White, Professor
Ph.D.; Purdue University
Computer Graphics, Solid Modeling, Computer-Aided Design and Manufacturing
Email: phillip.white@utoledo.edu
Website: Click Here

Visiting and Part-Time Faculty

Dr. Ahmed Abdelaal, Part-time Faculty

Dr. Abdurasool Al-Hayani, Part-time Faculty

Dr. Nicoleta Ene, Visiting Faculty

Dr. Douglas Lewandowski, Visiting Faculty

Dr. Douglas Oliver, Part-time Faculty

Dr. Alex Spivak, Part-time Faculty

Dr. Tim Stansfield, Visiting Faculty

Staff

Julie Croy, Interim Assistant Director of Student Services
Email: Julie.Croy@utoledo.edu 

Tim Grivanos, MIME Machinist

John Jaegly, Laboratory Supervisor
Email: john.jaegly@utoledo.edu

Nadia Harb, Academic Resource Analyst & Assistant Manager of Senior Design Clinic
Email: nadia.harb@utoledo.edu

Terry Kahle, Engineering Laboratory Assistant Manager
Email: terence.kahle@utoledo.edu

Debbra Kraftchick, Associate Director of Department Student Services
Email: debbra.kraftchick@utoledo.edu 

Brian Combs, Laboratory Machinist I
Email: brian.combs@utoledo.edu

Kathryn Rose, Secretary
Email: Kathryn.Rose@utoledo.edu

Last Updated: 11/29/17