Bioengineering

Bioengineering Research

 
Dr. Anand Agarwal, Research Professor 
M.D., German Medical Council 
Orthopaedic and Spine Surgery, Biomechanics and Product Development; Osteoporosis; Cancer & Tissue Engineering 
Email: anand.agarwal@utoledo.edu 
Website: Engineering Center for Orthopedic Research Excellence (E-CORE)


Dr. Halim Ayan, Assistant Professor 
Ph.D., Drexel University 
Non-equilibrium Electric Discharges, Plasma Medicine, Plasma Physics and Applications 
Email: halim.ayan@utoledo.edu

Dr. Brent D. Cameron, Professor and Chair
Ph.D., Texas A & M University 
Biomedical Optics: Diagnostics, Sensing, and Imaging, Modeling of Optical-Based Instrumentation and Photon Migration in Turbid Media 
Email: brent.cameron@utoledo.edu 
Website: Biomedical Optics Laboratory

Dr. Ronald L. Fournier, Professor 
Ph.D., The University of Toledo 
Transport Processes in Biological Systems, Bioartificial Organs, Tissue Engineering, Enzyme Reaction Systems, Modeling Disease Dynamics, Genetic Engineering 
Email: ronald.fournier@utoledo.edu

Dr. Vijay Goel, Distinguished University Professor, Co-Director, Engineering Center for Orthopaedic Research Excellence (E-CORE)
McMaster-Gardner Endowed Chair of Orthopedic Biomedical Engineering 
Ph.D., University of New South Wales, Australia 
Biomechanics, Mechanical Properties of Spine 
Email: vijay.goel@utoledo.edu 
Website: Engineering Center for Orthopedic Research Excellence (E-CORE)

Dr. Jian-yu Lu, Professor 
Ph.D., Southeast University, Nanjing, China 
Medical Imaging, Ultrasound-Optical-Electromagnetic Wave Propagation, 2D & 3D Ultrasound Imaging System, Limited Diffraction Beams and Their Applications, Optical Coherence Tomography 
Email: jian-yu.lu@utoledo.edu 

Dr. Arunan Nadarajah, Professor  
Ph.D., University of Florida 
Biochemical sensors, Biomolecular Interactions 
Email: arunan.nadarajah@utoledo.edu

Dr. Scott M. Pappada, Assistant Professor 
Ph.D., University of Toledo 
Biosignal Processing, Artificial Neural Networks, Machine Learning
Email: scott.pappada@utoledo.edu 
Website: Healthcare Technology and Innovation Laboratory 

Dr. Patricia A. Relue, Professor and Associate Dean for Graduate Studies & Research 
Ph.D., University of Michigan 
Renewable Fuels and Bioproducts, Mathematical Modeling, Enzymatic Reaction Systems 
Email: patricia.relue@utoledo.edu 

Dr. Eda Yildirim-Ayan, Assistant Professor and Undergraduate Program Director 
Ph.D., Drexel University 
Tissue Engineered Therapies for Musculoskeletal Diseases, Mechanobiology, Advanced Biomanufacturing 
Email: eda.yildirimayan@utoledo.edu 

 

Last Updated: 9/9/22